We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard stuff - worth the recent awards? Don't think so.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Helsinki Strand

Save Saved
You added Hilton Helsinki Strand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Helsinki Strand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Munich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Standard stuff - worth the recent awards? Don't think so.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

There's nothing exceptional about this hotel. I'm not quite sure how it has received all these awards this year? It is in a good location, not too far away from the Helsinki city centre (walking distance, or quick tram/bus/subway ride), and it is quiet at nights. The rooms are ok, but showing the age. Carpets are worn out and bit stained, as are the walls and furniture. The hotel would certainly benefit from refurbishment. Lounge is an exception to the rest of the hotel, its decor is modernised.

What comes to the staff, the front desk has friendly and helpful people working there. However, the same cannot be said about the waiting staff at the restaurant. The restaurant front desk girl (when there was one) was generally friendly, but the rest of the waiting staff had often lost their smiles and a bit of the service attitude, were forgetful and sometimes it felt as if they were simply avoiding customers' eye-contact. For example, ordering a cappucino/latte/espresso in the morning was dealt as if it was a difficult job - to go and press the button on the espresso machine at the bar... Also, what comes to the breakfast items, freshness and quality could get a bit more attention here. No favours done to some of the so called Finnish delicacies like cold smoked salmon or Karelian pies. (If you want to have a lovely breakfast, go out to some nice cafe in the city.)

In a nutshell, this hotel is fine, if you are looking for a quiet place to sleep at night. Not a place for weekend getaway, treat or special occasion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    311
    134
    28
    4
See reviews for
97
220
73
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We enjoyed everything about our 5 night stay. We were at the tail end of 5 weeks in Europe and the Hilton was a wonderful home from home. The room was welcoming, comfortable, clean, warm and spacious. The colours were wonderfully restful and we had views of the sea. The toiletries were excellent as was the underfloor heating! We cannot thank the staff enough for making our stay memorable particularly as we had booked the wrong dates and landed in their lobby effectively without a booking. Without fuss and without adding to our embarrassment, they managed to book us in for the nights we needed, gave us a great room and exceptional service during our stay. The staff have just the right balance of professionalism and helpfulness. I would like to have had internet in the room to Skype our grandson on the other side of the world but at the price we paid for our stay it wasn't a great issue.
Breakfast was plentiful with a good range of food options and dinner at the Bridges was so lovely we went back a second night just for the gnocchi!
Thank you Pia, Mariana, Jasmine and Anu for your recommendations and care. Anu you were particularly good at making us feel welcome in your lovely country.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Large rooms with great sea view. Hotel in need of some updating. The reception staff were really friendly and helpful. Own garage. Free wifi available only in lobby. In rooms WiFi extra charge 10 e/day. Overall a lovely stay, but I would say the hotel was more a 3* rating

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The front desk staff was great. After checking in, we had an issue with our room. The front desk was notified and they could not rectify the problem, so they quickly moved us to another room. The hotel is in a nice location within a three minute walk to the subway and about a fifteen minute walk to the harbor. It is an older hotel, but it was well maintained and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessen
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in a very good location for sightseeing. Walking distance to the main square and harbour and a tram-station just a few meters from the door. Overall a decent Hilton Hotel with very good Service, friendly staff and a good breakfast buffet. Interior and entrance hall are slightly dated but ok. We would definitely come back!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel has a very nice and convenient location; in the city center of Helsinki and just by the sea. The hotel takes you back to the 1990's; the rooms, colors, furniture, the gym and so on feel 15 years old... It's all clean, but the hotel is in need of a modernization. Service and breakfast is average, but the executive lounge has a surprisingly good buffet!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights on a family holiday and found it to have a great location, friendly staff and good facilities. There are tram, bus and metro stops less than 2 mins away, as well as various restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Helsinki Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Helsinki Strand

Address: John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Helsinki Strand 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Helsinki Strand,a comfortable downtown hotel,is located by the sea, within walking distance of the city centre and the historic sights of Helsinki. The location is ideal for both business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Helsinki Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Helsinki Strand Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Helsinki Strand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.