We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always with a warm wellcome..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Helsinki Strand

Save Saved
You added Hilton Helsinki Strand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Helsinki Strand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €89
Ranked #15 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always with a warm wellcome..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Hotel is a little bit away from center ( but in a walking distance ) but they are always with a warm wellcome and helpfull staff. Rooms are good and clean. Nothing to complain about. If you select a room which looks to river and sea , you will have nice time in front of the window with your drink..

Room Tip: Rooms with sea and river view is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    291
    127
    25
    4
See reviews for
89
207
69
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on business, overall decor isn't what you would expect for a Hilton. 'Very' outdated, rooms, restaurant, basically overall look. Bed was a large single bed which was sufficient enough for me. Breakfast was good as there was a large selection of literally everything.

Overall was an ok stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Kyleb89,

Thank you for posting your comments here on TripAdvisor!

I am glad to hear that you find your bed to be comfortable and you enjoyed your breakfast. We do also acknowledge that our hotel is already 25 years old and I will forward your comments about the appearance to our management.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will be back another time!

Best regards,
Minna Kajasrinne, Guest Service Agent, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamosa, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed at in my many travels. Staff went out of their way to ensure I was comfortable. Food quality and bar services were excellent. Conference rooms and catering where as expected and much appreciated. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The Hilton Strand is not far from city centre (20 min walk or tram station just around the corner). I have been staying there one night. The service in the hotel was good, staff was attentive. The rooms were clean and had what you need for one night. If you like to stay in a hotel with a bit of a retro flair - this will be your choice. The bathrooms are from the 80s and much of the looks of the hotel is the same. If you like more modern style hotels, this wont be your choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear thoelke2,

Thank you for your valuable feedback here on Tripadvisor!

I am glad to hear than you found the hotel to cover your needs while in Helsinki. We do also acknowledge that the hotel is in need for refurbishment and I have forwarded your comments to our management.

Thank you for staying with us and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the future!

Best regards,
Minna Kajasrinne, Guest Service Agent, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I came back again in Helsinki, and I decided to stay in the center. I took an executive room. I was very happy
1 room are large,wifi works perfectly, the bed is very comfortable
2 the view on the sea is very nice
3 the executive lounge is comfortable, with good food and cheese ! And friendly staff
4 the fitness room, is nice despite it is little bit small.. But it is ok there are not lot of people
Overall a very good experience, located at less than 5 minutes of key shopping area

I will come back again with the family to discover helsinski
Congratulation to the manager !

Room Tip: 7 or 8 floor with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Balto,

Thank you for posting your great review here on Tripadvisor!

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. The location is indeed convenient, almost everything in the city center is within walking distance. Thank you also for your kind words about our rooms, Executive Lounge and staff members.

Warmly welcome back again next time!

Best regards,
Minna Kajasrinne, Guest Service Agent, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Had 5 great days with friends.The hotel is really nice,and an excellent location overlooking the Baltic.Quite close to the centre,about a 15 min walk to the harbour and markets,passing the Helsinki cathedral on the way.This is the second time we have been to Helsinki having passed through whilst on a cruise?Would have no hesitation in staying here again and recommending to others.The only downfall was the cost of food and drinks,but this is expected from a 4 star hotel with such standards.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent.We stayed on the sixth floor and our room overlooked the sea tributary
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear runcorngirl,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experiences!

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and find the location convenient for your needs.

Warmly welcome back again next time!

Best regards,
Minna Kajasrinne, Guest Service Agent, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Love, love, love this hotel! Reception and restaurant staff are outstanding, rooms are comfortable and although some are showing their age, they are still among the largest in Helsinki and have an old-fashioned elegance and housekeeping keeps them spotlessly clean, plus great views if you face the water. The hotel is easy to reach from the train station (10-15 min. walk or tram ride away) and from the airport (#615 bus to Hakaniemi) or Airport Yellow Taxi, if you have a lot of luggage).
The breakfast is excellent, in addition to the normal offering, cappuccino and cooked to order eggs are available on request. If you have lounge access, there is a good selection of food and drink in the evenings and nice cakes in the afternoon, plus breakfast in the morning.
We have just returned from 3 months in Finland and stayed at this hotel on 3 different occasions during that time, as we transitioned to/from our apartment. Each time, we were greeted by name as we came through the front door and we have come to feel that this is our second home. Nothing is too much trouble for the reception staff, whether it is storing your luggage through the week or helping you tape up packages to bring home! Thank you everyone (I dare not start mentioning names or I will leave someone out!) and see you all again in January.
As an added note, when we were there, the hotel was celebrating its 25th anniversary and had a nice display of old photographs throughout the years and hosted a lovely dinner for staff, many of whom had been there since it opened. This says a lot about the culture of the hotel and what a good place it must be to work, which is passed on to the guests.

Room Tip: Executive for lounge access or one facing the water, either side is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Katchapuri,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments here on TripAdvisor!

We are pleased to read your positive review about our hotel and specially appreciate your comments about our staff members.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoy staying with us time after time and that our hotel feels like a home away from home.

We warmly welcome you back again when next time in Helsinki!

Best regards,
Minna Kajasrinne, Guest Service Agent, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Helsinki Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Helsinki Strand

Address: John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Helsinki Strand 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Helsinki Strand,a comfortable downtown hotel,is located by the sea, within walking distance of the city centre and the historic sights of Helsinki. The location is ideal for both business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Helsinki Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Helsinki Strand Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Helsinki Strand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.