We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helka Hotel

Save Saved
You added Helka Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Helka Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Helsinki
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The position of the hotel is excellent near station. Our the room was clean and big, service at desk and bar was very good. Breakfast was good but in my opinion with too little bakery (croissant , cakes)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Giuseppe V,

Thank you for your review and nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have Finnish karelian pies and some days homemade bread but we will discuss with the restaurant if it would be possible to add more pastries to the breakfast selection.

Hope to see you and your family again at Helka!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    218
    76
    16
    5
See reviews for
48
123
108
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We used the Helka as our Helsinki base during our March Border To Border ski adventure and after a follow-up trip to Spain. The staff were fluent in English and extremely helpful providing accurate information on transportation, dining, and any other questions we had. The breakfast buffet was excellent as was the sauna. The lobby computer was highly useful in getting email updates sent back to friends at home. All facilities were very clean and well-kept. All in all, a great place to come back to after adventures outside of Helsinki.

Room Tip: The sauna is on the 6th floor making it very convenient for all the rooms on that floor. I think th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Boise,

Thank you for your review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka. You are very welcome to visit us again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights on a business trip, and would happily stay again (for a business trip), although nothing was really outstanding. The location is great for central Helsinki. My single room was compact, but adequate. Breakfast was OK, but spoilt by intrusive music! WiFi was free, but not the quickest. So all in all, an OK place to stay, but nothing special, although having the designer furniture and fittings was a nice touch.
Reception staff were very helpful and friendly....in fact they were the best part of this hotel experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear EnjoyTravel200,

Thank you for your honest review and for staying with us.
We are sorry to hear that the music in the breakfast room didn´t meet your expectations.
Hopefully you will visit us again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjørring
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We ordered this stay via olotels.com. 3 nights in a double room. Everything went perfect from reservation over payment to the final arrival at the hotel, where the printed reservation was accepted with no questions. From outside the hotel does not look impressive, but the outside of the building does nor reveal the troth of the inside. The hotel seems to have been renovated within the last few years, and the inside it good looking. It is modern, clean and every thing is in good order. Staff is friendly and helpful with a smile. Breakfast is fully acceptable in a cosy restaurant. The hotel is placed within walking distance from all major tourist attractions in the centre of Helsinki. There is a 20 min. walk to the main railway station, from where bus 615 arrives from the airport. A hotel which can be recommended for people who needs a comfortable stay in Helsinki without spending a fortune.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Tom B,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka. The hotel has been renovated from inside 2006. We are planning to make some changes also to hotel entrance in the near future.

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed in this hotel only one time but i felt myself there very comfortable and nice, i always look for a room there if i go in Helsinki.
This hotel located in quiet place of center, closer to Temppeliaukion kirkko (church in the rock). Room is comfortable, big and clean. Service is very, very friendly, cultural and helpful. Breakfast is simply great, i have never got before such a good breakfast and we are prefered even got a lunch in this hotel's restaurant what was also great and just 9 euro from the person.
I have just only one little claim to the Helka. We have specially paid more money for getting twin room but got a double room, just beds were shifted. So if u need twin room, i don't see and difference to pay for it more in this hotel.
Anyway generally i recommend this place to everybody =)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Natalia105,

Thank you for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka. I will tell your greetings to our restaurant.
In the hotel we only have twin rooms with two beds. In some rooms the beds are separately and in some rooms together. Sorry for the misunderstanding. Next time you visit us we will make sure that you will get a room according to your request.
Have a nice spring and we hope to see you again here at Helka!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night and slept very well. Rooms are decorated with Finnish design furniture. Location is good almost in middle of Helsinki with little walk. I would recommend staying here if you have eye for good-looking objects. Breakfast was very Finnish. I don't know if that is good or bad :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Viva Stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear ArtMeal,

Thank you for your review and welcome again to Helka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We arrived at evening to Helsinki, it was windy and we started walking with our suitcases. Fortunately enough, the hotel is not far from the station.
The lobby was warm and the receptionist was nice. The room was nice with a great decorated ceiling !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear EranBr,

Thank you for your warm review :) . Hope to see you again at Helka!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helka Hotel

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Helka Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 metres from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Helkan Keittio Restaurant serves Finnish cuisine based on fresh, locally sourced ingredients such as fish, game, mushrooms and berries. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar, which also features a cigar room. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Helka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.