We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bf and sauna” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Helka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Helka Hotel to your Saves list
Helka Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice bf and sauna”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in March.

Nice points:
We stayed at 3 different hotels in Helsinki and Tallinn but the breakfast at this hotel was far best.

Female staff were all friendly. One suggested where to visit and checked bus times for us.

Nice sauna on top floor which opens for more than 12 hours.

Nice finish design furniture in room. (the building is old though)

Other points:
The room had only basic stuff. No fridge, no safe box, no coffee cups. (strangely, we were asked if we used mini bar when we checked out so other rooms may have a fridge)

Housekeeper could have done better job. I found some hairs in the shower room.

Male staff were not as friendly as female staff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Akitravelestheworld,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We truly appreciate that you have listed the nice points and specially the points where we can still improve our service.

Only one guest room from our 150 rooms is missing mini bar so you must have had that one. The kettle sets in the rooms are brand new and the cups etc. will be placed as soon as they arrive. We are sorry that these items were missing.

All from our lovely female staff are indeed friendly and cheerful. I know that our male staff have the same characters but unfortunately these must have been hiding under the surface during your stay. We´ll make sure that our ladies will give us a lesson about friendly customer service.

Hope to see you soon again at Helka!

Iloisin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    239
    84
    17
    5
See reviews for
52
133
121
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night only and chose their "Trash Room" where recycled materials are used in the furniture. Unfortunately the TV didn't work in the room. Short stay and all I wanted was a peaceful room and a good breakfast and this was what I got. The staff was really nice and I'll most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear VJMHelsinki_Finland,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you had a peaceful stay and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet.

We would like to aplogize that the TV didn´t work in your room. Apparently one of our brand new TVs was the only trash item in our temporary Trash Design room...

We´ll make sure everything goes even smoother next time. Welcome again!

Valoisin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel has very good central location, friendly staff and definitely exceeded my expectations in terms of quality! The breakfast was included and was of a superior quality. The room was nice and clean and had everything a traveler would like to see. Would recommend to everyone! Nice and pleasant stay and a trip to remember.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Hristina S,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay and that you left with plenty of good memories.

Welcome again to Helka!

Aurinkoisin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pula, Croatia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Location of Helka hotel is great. In the centre of Helsinki, near bus and railway main stations. Rooms are OK, bed is a bit too soft. Breakfast has a good variety of food. Staff is friendly, helpful and polite. Everyone speaks english. Free wi- fi is great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Branka1,

Greetings from the heart of Helsinki and thank you for the nice review.
Welcome again - We´ll be here!

Aurinkoisin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Rooms were filled with furniture from finnish designers.
TV wasn't working properly and bathroom was too small. I had to shower at Sauna which was beatufully renovated. Breakfast was one the best served in finnish hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Viva Stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Mikando,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review!

We would like to apologize that the TV in your room didn´t work properly. All our televisions are brand new, so there must have been some installation problem in the room you have stayed. Sorry to hear also that you the bathroom was too small.

Next time when you come to Helsinki please contact me personally and I´ll make sure to arrange a pleasant stay for you.

Thank you once again and hope to hear from you soon!

Ystävällisin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ME
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great location and very very courteous staff. Hotel was selected by CSC - the meeting organizer. Reliable internet, nice meetings rooms. The staff was incredibly courteous and very very anxious to meet every need and handled kosher food brought in from an outside caterer with good taste and careful attention. Great location for sightseeing. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Audrey44855,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that everything went smoothly with your meeting and special arrangements.

Hopefully you had enough time to explore our beautiful city and to feel the winter atmosphere in Helsinki. Welcome again and maybe next time during summer..?

Ystävällisin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice and cozy place to stay. Clean rooms and good breakfast. There is only few parking places but Kamppi parking hall is located near of hotel which costs 15€ per day. Almost centre of Helsinki. 10 minutes walking distance to railway station.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Jarkkolainen,

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that also you found our hotel cozy.

As you mentioned we have only 8 parking places in our backyard and 4 in our small garage. That´s why we are offering the parking hall tickets to Forum parking hall (50 meters from Helka) at very reasonable price 15€/ 24h.

We wish you nice driving days for the spring and hope to see you soon again at Helka!

Raikkain terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helka Hotel

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Helka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 metres from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Helkan Keittio Restaurant serves Finnish cuisine based on fresh, locally sourced ingredients such as fish, game, mushrooms and berries. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar, which also features a cigar room. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Helka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.