We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel near to downtown.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Helka Hotel to your Saves list
Helka Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel near to downtown.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Spent 1 night in last summer (Jul/2012). This is a really nice boutique hotel, with lovely decor. Rooms are a little bit smaller that I like, but with amazing details (would not ruin your experience, check it by yourself). Only downside was the breakfast schedule. We arrived very late in the night and woke up for breakfast some minutes before it would be closing. At 10 o'clock sharp they dimmer the lights and don't allow you to pick-up from the buffet anymore. In my opinion this is a little bit unpolite but OK, we need to adapt ourselves to local habits....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear e1000lewing,

Thank you for your honest review! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our Finnish design decor and atmosphere.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience at the end of our breakfast time. During the weekdays the breakfast ends at 10am and the lunch buffet starts at 11am. So we have only one hour after the breakfast to clean up the restaurant and prepare the whole lunch buffet. That is the reason why we need to be efficient during that time and to be rather precise about the informed breakfast times.

However we should be able to do this without making us feel unpolite. Thank you for the feedback as now we know how we can improve our service to the next level.

We wish you warmly Welcome to Helka again!

Lämpimin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    239
    84
    17
    5
See reviews for
52
133
122
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed one night in Helka Hotel in Jan 2013. Here is my feedback (all positive)

Location - (1) If you are arriving into Helsinki airport, take the FinnAir City bus, it will drop you within 3-4 minutes of the hotel. (2) If you are taking a train, the main train station is also 3-4 minute walk, right next to the bus station. (3) If you are arriving at the port, like I did on a ferry from Tallinn, there is a direct streetcar (I think No. 9), which drops you within 4-5 blocks. There are lot of street-car routes within a 3-block radius. So location-wise, it can't get any better. There are quite a few restaurants (albeit fast food) within a block, but you can of course walk toward the bus/train station, where the options are lot more.

Hotel & rooms - Great value for money. As some other reviews have mentioned, the decor in the room is funky, and everything works. The night I was there, it was 27 degrees Celsius BELOW zero outside, but the heater kept the room comfortable. Breakfast spread is very good. What amazed me was the size of the "singe" bed room. On the same trip I had stayed in some really tiny "single" rooms, but this one was nice and big. There is a bar/cafe downstairs near the reception, but it's open only some hours of the morning and then in the evening. I did not use the restaurant.

Staff - *Extremely* friendly. When I reached there, I realized that the website through which I booked (Gala Hotels) had goofed up, and the hotel never got my confirmation. However, the lady at the reception was very friendly and warned me that this had happened before with this agency. She assured me I would get a room that night, got me a cup of coffee and also talked with the folks at Gala Hotels. Eventually it got figured out.

so, overall great place to stay if you want to use the public transport, and if you want to attend trade shows or something (like I did in Pasila).

A couple of general comments:

- Be careful while booking through Gala Hotels - they have a UK number, but they are based in Turkey, and it is difficult to get a hold of them, especially when you run into problems. And if you call their customer service, all they tell you is "we are sorry, but please have patience, we will get back to you" - Imagine someone telling you this when it is 27 degrees below zero outside, and you have come to a hotel to find out that there is no reservation

- When traveling on a commuter train in Helsinki, you can have to buy a ticket before you board the train, and most of the automatic ticket machines didn't seem to take cash. they accept only the cards with chips. You can buy ticket on the train, but only on certain compartments - so just be careful.

Hope this helps.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 608, and in spite of being a "single" room, it was very spacious, with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear MapsAndStories,

Thank you very much for your review and for all the information to our future guests. You really took the time to share your tips and the local information! We are pleased that you saw the real winter with nice and cool weather as at the moment it is about +1 degrees with wet snow all over..

You are right that there are some unreliable Online Travel Agents that have some problems with their bookings. We always recommend to book directly from the hotel as it is the most reliable way.

Greetings from Eeva - she was happy to help you with this issue =)
Hope to see you soon again at Helka...maybe next time during summer!

Lämpimin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and this hotel was a refreshing encounter compared to the chain-hotels. Unique rooms with very nice design pieces, good location and friendly staff. Breakfast was good and served in a relaxing setting. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear MKSLFM,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion! We are very pleased that you enjoyed the unik Helka atmosphere.

We wish you happy beginning of the year 2013 and hope to see you soon again!

Lämpimin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I have stayed at the Helka hotel three times (once with my friend and twice with my husband) and I would definitely stay again.
Prices were reasonable and it's a lovely little hotel in a gorgeous city.
The staff were polite and friendly and were happy to book a taxi for us when it was time to leave.
Breakfast was included in the price, it was served quite early so not ideal if you are the type of person who likes a lie in on a morning. You could just help yourself to the breakfast food, it had some hot food, including bacon, sausages and scrambled eggs which were all very nice and standard cold breakfast food such as cereal, toast, buns, sliced meat and cheeses and fruit. There was also tea, coffee and a few different juices available.
The breakfast area is rather small and was very busy at times, but we always managed to find a seat.

The room:
The room was decorated in typical Scandinavian style and was very clean, rooms had recently been updated and everything seemed to be of a high standard.

The hotel had a sauna and a large jacuzzi tub which we had to pay to use.

The hotel was approximately a 5-10 minute walk to the main shopping/restaurant area and approximately a 15 minute walk to the harbor. The street was fairly quiet and felt very safe. There was a nightclub next door but I'm not sure if it's closed because we never heard any music or saw any people crowding around it.

It was a beautiful (underrated) city which was very clean and felt very safe. We had a wonderful time, shopping, dining out and looking at the sights (we even took a boat to the Helsinki zoo one day which was fun.) Overall a lovely holiday, we will definitely be back in the future and would be more than happy to stay at the Helka hotel again and we would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear B L,

Greetings from sunny and cold Helsinki and thank you very much for the detailed review of Helka.

Our breakfast is served in our restaurant on midweek from 6:30am to 10:00am and on weekend from 7:00am to 10:30am. On midweek the lunch buffet serving begins at 11:00am and on weekend the restaurant serves a la carte beginning from noon. The lunch and a la carte serving sets time limit to the breakfast serving as the restaurant needs to be prepared beforehand.

We think it´s good to wake up at latest that time so that there is enough time to explore our beutiful city ;)

Thank you once again and we wish you warmly Welcome to Helka again!

Ystävällisin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very nice staff, very, very quick check-in and out, sauna and internet included in the price. Also, the price includes a FANTASTIC buffet breakfast. Rooms are clean, warm, the tap water is not only drinkable, but it is probably of the quality equal to spring water...bathrooms are well equipped, ergonomic, and clean...it is just a great place to be. Thanks to all in "Helka"!

Room Tip: Room 405 :).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear B U,

Thank you for the fantastic review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your visit in Helsinki and your stay in Helka!

Next time when you come to Helsinki let´s have some pure Finnish tap water drinks together.
Have a nice year 2013 and hope to meet you soon at Helka!

Lämpimin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London & Birmingham UK
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
513 helpful votes 513 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night as we were en route up to Lapland just before Christmas 2012. The hotel was an easy and safe 10 minute walk to Helsinki Train station. Very happy with our choice, this is a fantastic city centre hotel. Close to shops and restaurants.

Loved the room decor and the alpine scenery that you see when lying back. The beds in particular were amongst the comfiest we've ever slept in. We had an amazingly good, deep sleep after travelling from the UK. I wish I knew what they used for the mattress/topper/etc so we can get the same for our home! Free Wifi was fast, bathroom was massive with great toiletries.

Special mention for our breakfast the next morning was excellent and close to what you would get at a Scandinavian Radisson. Great range of meats, cheeses, yoghurts, gingerbread cookies, hot and cold food, fresh coffee, herbal teas, cereals, pies, breads, pastries. Really really good!

We managed to find time to try out the sauna, which was on our 6th floor. This was amazing. Very relaxing in a "attic type" design. You can sit in the sauna and look out across the rooftops of Helsinki.

On a couple of occasions we had drinks in the bar. Not too expensive - about €6 for a large beer. Great range of beers on tap and comfortable seating.

Very good staff who were friendly, courteous and helpful. Highly recommended and we would use again if in Helsinki.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear CockneyBrum,

We are extremely happy that you took the time to share such kind and detailed review.

You mentioned our comfortable beds in your review. Our beds are made by a smallish Finnish company called Unico Finland Oy and the model is Nova. I called to the factory which is in the northwestern part of Finland and they gave me the contact information for the sales representative person. The sales agent told that these beds are unfortunately sold only in Finland.

I found their product catalog from the internet (unfortunately Triadvisor doesn´t allow to put any links here). It is in Finnish but if you contact us by email I can send it to you with translation. It might be useful for finding a similar type of bed from where you live. There is a picture from different layers of the mattress which would be probably helpful.

So please contact us and we´ll help you with your search. Or at least you´ll know where to get some good sleep when visiting in Helsinki..

Looking forward for your contact!

Ystävällisin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Hotel Helka in Helsinki was a great experience for me during my stay there from 4th – 6th December 2012. A very conveniently located hotel, with a hospitable, friendly staff (especially Marc and Miia were outstanding with their helpful and cooperation attitude), spacious, decent room and toilet, great food and nice overall ambiance.


Dr. Sujit Ray - Kolkata, India

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Dr. Sujit Ray,

Thank You very much for Your nice review. Marc and Miia would like to sent You special thanks for the personal feedback.

All the best for year 2013 and hope to see You soon again at Helka!

Lämpimin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helka Hotel

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Helka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 metres from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Helkan Keittio Restaurant serves Finnish cuisine based on fresh, locally sourced ingredients such as fish, game, mushrooms and berries. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar, which also features a cigar room. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Helka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.