We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat away from the centre of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Helsinki Strand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Helsinki Strand to your Saves list
Hilton Helsinki Strand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 25%
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
UK
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Somewhat away from the centre of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

However I'd you get a room with a canal view it's worth the short walk or tram ride into town. The hotel is somewhat ageing, but the rooms are fine. The staff at the front desk were great, helping With the intermittent free wifi and restaurant suggestions. The breakfasts set you up for the day. There is pool, but v small. If you are a tourist, worth getting the day travel card and taking the number 3 tram on a circular route.

Room Tip: Front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your for taking the time to post your comments!

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the stay and the views from the room. And it was very rewarding to hear that our staff has made a positive difference to your stay!

We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your stay and hope you will be back again soon!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    359
    163
    34
    8
See reviews for
110
258
89
254
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This is not my first time staying at Hilton Strand. The hotel really needs upgrading. The room was clean but on the whole quite old and had a musky smell. Despite
indicating in my previous reviews that the hotel really needed to offer free wifi, nothing much has been done.

This time around I felt compelled to write a review and praise the front desk for their super service for business visitors. I needed urgent documents to be printed and hotel did it for me free of charge and very efficiently. Also I was rushing off for meetings and has no time for breakfast. I was helpfully offered a free coffee and a muffin from the buffet when I asked to take away a quick toast.
Hotel may not be great but service may be what encourages people to return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments about your stay!

We are very happy indeed to hear that the level of service was of a high standard during your trip! Great to hear that our members of staff were able to help and make your stay more convenient. Thank you also for your comments about the internet, we appreciate this feedback and do take it seriously. It is however, at this time still the policy of the company which we adher to, and we hope that the free internet in the public areas, the meeting rooms and Executive rooms and Suites offer some beneft to you.

We appreciate your stay and do hope you will be back again soon!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanne-Eickel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The best thing about the hotel is its location. Close to Hakaniemi square the city center is in walking distance and the hotel has a direct bus connection to the airport. The building is from around the 70s and has in some parts detoriated by now.
If you don't look at the price the hotel offers reasonable quality: The rooms are rather spacious and mostly clean, the breakfast offers above average (for Finland!) selection and quality and they offer a sauna (expected in Finland), pool and gym.
If you do care for the price things are not what you expect: The air-condition is noisy, the bathroom is old-fashioned, the hairdryer is a joke. At 190€ per night you would expect free WLAN (10€ per day, the free lobby internet unaccessible). The breakfast doesn't meet continental standards, the minibar is small. The pool is only 10x3 m. You can also signs of the age of the hotel everywhere.
If you really want to stick to the Hilton you'd better choose the Hilton at the airport

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your stay with us!

I was sorry to hear you felt it was not worth the rate you paid. The building is from the mid-80s and even though there are certain structural elements which we cannot change over a short period of time, we do work hard on keeping everything that we can influence to a high standard. We appreciate your thoughts on breakfast, the room and the internet and I can assure you that your comments will be reviewed.

Thank you for staying with us and we do hope we will have a chance to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I've started to judge my hotel stays based on self-invented Hair-test and Lipstick-test because they pretty much tell me about the cleanliness of the hotel which again means comfortability for me.

This hotel passed the Hair-test which simply means I did not see (any kind of foreign) hair between the bed sheets nor in the bathroom. Nothing puts me off more than other people's hair in the room. Points to Hilton Strand for keeping the sheets hairless and cleaning the bathroom without leaving odd hairs behind.

The Lipstick-test tells about the cleanliness of the glasses and eating utensil in the restaurants and in the room (if applicable). Unfortunately Hilton Strand failed this test. First thing I noticed when I sat at the breakfast table was an empty glass with remains of pink lipstick and when i reached for another glass, it had remains of dried orange juice. Unfortunately I didn't have time to change my glass before a waitress already came and grabbed the glass and poured some juice for me. (She did apologise for the lipstick marks but didn't see the stains in the other one.)
Sorry, but I am very picky on these things!

The hotel is perfectly located, walking distance from the city centre and easy access to buses, trams and subway (metro).
The Hakaniemi market square is just across the street and I actually walked there in the morning for another coffee after hotel breakfast. It was perfect in a warm summer morning (and mind me, the coffee was served in a paper cup, no lipstick marks!)

I do admit I expected more from a HIlton hotel but I still ended up giving 4 points overall to my stay because of the great location and very friendly service at the front desk. I was especially thankful that they found me a room at 8 AM when I arrived at the hotel after 12 hrs flight.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback here on TripAdvisor!

We very much appreciate the high score we received despite there being certain issues during your stay. Cleanliness is of utmost importance for us, whether it is in the room or any of the public areas or the restaurant. We are of course happy that the room was in the shape it should be but I would like to apologise for the below standard situation with the glasses at breakfast. Your comments have been forwarded to the food and beverage department to ensure that the tableware is checked more thoroughly.

We appreciate your stay with us and we do hope you will consider our hotel for future visits as well!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here just for one night in May, and the hotel offered all I wanted. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, and so was the bed. View to the bay was nice. Tram, bus and metro stop is near, including the airport bus 615 stop. Nice garden in Kaisaniemi just over the bridge. The staff was friendly and efficient. Newspapers were free to all customers -very pleasant, as we had a long journey to go by train.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments!

We are so glad to hear your stay met your expectations and that everything went well! The location is indeed great, we do have fairly large rooms according to European standards and our beds are also quite new. We also highly appreciate your kinds words about our staff as it is after all the people who make you feel welcome.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope your travels will bring you back to our hotel again!

Yours sincerely,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCUNTHORPE, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

A very nice quiet hotel with a tram stop and supermarket close by, it also has a 12.00 check out which is better than many hotels and which i found very usefull as my plane home was not until 14.00. I also used the 3 day Helsinki pass for free entry to the city museums, city tour and tram rides which saved money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay in Helsinki and at our hotel!

Great to hear you had a good time in Helsinki and that the location of the hotel and the check out time was convenient for you. Thank you also for the useful tips about the city pass, this will be very useful for other travellers, I'm sure.

We appreciate that you chose our hotel and we hope you will be back another time!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KUWAIT
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel has a nice location but its a good 15-20 minute walk from the downtown area. It was built towards the end of the 80's and it shows. No re-modelling has been done so U do get the 80s feel.showing a bit of age.
I had a large room with sea view which was beautiful. for who dosent like the European style hotels this is the one large room !
The hotel is super clean and the staff lovely. The breakfast buffet was excellent as well as snacks and hors d'oeuvres served in the executive room in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting comments about your stay with us!

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the room and that the food was up to your expectations. We are especially pleased with your comments about the staff, they are after all a curcial part of making your stay successful.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope we will have the chance to welcome you back again!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Helsinki Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Helsinki Strand

Address: John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Helsinki Strand 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Helsinki Strand,a comfortable downtown hotel,is located by the sea, within walking distance of the city centre and the historic sights of Helsinki. The location is ideal for both business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Helsinki Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Helsinki Strand Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Helsinki Strand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.