We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courteous Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Helsinki Strand

Save Saved
You added Hilton Helsinki Strand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Helsinki Strand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €89
Ranked #16 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Manila
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Courteous Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Arrived Helsinki by train from St. Petersburg. First impression of the hotel was it felt like a boutique hotel. Old but well maintained and clean. I accidentally press the movie button without watching any movies ( we were on tour and our sked was pretty hectic). Asked front desk if charges can be waived. The front desk was very polite, called my room to inform me that she will waived the charges. I forgot to asked her name but Thank you so much.
Breakfast was very basic. As we were traveling thru russia and scandinavia staying at different hotels. I can say this hotel served very basic breakfast which all added up to a feel of a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments!

We are pleased to hear that you had a successful stay with us and that our members of staff made ts more enjoyable for you. This is the best encouragement to keep up the good work. Thank you also for your comments about your general impressions about the hotel and also the breakfast, we take the comments from our guests very seriously as this is the best way for us to be able to improve our services.

Thank you for your stay with us and we hope you will come back again another time!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    290
    128
    25
    4
See reviews for
85
201
67
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Had a business stay at Hilton Strand and was staying there for 1 night. Stayed there at the Executive Floor, room facing inside the yard, which was clean and quite large. The bed was really comfy. Visited the lounge, was small and had a few options in terms of snacks and drinks. the coffeemachine was awfull, better drink instant coffee or go downstair to the restaurant. The breakfast was ok, but again on the smaller side of options. However, the hotel was nice centrally placed for my needs and quiet and nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Inevitable question arose during this stay - is this a Hilton hotel? Really? Are they not intrested in any level about the Hilton hotel chain standard..? The staff was friendly and room was clean - not to mention the sea view! But I'm afraid that's about it for the positive side.

This hotel is worn out, it's in desperate need of an overall update. Someone wrote in their review "welcome to the 80's" - in my opinion that describes this property well. Clean and friendly but shabby. The "golden days" probably were during the 80's.

Nevertheless we kept our hopes up until breakfast - a good brekkie can save a lot :) This time it didn't do the trick. Extremely basic breakfast, no extras - not even pancakes! What a shame.. and it really doesn't require much effort to make an impression in this area.

All in all - stunning sea view and good location (especially during summer) but doesn't meet the Hilton standard one would expect.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments here on TripAdvisor!

We are sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are currently looking forward to the end of the year when the hotel will undergo extensive renovations to bring it up to modern standards. As for the breakfast, we do in fact offer cook to order items, I am sorry to hear you were not made aware of this option. We would like to thank you for your positive comments about our staff and hope that this has made up for some of the disappointments you experienced while staying with us.

Thank you for staying with us and we do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012 via mobile

The hotel isn't very cozy, but the room was good, clean and the loation excellent. Worked really well for exploring the city a weekend.

Stayed February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback!

We are glad you found the location convenient and as for the rooms, they will be undergoing extensive renovations at the end of the year. We hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again then, if not sooner, to see the changes made.

Thank you for staying with us!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

While old rooms, usually good value for money. Friendly and helpful staff. Very good breakfast. Nice location towards the airport, helps to avoid downtown traffic if no need to be in the absolute centre of Helsinki.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I got a good price for one night. Weekend promotion was only 115€ per night for 2 including breakfast. And our plan was to visit a friend living few blocks away.
Hotel itself is really outdated. Rooms remind me time when I stayed here when I was a child and hotel was one of the ic hotels in town. It really needs refurbishing! And climate control even on highest setting was still making our room freesing. Lobby and restaurant though are nice and comfortable.
We had a drink and dinner in the restaurant downstairs. Cesar's salad very good, my steak mediocre. Vine by glass service excellent.
Parking ok, 24€ per night.
Bf nothing special and I have seen better ones in Finland.
Staff in Check in very not very polite. We felt like coming to a 3 star hotel rather than a Hilton.
When we checked out Spanish guy behind counter wasnt interested about our stay. And just named price like we were dealing with local supermarket cashier.
I wouldn't pay rack rate here, not worth of more than weekend discounts.REALLY!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor!

I am sorry to hear that your expectations about our hotel was not met and that the member of staff at reception was not respectful towards you. The hotel will undergo extensive renovations at the end of the year which will bring the rooms and facilities up to date with modern standards. As for the staff, I can assure you that it is important for us that all of our guests are treated in the best possible way at all times and that they are made feel welcome at our hotel. We appreciate your comments and they have been taken to the relevant department for review.

Thank you for staying with us and we do hope you will consider staying with us another time!

Yours sincerely,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulus, Turkey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We spent a weekend in this hotel as a young couple and we did not find it luxury. The building and the amenities were old. The Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was very good. The location of the hotel is very good. The Hotel is very close to every where in walking distance. There are very nice restaurants near by first night go to Juttutupa Bar & Restaurant at Sparbanksajen Street by the sea to listen live music and drink Jack Daniels with Finnish Bear! Second night enjoy Nordic Italian Restaurant named www.Rosso.fi

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay!

We appreciate your comments about our staff and breakfast and we are happy you found the hotel to be well located. As a four star hotel we do not offer all the services that a five star, luxury hotel might offer but we do strive to ensure that our guests get first class service from our members of staff and that their expectations are met and hopefully exceeded while staying with us. We always appreciate any comments our guests want to share with us in order to continuously improve our services.

Thank you for staying with us and we do hope you will come back for another visit!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Helsinki Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Helsinki Strand

Address: John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Helsinki Strand 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Helsinki Strand,a comfortable downtown hotel,is located by the sea, within walking distance of the city centre and the historic sights of Helsinki. The location is ideal for both business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Helsinki Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Helsinki Strand Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Helsinki Strand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.