We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Helsinki Strand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Helsinki Strand to your Saves list
Hilton Helsinki Strand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great in everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We just came back from our 2 day stay here. We originally booked a double guest Plus room - it was very nice and fairly large, but switched to a smaller room, but with a balcony. Much smaller, but boy, the balcony made a difference. Fresh air, drinks on the balcony at night with a great view, coffee in the morning, The rooms had minibar, but very expensive ( 6 euro for 500ml water bottle, 9 Euro for liquor). The hotel is in a very nice area, surrounded by sea water, but also a lake and park - excellent for leisure walks and biking - just from the hotel front door. Walking distance to the main Senate Square, fish market, ferry terminals. We walked with our backpack from the Ferry terminal in about 15 minutes, but would not be easy with wheel luggage - rough cobble streets and sidewalks everywhere.The hotel has very nice swimming pool and wonderful saunas. 1 sauna for ladies, 1 for gentlemen, but you can also book one of 2 private saunas. Everything very clean and plenty of clean towels. Swimming pool has access to open veranda with beautiful sea view, so do the saunas, I enjoyed that a lot, after sauna sitting to cool off on the veranda. We had breakfast each morning. Breakfast could be improved, I can not say the cook is good at all, eggs, bacon, sausages, potatoes and beans were the choices and nothing tasted good. But abundance of fruit, fresh vegetables, juices and smoked salmon made up for it. When back in Helsinki, we would definitely stay here again - mainly for the hotel quality and spa area. Front desk service excellent and helpful. The only thing - the carpets in the rooms could be maintained better and should have free in room wifi ( costs 10 Euro/day).

Room Tip: Room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not in most central location, about 10 min walk to the center of Helsinki. Most rooms have a nice sea view though.

Interior of the rooms seem a bit tired. Especially the wall to wall carpet could retire in my opinion. Decent WiFi service, but breakfast selection was rather dull. Overall ok hotel, but there are many better options in Helsinki to choose from.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mikaramram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Each time I am in Helsinki I return to this hotel. It was never disappointed. The hotel is situated by a quiet bay, and it is a relatively short walk to the downtown (or a quick tram ride). I especially enjoy the morning buffet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Lea K,

Thank you very much for your positive review!

Hope to see you again very soon! I will tell your greetings to the restaurant people!

Best regards,

Niina, Guest Service Agent, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Older style hotel, ten minute walk from the city centre overlooking the waterfront, rooms and hotel could do with a fresh look, Staff where wonderful, friendly, helpful and willing to answer questions about what to see.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosscoe68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

If you're a Honors member you get points. That is the only reason to stay here. I've been coming to Helsinki off and on for 10 years and don't think this place has been touched. I check once in while but I've crossed this one off my list. The Hilton at the Airport is much nicer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Matt J,

Thank you for sharing your comments here in TripAdvisor.

Thank you also for the loyalty to Hilton Hotels. I am sorry that our hotel, Hilton Helsinki Strand doesn't meet your expectations anymore. Regarding your comments to our facilities, I have already taken them to our management team and in to further concentration.

Best regards,

Niina, Guest Service Agent, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Even if it is called Hilton, very basic hotel. Located in a nice Helsinki area, but the hotel itself is old-furnished, with some smells. Be carefull - internet is charged 10 EUR per day. On apositive side, you have a small fitnness room, with nice view to the harbour. Sauna facilities are good, with a small outside terrase. Breakfast - not a big choise, lack of fruits and vegetables. Finally, don't expect to have real "Hilton" quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Diana C,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review.

I am sad that we couldn't fulfill your expectations here at Hilton Helsinki Strand. As you mentioned, the Internet charge is 10 euros per day but we have a free WiFi connection in the lobby and restaurant area and also computers for the customers in the Business Centre.
I am sorry that the breakfast was disappointing and we are looking into how this could be improved.

I am glad that you also had some pleasant experiences in our hotel at the gym and sauna area.

Best regards,

Niina, Guest Service Agent, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The location - central, next to an important transport hub (metro, tram, bus). The airport bus station is just next to the hotel. The rooms are big, full of light, very clean. The bathroom floor is in marble and heated. It is great value for the price paied

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank IrinaMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear IrinaMB,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel. It seems that you had a very pleasant stay and I am pleased to hear a comment this positive.
It was great to have you here and we will warmly welcome you to stay with us again.

Best regards,

Niina, Guest Service Agent, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Park Helsinki
#17 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Helsinki Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Helsinki Strand

Address: John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#25 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Helsinki Strand 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Helsinki Strand,a comfortable downtown hotel,is located by the sea, within walking distance of the city centre and the historic sights of Helsinki. The location is ideal for both business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Helsinki Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Helsinki Strand Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing