We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Helka Hotel to your Saves list
Helka Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Funchal, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

The hotel is nice, the staff is friendly and helpful, the restaurant is good, breakfast is not bad. The room is not very big, but for a single person is good, but the bathroom is very small. It is close to the Metro station and Kampi shops. It was good that they have free wi-fi in the rooms!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear SandraMSA, Thank you for the review. All of our rooms are a bit different sizes and layouts. Some of them are pretty compact but as you mentioned still practical.
Welcome again to enjoy our lovely city!
Lämpimin terveisin
Thomas, Hotel Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    239
    84
    17
    5
See reviews for
52
133
122
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
parkp
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I visited here for a couple of nights at the height of winter, February 2012. The hotel is close to the city centre, but if it's cold and you haven't been before, it might be worth getting a taxi to find it. The Helka is spartan with a pine forest theme, but underneath the IKEA-type styling it provides a decent stay. I was up on the sixth floor, which was nice and quiet, and the same floor as the sauna (which, being a repressed Brit, I didn't use). The room was fine, the bathroom quite small, and, as in other Finnish hotels, they don't believe in leaving a plug for the sink. What I liked about this hotel was that the computer facilities were excellent: free WIFI in the room (with a password on the hotel's instruction card), a keyboard and TV with free internet access, and even a terminal downstairs. They're all handy because, unless you want to go to a restaurant or bar (I'd recommend Ilves a couple of blocks away) or pay 12 Euros to see a mainstream film at the cinema over the road, there's not an awful lot to do in the immediate area of an evening. While there are a few leaflets at the hotel detailing tourist attractions, if you check in the DVD shop over the road, they sometimes have a free English-language magazine which has an events listing - useful if you want to find a gig, play or independent film screening in town.

The Helka has nice staff and a luggage room. If you can brave the weather, the city centre is only a ten minute walk. As for breakfast, there was a decent range of food with a slight Scandinavian twist. The stand-out for me was the scrambled egg, which tasted more like a wonderful savory egg-custard. Also, do a little scouting around and you'll find that the Helka is just a block or two away from the Temppeliaukio Church: a nifty tourist attraction which is a large chappel cut into the rocks - it looks like a set from a sci-fi movie! Finland in February is extremely cold outside - so bring a beeny to keep your ears from falling off - and it is expensive: my friend payed over 9 Euros for one pint of import cider down town, though we didn't drink at the Helka. All in all, though, the Helka itself has a friendly staff and a fresh, quiet feel. It's a gem in a small, but interesting capital city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear parkp, Thank you for your detailed review and good tips to our future guests.
As you mentioned February is not the busiest month in Helsinki. It´s a good tip to search smaller independent events as there are plenty of those all year round. Thank you once more and hope to see you soon again here at Helka!
Parhain terveisin
Thomas, Hotel Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The room was comfortable with perfect lighting..!! The staff of the hotel is very friendly. The breakfast is just perfect. The location of the hotel is awesome..I had a wonderful time having beer sitting outside the hotel at night where there are a few tables kept..So serene and so peaceful..Simply Splendid!!

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and I would love to go to that hotel again..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Siddy_MBA, Thank you for your excellent review. We are very pleased that you have had a great time in Helka. Our lobby bar´s summer terrace is a perfect place to sit down and watch the street life of Helsinki. Welcome again to Helka!
Lämpimin terveisin
Thomas, Hotel Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Excellent hotel, modern room, great breakfast, very close to the centre. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Helka Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear irishguydub25,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We wish you all the best for the future and hope to see you some day again here in Helka.
Lämpimin terveisin
Thomas, Hotel Helka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We have stayed in most of the big, international brand hotels in Helsinki over the years but this was the first time in a smaller, independant hotel. And what a really nice surprise it was. Ok, not such a great surprise as there are so many good reviews alread on Tripadvisor for it but this is a great place to stay. The whole interior and rooms are decorated really nicely using some of the best of Finnish design. The breakfast is good and the restaurant serves better Fiinsh style food than many other restaurants in Helsinki. And the bar is cosy and serves different domestic beers than the normal run of the mill stuff served everywhere else. At the price that we payed for our room then you will not get any better deal in this city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

It was a fantastic stay in the Helka Hotel runned by the YWCA of Finland.
It is very close to the center,
Room was very confortable , clean and warm

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We spent a couple of days in Helsinki with my significant other and spent a night in Helka. We really enjoyed our stay and wished we had had a chance to stay longer. The 6th floor room was quiet, clean, comfortable and cosy with little luxury of a private steam sauna. Stylish furniture, good space to move around, very comfortable and wider than usual bed (2 x 90cm beds instead of 80cm)! We barely left the room all night and it was really hard to say goodbye to the room before noon.

We dined lightly on a salmon soup and a Helka's burger and both were simple, very tasty dishes. The simplicity of the soup (just fish and potatoes) made an impression, absolutely wonderful dish on a cold, stormy December night. Excellent service in the restaurant this time!
My choosy companion was satisfied with the breakfast selection the next morning but there could have been more variety on gluten free breads/pastries. On the other hand, there were plenty of other things available!

The only thing I could really complain about was the fact that there was no room for your toiletries in the shower - the only choice was to place them on the floor. The whole bathroom seemed a bit outdated compared to the room itself, perhaps a little facelift is in order?

If you're arriving by car, note that the garage is really small and the ramp to it narrow! If you have a big car, park it to the street level spaces if any are available. Loved the fact there's a bookshelf in the lobby - though I didn't really spend time reading...

We will definitely return for both the hotel and the restaurant!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helka Hotel

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Helka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 metres from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Helkan Keittio Restaurant serves Finnish cuisine based on fresh, locally sourced ingredients such as fish, game, mushrooms and berries. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar, which also features a cigar room. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Helka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.