We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced for Helsinki with modern interiors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Helka Hotel to your Saves list
Helka Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced for Helsinki with modern interiors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We spent three nights here and found it to be very comfortable and for Helsinki, even reasonably priced.

The hotel itself is in an old building from the outside but the interior is modern and very well done. Rooms have complimentary internet with desk, double bed, coffee table and sofa (our room at least). The only problem were no blinds, which during typically light nordic nights is a bit of a problem as the cloth curtains didnt block all the light.

Bathroom as good size with a bath and plenty of room for two people at the same time - judging by the other reviews of this hotel, there are differences in rooms and room sizes. We had room 610 :-).

Location of the hotel is conveniently central, albeit not in the nicest area next to a road.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room with blinds for a good night sleep. Also our room on the top floor was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear MarciTravels, Thank you for your review. It´s true that all of our rooms are a bit different from each other and nice to hear that you liked your room. We are aware that in some of the rooms curtains are not wide enough to block all the light from outside. Sorry for this inconvenience which we will fix soon.
Hope to see you soon at Helka again!
Lämpimin terveisin
Thomas, Hotel Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    239
    84
    17
    5
See reviews for
52
133
121
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I booked this hotel for a quick one night sleep. When I selected, positives were central location in Helsinki city and car parking's adjacency, locating right on the backyard of the hotel. And those really remained the only positives.

The hotel interiors are very Nordic and very basic style. Some Aalto design furniture does not really make it any cosier... Rooms are small and extremely basic. Bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen - actually, can not be any smaller :) - and was not clean, some hairs on the floor. Breakfast was the basics with bread and hot oatmeal.

Room price was relatively high compared to quality. Can not recommend.

Room Tip: Less traffic noise on upper floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Kirklandgirl02,
Thank you for the review. Sorry to hear that your visit in Helka was a disappointment. It´s true that some of our rooms are pretty compact but the issue with cleaning is unacceptable. Please contact me directly and we´ll discuss how we can compensate this failure: thomas.hogdahl@helka.fi.
Hope to hear from you soon!
Ystävällisin terveisin
Thomas, Hotel Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varazdin, Croatia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I like the hotel. It is close to city center and relatively ok price. Breakfast was great, and small sauna as well. However rooms are pretty small - especially toilets.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Hanchie, Thank you for your review! Nice to hear that you liked the hotel. As we are in an old buiding with original layout, some of our rooms are rather compact. Hopefully this didn´t ruin your visit in Helsinki.
Next time when you come to Helka we´ll arrange a room which is more suitable for you.
Ystävällisin terveisin
Thomas, Hotel Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The Helka is an older building, and fits in well with the surrounding area. It is in a slightly out of the way area, but is actually quite accessible by streetcar/tram from Rautatientori (train station/square) and the regional bus station at Kampi. I booked a small room over the Internet, which had been re-done, and was very pleasant. The staff are professional, helpful and friendly, but not overly solicitous. The breakfast is outstanding, as is the in-hotel restaurant, and the use of the sauna, as well as the property being walking distance to the beach, was a lovely benefit for a summer's visit. For a budget stay, this was a delightful and special place.

Room Tip: The hotel has only recently become non-smoking -- so if you are sensitive, check to make sure the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Poetessnyc, Thank you for the nice review! The beach you mentioned is the Hietaranta beach ("Hietsu") and that´s the most well known beach in the city. It´s very busy during hot summer days...so not very many days in the year..
Welcome next time during winter time and you´ll get to experience a whole different Helsinki!
Kesäterveisin
Thomas, Hotel Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I stay in this hotel only one night in March 2012. Price is for me too expensive but when I look on prices in Finland probably this is fair. Hotel is very nice, warm and comfortable. Room is really great with wi-fi free in the room, but Bathroom is too small but clean and nice. Hotel stuff is very friendly and helpful so I don´t have any complains. Breakfast is also very good with big choice of food.
Position is also very good, 10 minutes by walk from Central train station (bus for airport also).
They can just put some bigger sign outside to find easily far away.
Very nice place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear ghost13, Thank you for the review and all the pictures you have taken.
The average hotel room rate varies a lot also here in Helsinki. The rates are usually higher during midweek and lower on weekends and summer. Thank you also for the tip referring sign outside. We have some plans to improve our exterior and hopefully we are able to launch these soon.
Have a nice week and Welcome to Helka again!
Ystävällisin terveisin
Thomas, Hotel Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

The hotel is nice, the staff is friendly and helpful, the restaurant is good, breakfast is not bad. The room is not very big, but for a single person is good, but the bathroom is very small. It is close to the Metro station and Kampi shops. It was good that they have free wi-fi in the rooms!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear SandraMSA, Thank you for the review. All of our rooms are a bit different sizes and layouts. Some of them are pretty compact but as you mentioned still practical.
Welcome again to enjoy our lovely city!
Lämpimin terveisin
Thomas, Hotel Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkp
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I visited here for a couple of nights at the height of winter, February 2012. The hotel is close to the city centre, but if it's cold and you haven't been before, it might be worth getting a taxi to find it. The Helka is spartan with a pine forest theme, but underneath the IKEA-type styling it provides a decent stay. I was up on the sixth floor, which was nice and quiet, and the same floor as the sauna (which, being a repressed Brit, I didn't use). The room was fine, the bathroom quite small, and, as in other Finnish hotels, they don't believe in leaving a plug for the sink. What I liked about this hotel was that the computer facilities were excellent: free WIFI in the room (with a password on the hotel's instruction card), a keyboard and TV with free internet access, and even a terminal downstairs. They're all handy because, unless you want to go to a restaurant or bar (I'd recommend Ilves a couple of blocks away) or pay 12 Euros to see a mainstream film at the cinema over the road, there's not an awful lot to do in the immediate area of an evening. While there are a few leaflets at the hotel detailing tourist attractions, if you check in the DVD shop over the road, they sometimes have a free English-language magazine which has an events listing - useful if you want to find a gig, play or independent film screening in town.

The Helka has nice staff and a luggage room. If you can brave the weather, the city centre is only a ten minute walk. As for breakfast, there was a decent range of food with a slight Scandinavian twist. The stand-out for me was the scrambled egg, which tasted more like a wonderful savory egg-custard. Also, do a little scouting around and you'll find that the Helka is just a block or two away from the Temppeliaukio Church: a nifty tourist attraction which is a large chappel cut into the rocks - it looks like a set from a sci-fi movie! Finland in February is extremely cold outside - so bring a beeny to keep your ears from falling off - and it is expensive: my friend payed over 9 Euros for one pint of import cider down town, though we didn't drink at the Helka. All in all, though, the Helka itself has a friendly staff and a fresh, quiet feel. It's a gem in a small, but interesting capital city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear parkp, Thank you for your detailed review and good tips to our future guests.
As you mentioned February is not the busiest month in Helsinki. It´s a good tip to search smaller independent events as there are plenty of those all year round. Thank you once more and hope to see you soon again here at Helka!
Parhain terveisin
Thomas, Hotel Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helka Hotel

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Helka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 metres from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Helkan Keittio Restaurant serves Finnish cuisine based on fresh, locally sourced ingredients such as fish, game, mushrooms and berries. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar, which also features a cigar room. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Helka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.