We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Helsinki Strand

Save Saved
You added Hilton Helsinki Strand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Helsinki Strand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A bit tired place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not in most central location, about 10 min walk to the center of Helsinki. Most rooms have a nice sea view though.

Interior of the rooms seem a bit tired. Especially the wall to wall carpet could retire in my opinion. Decent WiFi service, but breakfast selection was rather dull. Overall ok hotel, but there are many better options in Helsinki to choose from.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    311
    134
    28
    4
See reviews for
97
219
73
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Each time I am in Helsinki I return to this hotel. It was never disappointed. The hotel is situated by a quiet bay, and it is a relatively short walk to the downtown (or a quick tram ride). I especially enjoy the morning buffet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Lea K,

Thank you very much for your positive review!

Hope to see you again very soon! I will tell your greetings to the restaurant people!

Best regards,

Niina, Guest Service Agent, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Older style hotel, ten minute walk from the city centre overlooking the waterfront, rooms and hotel could do with a fresh look, Staff where wonderful, friendly, helpful and willing to answer questions about what to see.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

If you're a Honors member you get points. That is the only reason to stay here. I've been coming to Helsinki off and on for 10 years and don't think this place has been touched. I check once in while but I've crossed this one off my list. The Hilton at the Airport is much nicer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Matt J,

Thank you for sharing your comments here in TripAdvisor.

Thank you also for the loyalty to Hilton Hotels. I am sorry that our hotel, Hilton Helsinki Strand doesn't meet your expectations anymore. Regarding your comments to our facilities, I have already taken them to our management team and in to further concentration.

Best regards,

Niina, Guest Service Agent, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Even if it is called Hilton, very basic hotel. Located in a nice Helsinki area, but the hotel itself is old-furnished, with some smells. Be carefull - internet is charged 10 EUR per day. On apositive side, you have a small fitnness room, with nice view to the harbour. Sauna facilities are good, with a small outside terrase. Breakfast - not a big choise, lack of fruits and vegetables. Finally, don't expect to have real "Hilton" quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Diana C,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review.

I am sad that we couldn't fulfill your expectations here at Hilton Helsinki Strand. As you mentioned, the Internet charge is 10 euros per day but we have a free WiFi connection in the lobby and restaurant area and also computers for the customers in the Business Centre.
I am sorry that the breakfast was disappointing and we are looking into how this could be improved.

I am glad that you also had some pleasant experiences in our hotel at the gym and sauna area.

Best regards,

Niina, Guest Service Agent, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The location - central, next to an important transport hub (metro, tram, bus). The airport bus station is just next to the hotel. The rooms are big, full of light, very clean. The bathroom floor is in marble and heated. It is great value for the price paied

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear IrinaMB,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel. It seems that you had a very pleasant stay and I am pleased to hear a comment this positive.
It was great to have you here and we will warmly welcome you to stay with us again.

Best regards,

Niina, Guest Service Agent, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Location of the hotel is brilliant, but:
- the place has to be refurbished urgently: furniture is worn off, bathrooms are min 10 years old, electrical installation is not up to standard.
- cuisine in the restaurant is low average

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Supervisor at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear StillRunning14,

Thank you for sharing your comments here on TripAdvisor!

It was pleasant to read that you enjoyed our location by the Baltic Sea. Thank you also for the comments about our rooms and the restaurant. I am sorry to hear you were not entirely satisfied. We will take your comments for a further review.

I wish you a pleasant autumn time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,
Minna Kajasrinne, Guest Service Supervisor, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Helsinki Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Helsinki Strand

Address: John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Helsinki Strand 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Helsinki Strand,a comfortable downtown hotel,is located by the sea, within walking distance of the city centre and the historic sights of Helsinki. The location is ideal for both business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Helsinki Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Helsinki Strand Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Helsinki Strand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.