We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Helka Hotel to your Saves list
Helka Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
ME
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great location and very very courteous staff. Hotel was selected by CSC - the meeting organizer. Reliable internet, nice meetings rooms. The staff was incredibly courteous and very very anxious to meet every need and handled kosher food brought in from an outside caterer with good taste and careful attention. Great location for sightseeing. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Audrey44855,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that everything went smoothly with your meeting and special arrangements.

Hopefully you had enough time to explore our beautiful city and to feel the winter atmosphere in Helsinki. Welcome again and maybe next time during summer..?

Ystävällisin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    239
    84
    17
    5
See reviews for
52
133
121
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice and cozy place to stay. Clean rooms and good breakfast. There is only few parking places but Kamppi parking hall is located near of hotel which costs 15€ per day. Almost centre of Helsinki. 10 minutes walking distance to railway station.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Jarkkolainen,

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that also you found our hotel cozy.

As you mentioned we have only 8 parking places in our backyard and 4 in our small garage. That´s why we are offering the parking hall tickets to Forum parking hall (50 meters from Helka) at very reasonable price 15€/ 24h.

We wish you nice driving days for the spring and hope to see you soon again at Helka!

Raikkain terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Good location, near the city center, bus station and railway station. Quiet, beautiful rooms. Really nice and many-sided breakfast! Beautiful wallpapers of Finnish nature all over the hotel. Helpful and friendly personnel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear AnnikkiToi,

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and also the Helka atmosphere! Thank you very much for your review.

The wallpaper in the hotel room is called Linneus and it is available at least in Finland. The pictures on top of the beds and on the lift walls are custom made.

Happy Women´s Day on the 8th of March and Welcome again to Helka!

Lämpimin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seinajoki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Hotel Helka is value for money. Rooms are clean, beautiful and cosy. Hotel is situated very close to main railway and shops.
sauna area is beautiful. Restaurant is high quality, food was very tasty.
Service was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Kaisa L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It´s always a pleasure to read such nice reviews.

All the best for the spring and hope to see you soon again at Helka!

Aurinkoisin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

hotel where you get more than expected!! free parking! nice breakfast with big coice of food ! kind and warm personel ready to help but speak only english (only Russian speakers may have difficulties.. but many tourists around will help with translation!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear AndreiLobuznov,

Thank you for your kind review! Nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Few from our staff speaks also Russian but you are right that the rest of us could learn some more. Maybe next time when you arrive we´ll be able to serve you in Russian also...or at least greet!

Добро пожаловать!

Lämpimin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I was in two minds whether to give this hotel three or four stars. In some ways you can not fault it. The service was friendly, the bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and quiet. However, having had stayed in many hotels in Helsinki I felt something was missing. The room was very small to a point where you could not open the mini bar door fully because it was too close to the bed. (However you could get the drinks out of the minibar easily). There was hardly any floor space and the bathroom was absolutely tiny. I only stayed one night, so this was all fine, but I have to say I probably would not stay any longer than that. The decor is minimalist, Finnish design which gives it a fresh look but the hotel itself is old. The combination of minimalist and some dark green colours (in my room) gave it a bit of a motel-like feel. The price was fair so I can't really complain. i had to leave before breakfast time so can not comment on that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear AcerLeeds,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We are happy that you enjoyed our friendly and clean hotel.

Sorry to hear that you felt that something was missing from the experience. Our rooms are a bit different with sizes compared to each other. Some of them are rather compact as you mentioned, but still functional for a good quality stay.

However, we wish to see you someday again at Helka!

Ystävällisin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I've stayed in some great hotels and a few ropey ones and I have to say this is one of the best I have stayed in and definitely one of the best value for money. It's pretty close to the main railway and bus stations, a metro (Kamppi) , 2 large department stores (Stockmann & Sokos), 2 art galleries (classical & contemporary), a couple of museums and an amazing church (Temppeliaukion kirkko); and that's before you even get inside. And let's just say that if the rest of Finland is like Helka, then the Finns just about have it all wrapped up. The staff are warm, welcoming, knowledgeable, polite & helpful, without exception. And, as with most Finns, they understand you will never get the hang of Suomi, so they even learn perfect English too.
The room we had (a twin) was just lovely; clean, spacious, quiet, warm, modern design (a little quirky perhaps, but that suited it perfectly), good bathroom, well heated & everything worked. Breakfast - oh gosh, where to begin - if this place fell down & they just served this breakfast it would still get 5 stars. I have NEVER stayed in a place that offered such a great range - and all delicious, and the woman who worked in the breakfast room clearing and serving gets a special mention, (as I imagine people like her rarely do) as the place was cleared and replenished effortlessly and with a smile and a 'good morning'. We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was delicious too- Beetroot risotto with barley (I want the recipe Helka!). And finally, the sauna (6th Floor) - again spotless - is a great way to end your exhausting days outside in the sub-zero temperatures - though you probably won't find any Finns using it - we met them using the outside sauna near to the harbour before dipping themselves into the frozen sea! Mad!! Thank you Helka for such a wonderful experience; I was thinking about going to go to NYC in the summer for my 50th birthday but I reckon I'll be coming back here instead!

Room Tip: Like most Hotels a room at the back is probably a good choice, I said 5stars for pool & fitness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear PansyUK,

We are extremely happy for your review and that you have really enjoyed your stay with us. I am sure that this is one of the most flattering reviews we have ever received!

So we´ll be more than happy to share the Beetroot risotto recipe with you. We have a few variations from this recipe, but here are the main ingredients:

- barley
- beetroot
- cream
- soft cheese
- white wine
- beetroot juice
- vegetables

Cook barley and after that mix it with all other ingredients in a pan. Enjoy!

Please contact us when you are planning your birthday and we´ll make sure that Helsinki and Helka will be your destination for the special trip. Maybe we´ll have a new name then as you suggested =)

Thank you once again and hope to hear from you soon!

Lämpimin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helka Hotel

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Helka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 metres from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Helkan Keittio Restaurant serves Finnish cuisine based on fresh, locally sourced ingredients such as fish, game, mushrooms and berries. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar, which also features a cigar room. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Helka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.