We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Helsinki Strand

Save Saved
You added Hilton Helsinki Strand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Helsinki Strand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €89
Ranked #16 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
cleveland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Holiday with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Had 5 great days with friends.The hotel is really nice,and an excellent location overlooking the Baltic.Quite close to the centre,about a 15 min walk to the harbour and markets,passing the Helsinki cathedral on the way.This is the second time we have been to Helsinki having passed through whilst on a cruise?Would have no hesitation in staying here again and recommending to others.The only downfall was the cost of food and drinks,but this is expected from a 4 star hotel with such standards.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent.We stayed on the sixth floor and our room overlooked the sea tributary
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear runcorngirl,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experiences!

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and find the location convenient for your needs.

Warmly welcome back again next time!

Best regards,
Minna Kajasrinne, Guest Service Agent, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    291
    128
    25
    4
See reviews for
85
201
67
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Love, love, love this hotel! Reception and restaurant staff are outstanding, rooms are comfortable and although some are showing their age, they are still among the largest in Helsinki and have an old-fashioned elegance and housekeeping keeps them spotlessly clean, plus great views if you face the water. The hotel is easy to reach from the train station (10-15 min. walk or tram ride away) and from the airport (#615 bus to Hakaniemi) or Airport Yellow Taxi, if you have a lot of luggage).
The breakfast is excellent, in addition to the normal offering, cappuccino and cooked to order eggs are available on request. If you have lounge access, there is a good selection of food and drink in the evenings and nice cakes in the afternoon, plus breakfast in the morning.
We have just returned from 3 months in Finland and stayed at this hotel on 3 different occasions during that time, as we transitioned to/from our apartment. Each time, we were greeted by name as we came through the front door and we have come to feel that this is our second home. Nothing is too much trouble for the reception staff, whether it is storing your luggage through the week or helping you tape up packages to bring home! Thank you everyone (I dare not start mentioning names or I will leave someone out!) and see you all again in January.
As an added note, when we were there, the hotel was celebrating its 25th anniversary and had a nice display of old photographs throughout the years and hosted a lovely dinner for staff, many of whom had been there since it opened. This says a lot about the culture of the hotel and what a good place it must be to work, which is passed on to the guests.

Room Tip: Executive for lounge access or one facing the water, either side is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Katchapuri,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments here on TripAdvisor!

We are pleased to read your positive review about our hotel and specially appreciate your comments about our staff members.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoy staying with us time after time and that our hotel feels like a home away from home.

We warmly welcome you back again when next time in Helsinki!

Best regards,
Minna Kajasrinne, Guest Service Agent, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Finland, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

At first I was hesitant to book this hotel, it had some worrying reviews, but I took a chance anyway...

I must admit im glad I did!

The hotel in a 8minute tram ride away from the central railway station.

The hotel looks like an office building from the outside, and for good reason, it is :)

Its right on the waterfront so the views are nice.

Check in was super fast, I was in my room in less then 5 minutes.

I had a room on the Executive floor, it was clean and efficient. The floor also had a lounge with refreshments.

There was also breakfast in the lounge in the morning too...

I did not get a chance to go to the pool or the breakfast buffet as I was in a hurry, but next time for sure!

The staff made a good impression only the night staff left a little sour impression but one out of 12 is not bad :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Tony834,

Thank you very much for your positive review!

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! The location really is convenient, near to the city centre but still quiet. I am glad the staff made your stay comfortable and that you were able to enjoy our services in the Executive Lounge.

We appreciate that you chose our hotel for your stay while in Helsinki and do hope you will stay with us soon again!

Best regards,
Minna Kajasrinne, Guest Service Agent, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We expected a typical Hilton but was better than expected
Good value on a quiet block; you can walk or take tram to center of town in minutes
Great breakfast buffet; very pleasant helpful front desk staff; rooms were large with comfy beds and good shower; pleasant view of harbor; nice sauna and gym upstairs; you can workout looking over the water; good for families too

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear AAvidan,

Thank you for your lovely comments here on Tripadvisor!

On behalf of the hotel I would like to thank for your positive feedback, it is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed staying with us.

I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again in the near future!

Best regards,
Minna Kajasrinne, Guest Service Agent, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here. Our room wifi wasn't working so we were quickly swapped to another room with a good waterfront view. Our pillows are only small squares which we found very uncomfortable on the first night, but "standard" rectangular ones were provided on request for the second and we slept more soundly. The breakfast buffet was of a good standard with freshly cooked eggs also available on request. The staff were very helpful, for example making a booking for us in a popular restaurant for that night which turned out to have been very worth while as folks were queuing for a table all evening. Small but nice pool on the 8th floor - cool and refreshing - had it all to ourselves.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonStrand, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear MDB-Bham,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay!

I am truly glad to hear that you find your stay to be mainly good and that our staff have been helpful when needed. Thank you also for the positive comments about our breakfast.

Warmly welcome back again next time!

Best regards,

Minna Kajasrinne, Guest Service Agent, Hilton Helsinki Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very large rooms with loads of space and very comfortable,this is very much a business hotel. Just outside the city centre and with tram an bus stops in the market square, just around the corner from the hotel. it is possible to get into the city centre in minutes. It is also easy to get to the airport by bus 615 that costs 4.50euros and takes about 35 minutes.
If you want to go sightseeing there are a couple of options: the number 3 will take you around all of the main sights and it is much less expensive than going on an organised trip. The tour costs 29 euros but only stops twice,whereas on the number 3route you can get on and off and re-use your ticket within an hour of purchasing it. Bus ticket prices are very good 2 euros 80. In the Summer there is a "hop on hop off" sightseeing tour that may be a better option but this stops at the end of September.
Going back to the hotel the staff are very friendly and helpful and they all speak excellent English.
The breakfast is excellent and is served buffet style. There is also a small swimming pool but it was quite cold ans a sauna on the 8th floor.
This was a very comfortable hotel and I would really recommend it not just for the business traveller but also for families and people travelling on their own

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Exellent hotel in thie middle of Helsinki rooms , service, was exellent as well as breakfast , even if it was in the center of the city it was quiet. this can be recommended for business trip as well as holiday

Room Tip: Nice rooms , in the middle of Helsinki short way to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Helsinki Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Helsinki Strand

Address: John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Helsinki Strand 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Helsinki Strand,a comfortable downtown hotel,is located by the sea, within walking distance of the city centre and the historic sights of Helsinki. The location is ideal for both business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Helsinki Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Helsinki Strand Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Helsinki Strand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.