We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Helsinki Strand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Helsinki Strand to your Saves list
Hilton Helsinki Strand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Bari, Puglia, Italy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Typical business hotel in a quiet location, close to the river and to the city center (walking distance). The bedrooms are wide, modern and comfortable, with large beds and bathroom, ample choice of food for breakfast (the salmon is superb, the coffee ... much less!) and very attentive staff. Access to the floors is through panoramic elevators and there is also a small swimming pool and a Spa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your stay with us!

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that the room was to your satisfaction. Thank you also for your comments about the breakfast and our staff, in order to keep up good eleves of service it is very kmotivating to hear.

We appreciate your stay with us and hope you will be back for another visit!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    340
    152
    29
    6
See reviews for
107
246
85
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

It was freezing in Helsinki but the hotel was nice. The kids loved the glass elevators. The pool was a little cold for us Aussies. It's close to a supermarket and some good restaurants. The market is within walking distance as well. We arrived very early 7:30am after a 18 hour flight and were shown straight to our room without extra charge. This was so appreciated. I recommend this hotel it also had lovely view and free wifi in lobby

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor!

We are very glad indeed that you enjoyed our hotel and the surroundings. After such a long flight I can appreciate how a speedy check in is of great importance and I am happy we were able to provide that for you.

Thank you for staying with and for your recommendation, we hope you will stay with us again if your travels will bring you back to Helsinki!

Yours sincerely,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

An older hotel, but extremely well kept -- slightly away from the immediate city center but within walking distance (or easy tram ride). Cannot beat the service -- absolutely fabulous staff! The executive lounge is beautiful and the snacks are above average. I enjoyed a quiet sauna and morning swim in the pool on the 8th floor -- didn't get a chance to try the gym, but it looked very well equipped. If you're looking for a large metropolitan hotel, don't go here -- but if you are looking for a peaceful, good quality, friendly and professional environment to conduct business or to stay otherwise, then this is the place.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Executive level rooms, overlooking the Baltic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay with us!

What a pleasure to hear your stay with us was such a good one. We are especially pleased to hear your comments about the staff and we are of course glad that you enjoyed the Executive Lounge as well.

Thank you for having chosen our hotel, we enjoyed having you with us and hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel started in the eighties as Strand Intercontinental and it was the top venue in the city. They appear to have won the best restaurant of Helsinki title in 1993.

Years have passed by, which can be seen in many small details in the rooms. They still are perfectly adequate, but could benefit from some refurbishing. We had the 8th floor Eliel Saarinen suite booked and the nicely styled furniture were quite worn out, similarly to the carpets and curtains. The advantage was to have a large balcony and an own sauna. Rest of the rooms do not have such an appendage.

Hotel is easy to reach from Helsinki-Vantaa airport using bus 615 stopping at Hakaniemi. The cost is € 4.50 compared to €45 for a taxi ride and both of them take 30 to 40 minutes. Only a short 100 meter walk from the bus stop. From hotel to center of Helsinki it is about 1 km walk. One can also take a metro or tram ride there and back easily.

Reception is quite small and there is no separate executive reception. Efficient and friendly, however. The restaurant occupies most of the downstairs lobby. The prices in the restaurant are steepish compared to general level in Helsinki. Wine bottle costs €40 to 60...

Executive lounge appeared never congested and it had a happy hour with ample selection of drinks from 6 PM on. Finger buffet was not as ample, so the dinner had to be had downstairs. Did not sample the EL breakfast, but downstairs it was a basic Hilton breakfast buffet with non-overwhelming selection.

All in all, this is the second best Hilton in Helsinki, with best location but Airport Hilton scores the rest, in my opinion. Service-wise, friendly but somewhat distant atmosphere. Dealing with Finnish customers, would not need always be top notch formal, in my opinion =)

A hint: Slightly better Diamond-guest recognition would not hurt. This time it was almost nonexistent. Only the free breakfast and free internet were there. And those, most likely, would have come about also without Diamond card, along with the suite reservation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us!

Glad to hear that your stay with us was succesful for the most part. We are always aiming to imporve so we are also grateful for your comments with regards to the Executive Lounge, breakfast and HHonors recognition. As a Dimaond member you are fo course a valued guest and we always wish that you will have an enjoyable stay!

We do hope you stay was succesful enough for you to visit us again when you are next in Helsinki!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We enjoyed a 4 night stay in this Hilton hotel. Beautiful, clean and comfortable. I can only speak about our experience with having booked an executive room. It is well worth paying the extra for the evening snacks and drinks and breakfast. The sauna was wonderful as would have the pool but was unfortunately under maintenance. Well located. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback!

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room to be well appointed. Great that you had time to make use of the Executive Lounge and our sauna, next time the swimming pool will certainly be available for your use as well.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will be back soon!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great Hotel.
Receptionist very helpful and pleasant - showed us many things to do in Helsinki. Rooms spacious and clean. Pool & Sauna were nice. Great location and great city to visit did not try the restaurant but it looked nice.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about your stay!

We are very happy to hear everything went well and that you enjoyed staying with us. We appreciate your comments about the room and pool and sauna department, thank you also for your great feedback about our staff.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will be back soon to try out our restaurant as well!

Yours sincerely.

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Hotel is nice, Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great as always it is at Hilton hotels.
The room is very clean, comfortable and we had a nice view of the river.
the location is good, about 10 minutes walk from centre and train station. I didn't get to try swimming pool and sauna but looked good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

We are very pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us and found the hotel to be conveniently located. Thank you also for your kind words about our staff.

Thank you for your stay and hopefully next time you will have the opportunity to try the sauna and swimming pool!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Helsinki Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Helsinki Strand

Address: John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Helsinki Strand 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Helsinki Strand,a comfortable downtown hotel,is located by the sea, within walking distance of the city centre and the historic sights of Helsinki. The location is ideal for both business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Helsinki Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Helsinki Strand Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Helsinki Strand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.