We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Helka Hotel to your Saves list
Helka Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Comfort and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We arrived in Helsinki around midnight. It was freezing - 5 C in April! Good location, friendly staff. Lobby is warm and inviting. The room is nice- good design, warm and cozy with small balcony. Breakfast is very good. Sauna is free for hotel guests on sixth floor. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear KessBGK,

Thank you for your review. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka. Maybe we see you again already in summer :) . This spring has been extremely cold but now it´s finally getting warmer.

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    239
    84
    17
    5
See reviews for
52
133
122
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We where in Helsinki for a weekend. Rooms are small but very quiet and modern. The Hotel is just a few steps from the shoppin center Kampi, so really good located. The shower is so small - so it's quite funny to take a shower ;)
Free WIFI in the rooms and the breakfast is... well... let's say okay.
I would book it again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Starlett_dive,

Thank you for your review. Our property is old ( built 1928 ) and unfortunately we have different sizes of bathrooms. Next time please ask from the reception a room with bigger bathroom. Hope to see you again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlunkhofen
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked one night through an on-line agency, then had to extend for a second night. Instead of charging their (higher) front desk prices, they asked what we had paid for the first night and charged the same for the second - a generous gesture. The rooms and the breakfast buffet are super. The only issue was that the in-house WiFi was weak and rather unreliable and the customer Internet desk was running an old version of Linux with outdated Firefox browser.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotka
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Updated and clean room. Enough space for working and sleeping. No warm water for the first day/night -> no compesation, which I found interesting... Unlucky coinsident, otherwise everything was ok. Location perfect for my purposes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry L, General Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am really sorry about the inconvinience caused. There was a electric failure in this part of the city and it broke our technical control system. It took several hours to get fixed and during that time we did not have any warm water. And you are rigth, our reception should had given some compensation of that, so please contact to me to arrange a compensation to your next visit.

Best regards,

Henry Laine , GM (henry.laine@helka.fi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberhausen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Hotel was really nice considering that paid only 55€ per night for one person room. The check in was fastest I have never experienced in any hotel. Room was nice and clean and had everything I needed. Bathroom was clean and new. Lobbybar was really cosy and had really nice sofas, we watched there Boxing match with my friend one evening. Breakfast was both mornings really good, well it should be when the restaurant of Helka has michelin stars :D
I think Only thing I was disapointed was the Sauna. The Sauna was really small maybe for 4 person and there was 2 shower next to it. On sunday morning when there was like 10 guys wanting to go sauna, had to wait a while. The facilities were totally new but so so small. And there was no place to change clothes. And when I was booking the Hotel I got impression that there is a Jacuzzi at the Sauna area and was then disapointed when there was no jacuzzi or any pool. Jacuzzi is only at some extra penthouse sauna you can rent I guess.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in March.

Nice points:
We stayed at 3 different hotels in Helsinki and Tallinn but the breakfast at this hotel was far best.

Female staff were all friendly. One suggested where to visit and checked bus times for us.

Nice sauna on top floor which opens for more than 12 hours.

Nice finish design furniture in room. (the building is old though)

Other points:
The room had only basic stuff. No fridge, no safe box, no coffee cups. (strangely, we were asked if we used mini bar when we checked out so other rooms may have a fridge)

Housekeeper could have done better job. I found some hairs in the shower room.

Male staff were not as friendly as female staff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Akitravelestheworld,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We truly appreciate that you have listed the nice points and specially the points where we can still improve our service.

Only one guest room from our 150 rooms is missing mini bar so you must have had that one. The kettle sets in the rooms are brand new and the cups etc. will be placed as soon as they arrive. We are sorry that these items were missing.

All from our lovely female staff are indeed friendly and cheerful. I know that our male staff have the same characters but unfortunately these must have been hiding under the surface during your stay. We´ll make sure that our ladies will give us a lesson about friendly customer service.

Hope to see you soon again at Helka!

Iloisin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night only and chose their "Trash Room" where recycled materials are used in the furniture. Unfortunately the TV didn't work in the room. Short stay and all I wanted was a peaceful room and a good breakfast and this was what I got. The staff was really nice and I'll most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear VJMHelsinki_Finland,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you had a peaceful stay and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet.

We would like to aplogize that the TV didn´t work in your room. Apparently one of our brand new TVs was the only trash item in our temporary Trash Design room...

We´ll make sure everything goes even smoother next time. Welcome again!

Valoisin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helka Hotel

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Helka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 metres from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Helkan Keittio Restaurant serves Finnish cuisine based on fresh, locally sourced ingredients such as fish, game, mushrooms and berries. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar, which also features a cigar room. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Helka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.