We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Helsinki Strand

Save Saved
You added Hilton Helsinki Strand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hilton.com
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Helsinki Strand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #13 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Midlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Stayed in the above hotel for 4 days. The hotel is very near to everything. with bus and tram stations just outside the entrance. There are few buses from the airport (4 Euro) that stop very near to the hotel. The tourist attractions are near too if you prefer to walk.
The breakfast is excellent with loads of options that will fill you up till your dinner.
Staff are very helpful and speak excellent English.
The hotel has an excellent spa and health club that I would highly recommend.
There is internet access but not free.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    273
    115
    22
    4
See reviews for
82
187
61
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucuresti
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Hilton Strand is very close to the City Center (5 min walk to Cathedral, max 10 minutes walk to the rail station).
From Vantaa Airport take bus 615 to Hakaniemi Market. It's a 20 min trip, and form the bus station you'll walk 100 meters to the hotel.
Hilton Strand has a very nice Bay view. The staff is very nice, very helpfull, and always with a smile for you.
The rooms are spacious, clean and the bed is very very confortable. On the hall there is an Automatic Ice Machine...perfect for a glass of wine in your room :)
The only minus was the pool. Small and with very cold watter. The fitness room is ok. You receive free sleepers and towels.

Across the street is a S Market with best prices in Helsinki (better than Lint or K Market).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

This hotel is Ok and although it is not in the city centre it is within yards of the train station and tram stops so you can be anywhere within the city within minutes.
The hotel reception and spa are lovely. However, the corridors and rooms are really in need of a refurb and therefore I was disappointed as I expected a much higher standard from the hilton chain.
The breakfast was good and cosnsisted of fruit, ham, cheese, salmon, bacon or sausage, beans, eggs, bread, jam, yoghurts and cakes.
We managed to get a good deal so we were happy with the hotel for the price. So as long as you get a good deal and go expecting a hotel more of the standard of a travel lodge you will not be too disappointed.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Stayed here again for 3 nights in October. Our first night was okay but we were disturbed by noise outside (very unusual) and I asked to be moved as it seemed to be noise from deliveries next door in the early morning .... strange as there are only offices next to the hotel. Whatever. They moved me immediately the next morning to my old favourite room 412. Once again, peace reigned!! I like this Hilton very much. Yes, it's a bit dated. But then, so am I. The staff are all very obliging and although it's a 15 minute walk to the centre there are trams nearby if you can't be bothered (7A/7B). We the restaurant downstairs 2 evenings (we were tired after a long day out as my husband was there on business etc) and the food is good. I can't fault this hotel, and I am VERY, VERY FUSSY!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

The hotel is ideally located on seafront, within easy walking distance of the city centre and all the major attractions of the city. It boasts a good restaurant, 24 hrs coffee shop, besides, plenty of restaurants around. Great place to live in luxxury availing some deals and exploring the beautiful city of Helsinki.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

We have stayed in a number of hotels in Helsinki over the years and were looking forward to trying the Hilton this time. When we got a very good rate of 89 euros on the Hilton website we were excited. As HH Diamond members, we were not upgraded but were told that we could use the lounge and were given vouchers for wifi (this changed on Sept. 1st and HH gold and diamond members now get free wifi). The room was nicely furnished and fairly big by Finnish hotel standards but could have used some upgrades and some painting.

The lounge was a different matter. It was VERY small, had a limited selection of food between 6-8 and didn't seem to have any food during the afternoon, xcept for some nuts and crisps. While we were there (3 evenings) the lounge was very crowded, including 6-8 loud guests, who seemed to know each other and monopolised what little space there was and then proceeded to talk over the tables to each other, drowning out the other guests. We asked the attendant if we could take our wine back to our room since there was no place to sit. A small point perhaps but this is a Hilton in a major city and we thought they would have a better lounge.

Our second issue was with the housekeeping staff. Coming in at 6 pm and finding the room still hasn't been cleaned was entirely unacceptable. My call to Housekeeping was equally unsatisfactory. Only when I called for the Manager did we get some action. In fairness, the manager did send a fruit basket to the room as an apology. But again we would expect more from a Hilton.... even if the hotel is full rooms that are already occupied should be cleaned before those that are vacated.

Some people have mentioned that the hotel is a little out of the centre of Helsinki. It depends on where you think the centre is! It is next to the market and only a10 min walk to Stockmann's, Esplanadi, Senate Square or the waterfront and the airport bus #615 stops within 100 metres of the hotel.

Would we stay here again? We are going to Helsinki in a few weeks time and are willing to give it a second chance. Despite the poor service experience, we felt that the manager saved the day and are hoping that the housekeeping situation has been remedied. We like the location and are hopeful that the lounge can be improved by at least upgrading the food offerings and eventually expanding the space.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Our room had a lovely view of the water and, although the hotel is in need of an upgrade the staff were really friendly and I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to couples and business people.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Helsinki Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Helsinki Strand

Also Known As:
Hilton Helsinki Strand Hotel
Hilton Helsinki Strand Hotel Helsinki
Hilton International Helsinki
Hilton Helsinki
Helsinki Hilton
Address: John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Helsinki Strand 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Helsinki Strand,a comfortable downtown hotel,is located by the sea, within walking distance of the city centre and the historic sights of Helsinki. The location is ideal for both business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Helsinki Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Helsinki Strand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.