We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Awesome Beds!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Helsinki Strand

Save Saved
You added Hilton Helsinki Strand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Helsinki Strand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €89
Ranked #15 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, Awesome Beds!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Hotel is well-situated to take in the sights of Helsinki using Public Transportation. The nearby Hakaniemi junction is well-connected by Bus, Trams as well as the Metro to other parts of the City. And bus 615 takes one straight to this location from the Airport (and back, during the return trip!) and costs all of 5 Euros for this extremely convenient connection. And I just HAVE to mention the Beds: once you get into those Hotel Beds, they are comfortable enough to make you feel like staying in bed all day! Overall, highly recommended hotel to stay at, when in Helsinki.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    296
    129
    25
    4
See reviews for
89
205
68
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel is in an ideal spot in Helsinki, Finland. The hotel is run down, and the guest rooms just smell bad - old, old, dirty carpet and the upholstered chairs are stained. I had to wear socks the entire stay. The bathrooms were in general pretty clean, although the shower curtains smelled so moldy and musty it was almost more than I could stand to breathe. Would not recommend this hotel until they renovate it!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Supervisor at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Jennifer B,

Thank you for your valuable feedback here on TripAdvisor!

It is important to us that our guests feel comfortable in their rooms so I am really sad to hear that your room was not clean enough. Being an older hotel is not an excuse for the uncleanliness. I will forward your feedback to our Executive Housekeeper so our housekeeping staff can pay extra attention to these problems.

Despite your bad experience in the room I hope you enjoyed your stay in Helsinki and I hope you have a pleasant summer time!

Best regards,
Minna Kajasrinne, Guest Service Supervisor, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a 2 centre trip to the Baltic region (along with Tallinn). The hotel was a fairly good quality Hilton and as Diamond Club members we were duly upgraded to an Executive Room with Lounge access. The room was a bit dated (for example, a quite old CRT style TV, dark furniture mixed with some modern pieces). The bathroom was again a bit tired (shower curtains - really in 2014?) but adequate. Pillows were ridiculously soft and there appeared to be no choice to swap them as many better hotels seem to offer these days.

The location of the hotel is out from the main part of the City Centre but not too far from there to get into by foot or by the excellent public transport.

The hotel staff were friendly apart from one lady on the breakfast reception who was a bit brusque in dealing with us. The Spa facilities again were adequate but really the gym was tiny with minimal equipment, unmanned and therefore subject to passing visitors who were not equipped to use it (i.e. bare feet!) The swimming pool was small but freezing cold - good job I'd had a sauna and showered before getting in it. The men's sauna was good but only one shower in the changing room was a bit restrictive.

The breakfast was ok, nothing special compared to other Hilton's we have stayed at (e.g. Malta or Venice) and equally so the Executive Lounge, where although there were friendly staff, the room was soulless and not so large once again. The views were good from the lounge and the snacks were again, adequate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Supervisor at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Dokieboy,

We appreciate your loyalty as a HHonors member and the time you have taken to write a review of your stay here on TripAdvisor!

I am sorry to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. Being an adequate hotel is not our goal so thank you very much for your feedback. I will forward your comments to our management and together we will do our utmost to make the guest experience more pleasant.

I truly hope your visit to Helsinki was mostly nice and we do hope to welcome you back soon again!

Best regards,
Minna Kajasrinne, Guest Service Supervisor, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The hotel was just okay, nothing to write home about, but adequate.
Swimming pool was a glorified bird bath, and colder than one as well!! I am a swimmer, but I found the water temperature freezing.
Executive Lounge was soulless, and the room was fairly basic though had all one needed.
Breakfast was also adequate and the location of the hotel was pleasant, on the water front, where we watched the occupants of the sauna boat pushing each other into the freezing cold water - very entertaining, and we had drinks on the boat nearby which was a large barge moored up and turned into a bar.
The metro and trams were nearby to enable visitors to travel around the city
All in all not central enough (our choice) but was within striking distance of most things, and transport links were prompt and efficient and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We overlooked the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are ok, not very large but comfortable. Breakfast is nice with good food, restaurant for other meals could definitely do better and the service there too.
Location is out of the centre but it was a choice, too much noise when I stay in the city centre.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Supervisor at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear C4ROL1NE,

Thank you for your comments here on Tripadvisor!

I truly hope you enjoyed your stay with us despite that your experience in our restaurant could have been better. I will forward your comments to our Food & Beverage Manager for a review.
At the same time I was happy to read that you find our breakfast and the location to be good and the room quiet.

Thank you for staying with us and we do hope you will stay with us again!

Best regards,
Minna Kajasrinne, Guest Service Supervisor, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

A good standard business hotel close by the centre of Helsinki. It is well placed for visiting the city. The building itself is attractive with water views and a large glass atrium. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. It is possible to get reasonable deals if booked in advance. Our price didn't include breakfast, and I don't know how they feel justified in charging for WiFi. The staff are efficient but not particularly friendly or welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Supervisor at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Nick T,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay and for the feedback you gave us.

I am very pleased to hear that your stay was mostly pleasant and you were pleased with our location and facilities.

Thank you also for your comments about our staff members. I will forward your feedback also to our Hotel Manager and together we will do our best to keep the customer service level high.

We hope to welcome you back to Helsinki in the near future!

Best regards,
Minna Kajasrinne, Guest Service Supervisor, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Hilton Strand - Helsinki is what one would expect from an international Hilton property. The room was clean and roomy and the service was excellent. I particularly liked the location, right on the water and a 15 minute walk from the city center. The only demerit I would give is that it was a bit pricey compared to other hotels. Nevertheless, I would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Helsinki Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Helsinki Strand

Address: John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Helsinki Strand 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Helsinki Strand,a comfortable downtown hotel,is located by the sea, within walking distance of the city centre and the historic sights of Helsinki. The location is ideal for both business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Helsinki Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Helsinki Strand Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Helsinki Strand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.