We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helka” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Helka Hotel to your Saves list
Helka Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Helka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Clean and modern rooms, with the nice sauna on the top floor. The thing we've enjoyed the best was the breakfast - huge variety of dishes of the Scandinavian cuisine. The location is not that far from the railway station about 10 min of walking distance. The room service is pretty good while receptionists could have been friendlier.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear GalaBy333,

Thank you for your review. I will tell your greetings also to our restaurant.
Hope to see you again at Helka!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    239
    84
    17
    5
See reviews for
52
133
122
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I would unhesitatingly stay here again. The hotel has a very Scandinavian, individual flavor, and I enjoyed the color scheme, lighting and decorations in the room. I found it comfortable and clean with a nice bathroom, and a convenient place from which to walk around Helsinki. Breakfast was hearty and good. The Helka is definitely not a "cookie cutter" hotel, and I liked this. It has character.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear karmaswimswami,

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you here at Helka again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terzo d'Aquileia, Italy
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have been in this hotel and I will never stay here again. The room was like in Paris in terms of sqmt (more or less 12 sqmt) but without any charme. It looks like being in an avarage russian hotel at URSS time. Not any sign of finnish design. The breakfast was served in a dark room and the coffee was terrible.

A very negative experience that makes me doubt about some nice reviews I read when I booked this hotel. With 20 eurous more I could stay at BW Katajanokka or at Fabian. Never again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear manwholivedinhotels,

Thank you for your review. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay in Hotel Helka! We are really sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your requests. We hope that you would have contacted the reception immediately you noticed that the room was not what you expected. Because this is an old building – built already in 1928 – not all the rooms are equal size. Finnish design is used all around the hotel’s interior design and all rooms are designed and furnished with Finnish furniture (i.a. Alvar Aalto and Artek).

If you decide to visit us again, we will make sure that you will get a nice room, and the breakfast and service will be as pleasant and welcoming as it should be every day.

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great all over. What a nice surprise. Nothing of the stuffy, conservative 80's Helka remains. Great crew, great food (both restaurant and breakfast), good location, extra points for the cigar lounge. Cool web site, too.


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Kimmo M,

Thank you for your warm review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to try our restaurant and cigar lounge. Hope to see you again at Helka!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The rooms are small but with a good large desk space and the free wifi was easy to use and worked well. The location was well connected to the transport networks being only a few metres from the central bus station (Kaampi) and adjacent to to the main cycle walkway to the railway station. The room temperature is adjusted from the radiator in the room and the air conditioning so it could be a little tricky to get the temperature just right. Overall an efficient and functional place to stay if you are in Helsinki.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Positive: Sauna (one for each gender) is free. Cosy small rooms with tv and nice furniture
Breakfast has a good variety with a good mix of everything.
Cheap deals available on various websites, so don't pay the full price guys!
Wlan is free







Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rauma, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel was really good, I don't have anything bad to say.
Location was excellent to us, near all the places we needed.
Hotel and our room was clean. Decoration was nice and great idea to have a nature picture on roof on top of beds. We have corner room with two windows which made the room very spacious.
Breakfast was normal hotel breakfast, it was good for me.

Nice extra thing was car parking, you could leave your car for free to back yard (if there were free space) or then you could drive to garage and pay 10 eur. It is really cheap!!
Only problem was too small parking area and garage. Very easy to crash your car.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helka Hotel

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Helka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 metres from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Helkan Keittio Restaurant serves Finnish cuisine based on fresh, locally sourced ingredients such as fish, game, mushrooms and berries. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar, which also features a cigar room. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Helka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.