We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay was really comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Helka to your Saves list
Hotel Helka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our stay was really comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We recently stayed at Helka for 2 nights with our one year old son, and the hotel gave us a spacious room and arranged the travel cot at a short notice, after I realised that the booking site I had used failed to mention about our need for the travel cot.

The location is central and the hotel is tidy and very reasonably priced.
Breakfast was good and I also enjoyed a lovely morning sauna (use of sauna was included in the room price). Staff were welcoming and helpful.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and are likely to book another stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjaberry81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Room was very nice and tidy, room and bathroom were cleaned every day. Breakfast is huge, with a variety of cold and warm dishes. Overall a very pleasant stay, highly recommended!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Julia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Had to stay one night. Pros: very good location, good wifi connection, very clean, polite staff, good breakfast, really enjoyed the sauna. Cons: the room is quite small, did not really like the bedding - the duvet is to think the pillow is small. However, it is still a very good value for the money I paid. I will definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexei N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

basic hotel near kamppii. rooms are very small and hotel is far from the main shopping area and esplanadi. the staff is very friendly and helpful. good breakfast.
couldve been better if it was closer to the prime area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isha2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Great location. Friendly and efficient staff. Nice lounge-like bar. OK room - small but nicely refurbished. Old hotel with a nice make-up but everything worked fine. Free wifi in room which worked excellently.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Hotel ok and breakfast fine... However room service should have been better... Stayed a number of nights and didn't refill coffee and powdered milk... Fridge did not work at all and this was my second room... Original room smelt due to inoperable fridge. No new shampoo and conditioner. All small things but after a long working day couldn't be bothered to say anything after I had already changed room once. Don't think I will stay again. Staff pleasant and helpful enough but just get the feeling of cutting corners...

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kamus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

I was spending a weekend with my wife in Helsinki and stayed at Helka Hotel. The location is very good and the service was professional and friendly.
We had a dinner at the hotel and it was excellent as was the Service. (I can recommend the Lady stake also for men, It was rather big and tasty). Also the Bar was cousy and relaxed with a good athmosphere.
The room was clean and silent though the hotel was full. We will definitely come back.
Juhani and Hannele

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Juhani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#4 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
GLO Hotel Art
#14 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 822 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helka

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helka 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 metres from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Helkan Keittio Restaurant serves Finnish cuisine based on fresh, locally sourced ingredients such as fish, game, mushrooms and berries. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar, which also features a cigar room. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Helka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing