We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, good location, great views, tasty food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Helsinki Strand

Save Saved
You added Hilton Helsinki Strand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Helsinki Strand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 33%
Ranked #16 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
St Albans
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, good location, great views, tasty food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Hilton Strand is in excellent location, not far to walk to Helsinki centre. The staff were friendly and helpful. The views from the Exec lounge (and room) across the water were very pleasant (especially when the sun came out). The breakfast and evening snacks in the Exec lounge were excellent, especially the fish!
The room was very comfortable and spacious bathroom as you'd expect for a Hilton room.

Only slight negatives, the TV was a bit old and stuck up on a shelf. Hopefully plasma TVs will be introduced soon. And there was a charge for Wifi access which for Exec floor should be waived.

Otherwise excellent and I'd definitely return to this hotel for a future visit.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking water are worth obtaining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review here on TripAdvisor!

We are happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that you enjoyed the services we offer.
We appreciate your comments about the breakfast and the selection in the Executive Lounge.

Thank you also for your comments about the TV. These are a few years old at this time so currently there are not plans to renew them.

Thank you for staying with is and we hope you will be back for another visit soon!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    304
    133
    27
    4
See reviews for
94
217
71
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel is centrally located and very modern. The staff is friendly and professional. I had reservations about staying here as I have had issues with other Hiltons in the past; however this hotel exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

We are very glad you chose our hotel to stay in despite reservations you might have had. Great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope you will be back another time!

Thank you for chosing our hotel and welcome back!

Best regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambrdgeshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I visit Helsinki very regularly and have stayed in a number of hotels in the city and Vantaa area but we always enjoy coming back to the Hilton Helsinki Strand. I’ve only just realised that I hadn’t shared a review of this hotel and, after our stay this weekend, wanted to remedy this omission.
We’ve stayed around 4 times. It’s got a great location, although some may find it out of the main centre, we quite like that since the harbour, centre and many of the other areas are easily walkable in around 15-20 mins (and in all weathers!). The hotel is located near the market square which is a hub for both metro and bus and, unlike in the UK, they all runs on time as the city public transport system is simply wonderful with a single ticket covering buses, metro and trains so, if you don’t want to walk, you don’t have to.

The hotel is relaxed has lots of open areas (inc free wifi in the lobby or a pay per day service in the room) typical Hilton sized and equipped rooms (if you want a harbour view at the front you will have to ask for it) which are maintained.

The multi-lingual staff are particularly helpful and this is why I’m writing this overdue review. We booked a family meal in the hotel restaurant on Saturday night and were looking forward to it very much as our Finnish grandson would be joining us. Unfortunately, he was not in the best of moods and wanted everyone to know it. The staff were very flexible whilst we tried to settle him and even brought out toys and other distractions to help (at this point I must apologise to the other diners in the restaurant that night...sorry). If I’ve got the names wrong I’m sorry but I must mention the manager Annulka(?) and two her waitresses who were really attentive and good humoured.

As for the meal, whilst I fancied the a la carte, sitting still for several courses would not have suited the situation so we all went for the buffet, which I must say was delicious, washed down with a bottle of wine.

Overall as a destination, I’d certainly recommend Helsinki, it’s got a cool city vibe (no pun intended). As for somewhere to stay, definitely recommend the Hilton Strand.

Looking forward to our next trip.
De Maccas

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us!

Very nice indeed to hear that your stays in general have been enjoyable and that you feel you want to come back! Thank you also for your informative review which I am sure will be helpful to others interested in what's in and around the hotel.

It is of course especially great to hear your feedback about our staff and your special mention has been forwarded to the manager.

Thank you for staying with us and we would of course be thrilled to have you and your family with us again!

Kind regards,

Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Puglia, Italy
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Typical business hotel in a quiet location, close to the river and to the city center (walking distance). The bedrooms are wide, modern and comfortable, with large beds and bathroom, ample choice of food for breakfast (the salmon is superb, the coffee ... much less!) and very attentive staff. Access to the floors is through panoramic elevators and there is also a small swimming pool and a Spa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your stay with us!

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that the room was to your satisfaction. Thank you also for your comments about the breakfast and our staff, in order to keep up good eleves of service it is very kmotivating to hear.

We appreciate your stay with us and hope you will be back for another visit!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

It was freezing in Helsinki but the hotel was nice. The kids loved the glass elevators. The pool was a little cold for us Aussies. It's close to a supermarket and some good restaurants. The market is within walking distance as well. We arrived very early 7:30am after a 18 hour flight and were shown straight to our room without extra charge. This was so appreciated. I recommend this hotel it also had lovely view and free wifi in lobby

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor!

We are very glad indeed that you enjoyed our hotel and the surroundings. After such a long flight I can appreciate how a speedy check in is of great importance and I am happy we were able to provide that for you.

Thank you for staying with and for your recommendation, we hope you will stay with us again if your travels will bring you back to Helsinki!

Yours sincerely,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

An older hotel, but extremely well kept -- slightly away from the immediate city center but within walking distance (or easy tram ride). Cannot beat the service -- absolutely fabulous staff! The executive lounge is beautiful and the snacks are above average. I enjoyed a quiet sauna and morning swim in the pool on the 8th floor -- didn't get a chance to try the gym, but it looked very well equipped. If you're looking for a large metropolitan hotel, don't go here -- but if you are looking for a peaceful, good quality, friendly and professional environment to conduct business or to stay otherwise, then this is the place.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Executive level rooms, overlooking the Baltic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay with us!

What a pleasure to hear your stay with us was such a good one. We are especially pleased to hear your comments about the staff and we are of course glad that you enjoyed the Executive Lounge as well.

Thank you for having chosen our hotel, we enjoyed having you with us and hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel started in the eighties as Strand Intercontinental and it was the top venue in the city. They appear to have won the best restaurant of Helsinki title in 1993.

Years have passed by, which can be seen in many small details in the rooms. They still are perfectly adequate, but could benefit from some refurbishing. We had the 8th floor Eliel Saarinen suite booked and the nicely styled furniture were quite worn out, similarly to the carpets and curtains. The advantage was to have a large balcony and an own sauna. Rest of the rooms do not have such an appendage.

Hotel is easy to reach from Helsinki-Vantaa airport using bus 615 stopping at Hakaniemi. The cost is € 4.50 compared to €45 for a taxi ride and both of them take 30 to 40 minutes. Only a short 100 meter walk from the bus stop. From hotel to center of Helsinki it is about 1 km walk. One can also take a metro or tram ride there and back easily.

Reception is quite small and there is no separate executive reception. Efficient and friendly, however. The restaurant occupies most of the downstairs lobby. The prices in the restaurant are steepish compared to general level in Helsinki. Wine bottle costs €40 to 60...

Executive lounge appeared never congested and it had a happy hour with ample selection of drinks from 6 PM on. Finger buffet was not as ample, so the dinner had to be had downstairs. Did not sample the EL breakfast, but downstairs it was a basic Hilton breakfast buffet with non-overwhelming selection.

All in all, this is the second best Hilton in Helsinki, with best location but Airport Hilton scores the rest, in my opinion. Service-wise, friendly but somewhat distant atmosphere. Dealing with Finnish customers, would not need always be top notch formal, in my opinion =)

A hint: Slightly better Diamond-guest recognition would not hurt. This time it was almost nonexistent. Only the free breakfast and free internet were there. And those, most likely, would have come about also without Diamond card, along with the suite reservation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us!

Glad to hear that your stay with us was succesful for the most part. We are always aiming to imporve so we are also grateful for your comments with regards to the Executive Lounge, breakfast and HHonors recognition. As a Dimaond member you are fo course a valued guest and we always wish that you will have an enjoyable stay!

We do hope you stay was succesful enough for you to visit us again when you are next in Helsinki!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Helsinki Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Helsinki Strand

Address: John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Helsinki Strand 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Helsinki Strand,a comfortable downtown hotel,is located by the sea, within walking distance of the city centre and the historic sights of Helsinki. The location is ideal for both business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Helsinki Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Helsinki Strand Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Helsinki Strand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.