We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finish cold” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Helsinki Strand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Helsinki Strand to your Saves list
Hilton Helsinki Strand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #27 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Finish cold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Classical 4star Hotel for middle Europe circumstances. Slightly old furniture but clean and functional. Missing free WiFi in the rooms. Especially negative has been the temerature setting in the room which allows maximal 22,5 C. Quite cold when outside only + 3 C and aircondition runs and cannot be switched off. That the only lobbybar is extreemly expensive doesn't surprise in Helsinki, but that they close at sharp 11pm is tough.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay!

We are sorry to hear you found the temperature to be too low in the room and the service at the bar not to be late enough. We appreciate your comments, customer feedback is important to us in order for us to be better informed of our customers’ expectations. We are looking forward to some major changes in the rooms as a result of the renovation which will start in 2013.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will consider our hotel for your next stay in Helsinki!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    380
    177
    37
    10
See reviews for
116
271
95
271
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

After spending the first 7 nights of my vacation in Norway where I couldn't find a Hilton, it was nice to be staying in a Hilton once again....

Positives of this location......the view is beautiful, more peaceful than the hotels in the center, executive lounge, very full breakfast, decent English channels on the TV

Negatives......if you don't like to walk this is about 1kilometer from the city center, ridiculous heating/cooling system in the room as it could only be adjusted + or - 2 and it didn't work well anyway, Executive Lounge too small for the # of people and it wasn't serviced well so the food ran empty and dirty dishes sat around

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.

We are happy to hear you enjoy staying at Hilton hotels and that our hotel was your choice during your stay in Helsinki.

Location wise we are close to the center even though we are not right in the middle of it, hopefully you were able to make use of the buses and trams leaving close by from the hotel that take you to the city center amongst other places. I am sorry to hear the clearing up was not done promptly enough in the Executive Lounge in order to maintain a pleasant atmosphere.

We do appreciate your stay and hope that you will stay with is again!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

The Hilton Strand is a landmark hotel in Helsinki, with great views over a bay. The hotel is nice, luxurious and very convenient. It is slightly dated, but not in a bad way. The swimming pool & sauna area is great, with fantastic views over Helsinki. Great, tasty breakfast in a gorgeous, spacious room with open fire. Highly recommended, try to get a room higher up and with a balcony with views toward the sea.

Room Tip: Balcony & view toward the sea recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

We are glad that you seem to have a very good stay with us and that you have been able to make use of several of our facilities and services. Hilton Strand is indeed a landmark in Helsinki, built in the early 80’s and in 2013 we are looking forward to a modernization of the hotel to bring it up to date.

We appreciate your stay with us and hope you will come back again in the near future!

Best regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
417 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Fantastic Stay. Great Base for sightseeing!
The hotel is located adjacent to Hakaniemi Square, which is a plaza that serves an outdoor market in summer. We walked there to buy fresh fruit.
The Hilton is also conveniently located on the Airport 615 Bus route, stops in front, so you can get off and on. Other buses and trams stop at Hakaniemi Square, so very convenient in terms of transportation access.

As a Honors Gold Member received waterfront view, access to executive lounge.
At the EL there are beverages, snacks and an espresso machine that I love! In the afternoon they have warm finger food, a handful of selection, but enough to satisfy and count as dinner. Self service wine is available. The EL has large window, feels fresh and airy, with beautiful waterfront views. It is kind of small, but its layout wraps around the curve of the building, so it seems larger. Since weather was nice, we sat in the small outdoor balcony. There is a computer, internet access is available.

The hotel is a short and pleasant walking distance to cathedral, main train station and tourist areas. So we walked every day back and forth to the city, no need to use public transportation. We even walked, with luggage, to Viking ferry terminal, it was a bit of a walk, but it was a beautiful day!

Could not write enough compliments about friendly staff at check in, talkative girls in Lounge and attentive servers at brunch buffet, which was delicious, I was very satisfied, smoked salmon, assortment of cheeses. Free for gold members.

The server prepared for my daughter pancakes with fruit, powder sugar, nicely presented for kids. Upon check in they gave my daughter a coloring book with a bubble bath kit. If you have kids, they have converted a meeting room into a kid’s playroom.

The décor of hotel is pink marble with gold plated accents, unfortunately it looks very 80s, but everything is in good shape, plumbing, hot water, etc, rooms clean, bathrooms clean, beds super comfortable. Curtains are good enough to cover abundant sunlight during summer. The hotel has a light filled atrium,

Helsinki is expensive, so is the hotel, I am glad I paid a little more for very good service and a very comfortable stay. This is not a super luxury hotel, but a very fine 5 star hotel. Everyone is very fluent in English!

Room Tip: If you take the Airport 615 Bus, you can get on and off just next to hotel on Hakaniemi Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive review!

We are very pleased to hear you have had such a successful stay and your lovely comments about our staff have been forwarded to them. I am happy to hear the hotel were able to accommodate you and your family in an Executive room to honor your HHonors Gold status and that you have made the most of the good location in terms of sightseeing.

I am also glad you have made use of our cook to order breakfast and that your daughter was able to enjoy the children’s playroom we have in the summer season.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back another time!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Hilton Strand in Helsinki keeps Hilton tradition of being a good Hotel. This one is in a very good location, near to downtown and you can walk to most of the turistic places in town. With an excelent Internet connection and great breakfast buffet, this property stands out by being quietly, with no being convention areas and with the excellent Finnish Sauna Facilities. The Gym however is very small and lacks most of the basic weight lifting equipments for the ones interested on keeping up their workouts. The Business lounge for the Hilton Honnors travelers is small but provides a nice view to the bay and an excellent free happy hour with good cheeses, finger foods and a small selections of vines and spirits. This hotel is a very good option for the ones willing to pay the litle more for the extra-confort the Hilton brand can provide

Room Tip: Ask for a (free...) upgrade to room with a view to the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of your stay!

We are happy to hear you have been able to benefit from a large part of the services we offer for the comfort and pleasure of our guests. It is nice to start your day with a hearty breakfast and be able to access sights quickly, an advantage that we are appreciative of at our hotel.

Thank you for your stay with us and we hope you will visit us again!

Best regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Great location, wonderful staff and beautiful views make this hotel a downtown winner. Only a couple blocks away from a tram and subway stop and within a 15 minute walk to the harbor, this Hilton has an envious waterside location. But it comes at a price. Yes, this is Helsinki (not exactly a bargain for Americans) and yes, everything is expensive but a corporate business account certainly helps. I think a tourist can do better for the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay!

We are very appreciative of your kind words about our staff and the fact that you were happy with the location and views from the hotel. We are sorry to hear you found services to be expensive, admittedly Helsinki is one of the more expensive cities in Europe.

Thank you for your stay and we do hope you will come back either for business or leisure!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Nice hotel, ideal for business again overlooking the sea.

Liked the gym and indoor pool at the top floor. Sauna is very relaxing, typical scandanavian style.

Breakfast for decent, a good recommendation for business meetings and conference.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and positive comments!

We are glad to hear you found the hotel to cover your needs and expectations while on business in Helsinki.

Thank you for staying with us and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back another time!

Best regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
GLO Hotel Art
#13 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 916 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Helsinki Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Helsinki Strand

Address: John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#26 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Helsinki Strand 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Helsinki Strand,a comfortable downtown hotel,is located by the sea, within walking distance of the city centre and the historic sights of Helsinki. The location is ideal for both business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Helsinki Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Helsinki Strand Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Helsinki Strand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.