We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbishment urgently needed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Helsinki Strand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Helsinki Strand to your Saves list
Hilton Helsinki Strand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #27 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Refurbishment urgently needed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Location of the hotel is brilliant, but:
- the place has to be refurbished urgently: furniture is worn off, bathrooms are min 10 years old, electrical installation is not up to standard.
- cuisine in the restaurant is low average

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Supervisor at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear StillRunning14,

Thank you for sharing your comments here on TripAdvisor!

It was pleasant to read that you enjoyed our location by the Baltic Sea. Thank you also for the comments about our rooms and the restaurant. I am sorry to hear you were not entirely satisfied. We will take your comments for a further review.

I wish you a pleasant autumn time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,
Minna Kajasrinne, Guest Service Supervisor, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    378
    175
    37
    10
See reviews for
116
270
94
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Every hotel staff was very friendly and gave us a perfect service. I think this is the best hotel among hotels I experienced before!! I recommend you choose the sea view room which is excellent nice view.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I've stayed in lots of Hilton hotels but I think this one is the worst I've stayed in.
Don't get me wrong, it's a decent hotel, but I don't think it's up to Hilton standards.
The hotel is clean and tidy but it's dated.
The location is ok if you don't mind a walk, it's around a 20 minute walk to the town square but there's a large public transport depot 5 minutes walk away from the hotel.
The room was a good size but there was all kinds of creaks and groans from the pipes during the night which woke me up a few times.
The staff were mostly helpful but a couple were bordering on rude at times.
I think there are better hotels available in Helsinki for a similar price.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you do stay and like a drink.. It's worth paying extra for the exectutive lounge access as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Supervisor at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Bobby C,

Thank you for posting your comments here on TripAdvisor!

I was very sad to hear that you did not receive the kind of comfort and service expected in Hilton Hotels. Our staff members are trained to be respectful towards all our guests so I am really sorry if the service provided was not as good as it should. I will forward your comment to our Management. At the same time it was nice to read that you find your room to be tidy and good sized. Sorry for the noises from the pipes. That is really unfortunate.

Your feedback is very much appreciated especially as we are constantly striving to enhance our guest experience. I hope you have a pleasant summer time.

Best regards,
Minna Kajasrinne, Guest Service Supervisor, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giessen, Germany
Level Contributor
122 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed for two nights, for business, in July 2013. This hotel has a great location, and it is easy to walk downtown and to the harbour. My room, and the executive lounge, had a great view of the "water" in the city. The rooms were a little dated, and slightly small, but nevertheless, comfortable.. The staff at check-in are courteous and effective, and helpful with local sights and transport options. There is a supermarket nearby. The central lobby and elevators are quite nice, and I enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

You get what you can expect from an Hilton hotel. Very nice location (market square is 50 meters from it and I had a fantastic room with sea view), new furniture, nice gym. Breakfast is good (even if not amazing).
Excellent for business event

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Hilton Helsinki Strand is located near Hakaniemi, which means it is close to the subway and also to many bus routes. It's also a walking distance from the city center. The hotel itself was nice and cosy, although a bit worn down in some places. However, the room that I stayed in, was relatively large and was overlooking the sea, which I enjoyed. The staff was young, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view to the sea from an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Good water veiw and within walking distance (15 minutes) to the centre of the city. The front desk staff were very friendly and quick.
The room was sufficiently big but most of the equipment i.e TV, radio etc were old and needed an updgrade.
There was no room wifi but wifi was free at the lobby. This is odd as most places in Hesinki have free wifi. It is almost everywhere in the city.
My overall experience was satisfactory and I would consider returning the next time I am in Helsinki.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 667 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
GLO Hotel Art
#14 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Helsinki Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Helsinki Strand

Address: John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#26 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Helsinki Strand 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Helsinki Strand,a comfortable downtown hotel,is located by the sea, within walking distance of the city centre and the historic sights of Helsinki. The location is ideal for both business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Helsinki Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Helsinki Strand Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Helsinki Strand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.