We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of an update.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Helsinki Strand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Helsinki Strand to your Saves list
Hilton Helsinki Strand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 25%
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“In need of an update.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

If you're a Honors member you get points. That is the only reason to stay here. I've been coming to Helsinki off and on for 10 years and don't think this place has been touched. I check once in while but I've crossed this one off my list. The Hilton at the Airport is much nicer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Matt J,

Thank you for sharing your comments here in TripAdvisor.

Thank you also for the loyalty to Hilton Hotels. I am sorry that our hotel, Hilton Helsinki Strand doesn't meet your expectations anymore. Regarding your comments to our facilities, I have already taken them to our management team and in to further concentration.

Best regards,

Niina, Guest Service Agent, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    357
    163
    34
    8
See reviews for
110
258
89
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Even if it is called Hilton, very basic hotel. Located in a nice Helsinki area, but the hotel itself is old-furnished, with some smells. Be carefull - internet is charged 10 EUR per day. On apositive side, you have a small fitnness room, with nice view to the harbour. Sauna facilities are good, with a small outside terrase. Breakfast - not a big choise, lack of fruits and vegetables. Finally, don't expect to have real "Hilton" quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Diana C,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review.

I am sad that we couldn't fulfill your expectations here at Hilton Helsinki Strand. As you mentioned, the Internet charge is 10 euros per day but we have a free WiFi connection in the lobby and restaurant area and also computers for the customers in the Business Centre.
I am sorry that the breakfast was disappointing and we are looking into how this could be improved.

I am glad that you also had some pleasant experiences in our hotel at the gym and sauna area.

Best regards,

Niina, Guest Service Agent, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The location - central, next to an important transport hub (metro, tram, bus). The airport bus station is just next to the hotel. The rooms are big, full of light, very clean. The bathroom floor is in marble and heated. It is great value for the price paied

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear IrinaMB,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel. It seems that you had a very pleasant stay and I am pleased to hear a comment this positive.
It was great to have you here and we will warmly welcome you to stay with us again.

Best regards,

Niina, Guest Service Agent, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Location of the hotel is brilliant, but:
- the place has to be refurbished urgently: furniture is worn off, bathrooms are min 10 years old, electrical installation is not up to standard.
- cuisine in the restaurant is low average

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Supervisor at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear StillRunning14,

Thank you for sharing your comments here on TripAdvisor!

It was pleasant to read that you enjoyed our location by the Baltic Sea. Thank you also for the comments about our rooms and the restaurant. I am sorry to hear you were not entirely satisfied. We will take your comments for a further review.

I wish you a pleasant autumn time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,
Minna Kajasrinne, Guest Service Supervisor, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Every hotel staff was very friendly and gave us a perfect service. I think this is the best hotel among hotels I experienced before!! I recommend you choose the sea view room which is excellent nice view.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I've stayed in lots of Hilton hotels but I think this one is the worst I've stayed in.
Don't get me wrong, it's a decent hotel, but I don't think it's up to Hilton standards.
The hotel is clean and tidy but it's dated.
The location is ok if you don't mind a walk, it's around a 20 minute walk to the town square but there's a large public transport depot 5 minutes walk away from the hotel.
The room was a good size but there was all kinds of creaks and groans from the pipes during the night which woke me up a few times.
The staff were mostly helpful but a couple were bordering on rude at times.
I think there are better hotels available in Helsinki for a similar price.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you do stay and like a drink.. It's worth paying extra for the exectutive lounge access as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Supervisor at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Bobby C,

Thank you for posting your comments here on TripAdvisor!

I was very sad to hear that you did not receive the kind of comfort and service expected in Hilton Hotels. Our staff members are trained to be respectful towards all our guests so I am really sorry if the service provided was not as good as it should. I will forward your comment to our Management. At the same time it was nice to read that you find your room to be tidy and good sized. Sorry for the noises from the pipes. That is really unfortunate.

Your feedback is very much appreciated especially as we are constantly striving to enhance our guest experience. I hope you have a pleasant summer time.

Best regards,
Minna Kajasrinne, Guest Service Supervisor, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giessen, Germany
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed for two nights, for business, in July 2013. This hotel has a great location, and it is easy to walk downtown and to the harbour. My room, and the executive lounge, had a great view of the "water" in the city. The rooms were a little dated, and slightly small, but nevertheless, comfortable.. The staff at check-in are courteous and effective, and helpful with local sights and transport options. There is a supermarket nearby. The central lobby and elevators are quite nice, and I enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Helsinki Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Helsinki Strand

Address: John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Helsinki Strand 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Helsinki Strand,a comfortable downtown hotel,is located by the sea, within walking distance of the city centre and the historic sights of Helsinki. The location is ideal for both business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Helsinki Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Helsinki Strand Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Helsinki Strand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.