We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for travellers on budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Helka Hotel to your Saves list
Helka Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for travellers on budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Had to stay one night. Pros: very good location, good wifi connection, very clean, polite staff, good breakfast, really enjoyed the sauna. Cons: the room is quite small, did not really like the bedding - the duvet is to think the pillow is small. However, it is still a very good value for the money I paid. I will definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    239
    84
    17
    5
See reviews for
52
133
121
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

basic hotel near kamppii. rooms are very small and hotel is far from the main shopping area and esplanadi. the staff is very friendly and helpful. good breakfast.
couldve been better if it was closer to the prime area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Great location. Friendly and efficient staff. Nice lounge-like bar. OK room - small but nicely refurbished. Old hotel with a nice make-up but everything worked fine. Free wifi in room which worked excellently.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Hotel ok and breakfast fine... However room service should have been better... Stayed a number of nights and didn't refill coffee and powdered milk... Fridge did not work at all and this was my second room... Original room smelt due to inoperable fridge. No new shampoo and conditioner. All small things but after a long working day couldn't be bothered to say anything after I had already changed room once. Don't think I will stay again. Staff pleasant and helpful enough but just get the feeling of cutting corners...

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

I was spending a weekend with my wife in Helsinki and stayed at Helka Hotel. The location is very good and the service was professional and friendly.
We had a dinner at the hotel and it was excellent as was the Service. (I can recommend the Lady stake also for men, It was rather big and tasty). Also the Bar was cousy and relaxed with a good athmosphere.
The room was clean and silent though the hotel was full. We will definitely come back.
Juhani and Hannele

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I've stayed at Hotelli Helka twice and will return in the future. It's convenient to attractions, shopping, and the railway station. Rooms are comfortable and a good value, simply and traditionally furnished in a modern Finnish style. It's a typical Finnish hotel with sauna and breakfast included in the room rate. The breakfast offers a plentiful range of Finnish, continental, and American fare. Staff are professional end helpful. There was street noise from crazy drunks late at night, but that's not the hotel's fault. I turned on the room fan to help hide the noise. Next time I will ask for a room off the street for a quieter stay.

Room Tip: If you want a double bed, be sure to ask for one. I asked for a double room, but instead of a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I've been in this hotel many times and always enjoyed my stay. I've stayed both in single and twin rooms both for business and leisure. The main reason for choosing the hotel over and over again is the location, which is perfect for almost any purposes. There are also shops and restaurants for late-night snacks when arriving late. Trams, subway and buses leave conveniently nearby and the Central Railway Station is in a walking distance.

Rooms are peaceful, so your night-sleep is well guaranteed after a long meeting or a busy day of sightseeing. The furniture is quite the basic, but suites well for my need. The small design elements make the room a bit more personal. I've always appreciate the cleanliness as well.

The breakfast is pretty much what you would expect in any hotel, but I won't complain as long as there is scrambled eggs and baked beans. Service in Helka has always been really friendly and helpful.

Thank you for the good experiences and see you again soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helka Hotel

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Helka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 metres from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Helkan Keittio Restaurant serves Finnish cuisine based on fresh, locally sourced ingredients such as fish, game, mushrooms and berries. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar, which also features a cigar room. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Helka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.