We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I do recommed Helka!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helka Hotel

Save Saved
You added Helka Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Helka Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I do recommed Helka!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Although my stay was few months ago (in July), I believe my review is still useful.
The hotel is located in a quite area, somehow centrally, walking distance to the railway station and airport bus stop (next to railway station) being around 10 minutes, while to the port being approx. 20 min. A supermarket is located nearby and there’s also the Kamppi shopping center where in the basement the buses depart towards multiple destinations, including Porvoo (for a daily trip). Hotel area was clean and safe enough.

The hotel looks nice and very clean from both outside and inside. I had my room at 6th floor. The reception guys were very nice, polite and helped me with every question I had. Of course, everybody in Finland speaks English very well.

The room actually comprises of two rooms, the entrance one having a couch and another one (relatively small) with a very comfortable bed. The ceiling displays interesting pictures. Room was very clean. The bathroom was split into two, the main shower room and a Finnish sauna room (didn’t try it). There wasn’t any issue with the could or hot water, although there was no outside window to evacuate the shower steam.

Breakfast had plenty of choices, very tasty, no complaints. The breakfast area looked clean and nice decorated.

Overall, this was a very good choice for the price charged and I do recommend Helka for a pleasant stay in Helsinki.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Cristi_Ionescu,

Thank you for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka. You have stayed in our Junior Suite. In other rooms we don´t have sauna but on the 6th floor, there are 2 free saunas for the guests.
Hope to see you again at Helka!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    215
    75
    16
    5
See reviews for
48
123
106
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Recently stayed for 3 nights - selected based on other reviews. Not located in a particularly clean area, but no problems with the youth night clubs nearby. Reception staff generally helpful, but the value-for-money is certainly not apparent. €215/night for chipped doorframes in the room, bare minimum of "free" shower products ( the were not replaced when used), no face/body flannel. Bed ( 2 singles pushed ogether was comfortable). Used the promoted sauna - if there were 4 people there at the same time, it would be very intimate indeed!
Breakfast - sigh. I haven't sen such a ordinary choice for many years. Fruit salad mix looked to be from a can, the juice was dreadful (and the apple juice seemed to watered down), the "dark roast" coffee (push the button yourself) was like dish-water - but tht may just be the Finn way. The only "fresh" fruit available was watermelon. The "best" part of breakfast was the choice of breads -with he only sweet spreads bing marmalade and strawberry jam. The "hot" breakfast was forgettable. And breakfast was the same everyday.
Apart from the tablecloth on the breakfast tables, everything else was serve-your-self - no plates, cups, glasses, or cutlery were set.
Apart from being only 10 min walk to the central train station, and 20 min walk to the waterfront, I can think of no reason to recommend tis hotel. ( and when you pay our bill, your account copy isn't even put into an envelope!)
There are no restaurants close by to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a very reasonably priced hotel in a central location – very convenient to the main train station which is why we chose it. We were very happy there for a night, but wouldn’t choose to stay for a longer period.
The hotel is an old property that has been “made-over” using contemporary Scandinavian style – but nothing can disguise that it is a bit tired and run down.
Every staff member we dealt with was delightful – helpful and well versed in customer service.
We arrived around 11.30 am off a cruise ship – and were delighted to be checked into our room immediately. Our room was very compact, especially the bathroom – but everything was in good working order, the bed was very comfortable, and it was quiet and peaceful. We also appreciated that there was a small balcony (no outlook unfortunately) and windows which opened allowing for fresh air in our room.
A very good breakfast was included in the nightly rate. There was a nice little bar downstairs where we had a very pleasant night-cap before heading for bed.
I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again if we were in transit in Helsinki.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear SydneyTeviot,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Helka. Delightful to hear that your
experience was pleasurable. We have been trying to renovate Helka with the
best that Finnish contemporary design has to offer but still firmly
respecting the history of the building. We welcome you to Helka again in the
future!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel was nice. Just nice. The staff were really friendly and helpful but maybe it's due for a re-paint and a few touch ups. It's interior design is fun, different, really tries to tap into the Helsinki design rep. It's within walking distance to Kiasma too so a good location. My room was up on the sixth floor and on a main street but thanks to the awesome double glazed windows the noise was not an issue.

Room Tip: Stay up on a high floor perhaps to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Christine S,

Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka.
Welcome again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel Helka has a very good and convenient location. Right in the city center, not far from the railway station. Hotel building is rather modest but when you get inside you find yourself in a spacious lobby greeted by friendly reception staff. The room I stayed there was not a large one but clean and comfortable. There were simple furniture in the room, which included among others a spacious wardrobe, a flat screen TV, minibar and an electric kettle. Wood window frame looked rather old. On the whole the room was quite habitable. I have to mention also a great breakfast. It was served in a large ground floor restaurant. I liked their delicious desserts such as thawed berries: strawberries, raspberries, dewberries and fresh watermelons. There were also interesting local staples: tasty sweet sour herring and Finnish pies. Hotel guests can rest in a Finnish sauna in the upper floor. Seems it`s very popular among guests, however is not so large. When I visited it in the evening there happened to be not a few guys there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Azad690,

Thank you for your warm review. We look forward to welcoming you here at Helka again.
Have a nice autumn!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troisdorf
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

great location.easy walking distance to many attractions and coach terminus back to airport.
clean and tidy rooms.a bit small but overall pleased.
friendly and helpful staff.
good quality breakfast included in price.great selection of cold and cooked food

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear hungrytony,

Thank you for your kind review. It is good to hear that you liked our location. Hope to see you again at Helka!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hotel Helka is sadly let down by its surrounds. We walked through litter and broken glass ( at 7.30am) to get to its front door, with anxiety building as we approached its entrance, as to what we might find! Thankfully, once inside, our worries vanished. We were met by efficient,though rather stern looking, reception staff. Check in and check out was fast and hassle free.The waiting area was well set up to accommodate more than one set of guests checking in at a time. Our room was nicely decorated, true to Scandinavian simple chic! And very clean. It had everything a traveller needed. Breakfast could be more creative as the menu was repetitive and basic. Staff was helpful in calling a taxi. This hotel sells Finnish design ware but I would like to suggest perhaps they can add umbrellas to their list of items for sale especially for the rainy season :)

Room Tip: Our room faced into a courtyard and so it was quiet all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Kit H,

Thank you for the feedback! It´s good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thankfully this autumn has not been that rainy yet but we might still steal your idea about the umbrellas! At the moment guests can borrow umbrellas from the reception.

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helka Hotel

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Helka Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 metres from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Helkan Keittio Restaurant serves Finnish cuisine based on fresh, locally sourced ingredients such as fish, game, mushrooms and berries. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar, which also features a cigar room. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Helka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.