We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Helsinki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Helka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Helka Hotel to your Saves list
Helka Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Geelong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Heaven in Helsinki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I had chosen the Helka Hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews but it exceeded my expections. The staff are attentive to making your stay as enjoyable as possible. I spent 4 days at the start of 2 months in Europe and returned for my last night. On my return the temperature was 30+ and the air conditioner had been turned on in my room before my arrival.
The design features in the room which made a small room seem large could have keep me indoors appreciating them if Helsinki was not such a beautiful city. I loved lying in bed looking up at the huge canvas of a Finland landscape.
I walked everywhere from this hotel. There is a pedestrian walkway in from of the hotel which leads you almost to the train station, bus station and Finnair bus to the airport. I even managed this walk with all my luggage.
I travel extensively and have stayed in numerous deluxe hotels, but the Helka is now my favourite hotel. Thank goodness I also loved Finnair so I will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    239
    84
    17
    5
See reviews for
52
133
122
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Belka is within walking distance from the central bus station (one of trashiest I have seen) and attractions. Don't be fooled by its unattractive exterior and lobby, as the room interior is much better - clean, efficient and thoughtful. (I would not pick the reverse.) I was able to walk to most attractions without even taking transit in the four days in Helsinki. Staff was helpful and knowledgeable. Breakfast was nutritious and varied. And the price is right!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We spent 2 nights in this hotel to celebrate my birthday.We were really impressed with this hotel;the staff was efficient and friendly,the room clean and very quiet and furnished according to Finnish design.The reception area is welcoming,on the 6th floor there is a small but new and clean sauna.The hotel is located right in the center of the city.Breakfast was spectacular with Finnish berries,porridge,many types of bread,cheeses,sausages,piirakka,eggs,cakes and fruits.
The clientele is mainly Japanese,which seems to have an affinity to Finnish character.
We highly recommend this hotel and we'll surely come back.We found also a good price on the internet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I highly recommend this hotel.


I highly recommend this hotel.


I highly recommend this hotel.


I highly recommend this hotel.


I highly recommend this hotel.


I highly recommend this hotel.


I highly recommend this hotel.


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very easy to be located, approx. 6 min walk from central station and 2 min walk from Kamppi shopping mall/ bus station. Good services from the staff. Very nice, modern and clean room with comfortable and spacious shower room. Breakfast was good with varieties. Worth the money!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Bought two nights for my son and his family. I saw the welcoming smiles, felt the friendly atmosphere and enjoyed a wonderful breakfast with them. The room was quiet and clean, the hotel corridors had wallpapers minding of Finnish forest, trees, animals, birds…which my grandchild ( 1,5 years) enjoyed especially! So if anyone wants to stay in the middle of Helsinki, in a quiet and cosy hotel, I warmly recommend Hotel Helka for you! Welcome, Tervetuloa!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We recently stayed at Helka for 2 nights with our one year old son, and the hotel gave us a spacious room and arranged the travel cot at a short notice, after I realised that the booking site I had used failed to mention about our need for the travel cot.

The location is central and the hotel is tidy and very reasonably priced.
Breakfast was good and I also enjoyed a lovely morning sauna (use of sauna was included in the room price). Staff were welcoming and helpful.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and are likely to book another stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helka Hotel

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Helka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 metres from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Helkan Keittio Restaurant serves Finnish cuisine based on fresh, locally sourced ingredients such as fish, game, mushrooms and berries. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar, which also features a cigar room. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Helka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.