We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located hotel near Helsinki City Center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Helsinki Strand

Save Saved
You added Hilton Helsinki Strand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Helsinki Strand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €89
Ranked #16 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Conveniently located hotel near Helsinki City Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

A fairly standard Hilton, which is located a short walk from the city center.
Rooms are fairly typical EU sized, (small by US standards) but well kept. Bathroom small but adequate, with a short bath.
High speed internet in room is 10 Euros per 24 hours with an access code. Free WiFi available in the reception area.
The staff are friendly but very busy. Answering the reception phone to get internet access codes was not a strong point.
I ate only breakfast here, which was buffet style selection as well as cook to order.
The hotel has separate male and female saunas, 11m pool and a 24 hour gym on the 8th floor which, although very small, was never busy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Manager at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Good day from Hilton Helsinki Strand!

Thank you for your review and I was happy to hear that you have had the opportunity to try out several of our services and that your over all stay with us was to your satisfaction. I hope the delay in getting your internet access codes did not cause any further inconvenience and I can assure you that our staff are always doing their best to assist our guests as promptly as possible.

Thank you for your stay and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you at our hotel again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    299
    129
    26
    4
See reviews for
94
212
70
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Compared to a few other Hiltons I have stayed in, this one is a bit tired - the rooms could do with a bit of an update - having said that, they are very clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was excellent and the sauna and swimming facilities were of a high standard and spotlessly clean. Only a 10 minute walk into town from the hotel :-)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Manager at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Greetings from Hilton Helsinki Strand!

Thank you for sharing your experiences of your stay at our hotel while visiting Helsinki.

I am happy to hear that our recreational facilities and location were to your liking and that the breakfast was enjoyable. I also appreciated hearing your view on Hilton Strand's look in general. Changes are being made and for example phones, curtains and armchairs have been changed to update the look in the rooms. New beds will also arrived in April. We are, of course, always appreciative of further comments to ensure that our guests feel at home while staying with us.

Thank you for staying with us at Hilton Helsinki Strand and hopefully we can welcome you back to our hotel at another time!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantsala, Finland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

The Hilton is bound to be divisive. It is just like an American hotel dropped in an European city. If you want big rooms, beds, pillows, continental and warm breakfast and high touch service, this is it. Having said that, the building is ugly in an over-the-top-american way and feels out of place. The breakfast has nothing wrong and nothing above and beyond. THere are tens of hotels within an easy walking distance of the center of Helsinki, Strand being a stretch.

Having said that, the HIlton is quite cheap and if you are on business on the East side of the city, this could be a benefit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Manager at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Good afternoon from Hilton Helsinki Strand!

Thank you for staying at Hilton Helsinki Strand and taking the time to share your comments about your stay!

As staying at a hotel is about being “home away from home” it is our aim to provide comfort and enjoyable experiences so that you can make the most of your holiday.

I am glad to hear that your stay was mainly pleasant and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Booked hotel over Christmas 2010
As wanted a white christmas (we booked before we had snow absolutely everywhere in the UK :( )
Arrived at the airport mid afternoon on christmas eve and very cold outside (-21c), so decied to get a taxi. This costs 38 euros to the hotel.
Checking in, we had booked the executive room with use of the executive lounge. We were offered an upgrade to a suite but at 200 euros extra a night we politely declined.
Check in was a friendly process and staff member was excellent in helping us, had onlt been in helsinki a few hours and had already lost a glove. Hotel staff member lent me a spare pair of his for the duration of my stay.

Rooms
Room was nice, bathroom good size and tolietries excellent quality. Views over the river onto the sea are fantastic. We watched the locals fishing on here as it was all completely frozen over. Bed was comfortable, although we did have to change the pillows due to my wife being allergic to down pillows. However the hotel changed these for us quickly. TV was very small though and reception was not great, we upgraded to films on our last day and this was 16 euros for the 24 hours. We were told we couldn't have wifi in our room unless we paid 10 euros a night. However eventually they called us to say that as we had paid for the executive lounge and not been upgraded this was actually not the case. We were then given a code whereby we could use wifi throughout our week stay.

Executive lounge
Small and basic. Breakfast was not served here for the first three mornings of our stay and choice of snacks throughout the evening was poor. Small selection of drinks and there was no spirits at all again for the first 4 days (not sure if this was to do with the chrismas holiday or not). Overall a little bit dissapointed with this!

Hotel facilities
Sauna is extremly small. They only have one for each sex and fits about 3 people inside (admittedly I only checked out the male). The pool is nice, again this is small though and it was annoying that this is not open during the day.

Restaurant
This was very expensive and not sure why they charge such high prices, as only saw about 4 or 5 people use it during the entire week. They would probably get many more customers if these prices were more reasonable. Only ate there the once, my burger and chips was 18 euros and my wife had the buffet which was 39 euros. Food was okay!

Staff
This is the best part of the hotel. All staff were very welcoming and friendly. They would always try to be helpful no matter waht questions you asked.

Local attractions
Hotel is a short walk out from the main centre. The hotel is located next to the bus stop and tram whcih can take you to most places in Helsinki.
We walked to the centre and this takes about 15minutes. I would recommed the ferry trip from the market square, this takes you to the fortress island. Also there is the helsinki museum that is free to enter and is very interesting giving information about how Helsinki came about.
There are also shopping centres by the hotel along with a Subway and McDonalds (went here a bit too much)

Overall a nice hotel, but seems to be geared towards business travellers rather than for pleasure and the prices are aimed at expenses.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Manager at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Greetings from Hilton Helsinki Strand!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay!

I am pleased to hear that the room was to your liking and that the members of our staff were able to contribute positively to your stay. I am sorry to hear that the Executive Lounge experience was not up to the normal standards and you are right in assuming it was related to the Christmas holidays, which tends to be a less busy time in hotels in Helsinki. We do value your comments and they have been passed on to relevant departments for further review, especially with regards to the Executive Lounge and restaurant services. We are undergoing constant change so that we can meet and exceed our valued guests’ expectations and your feedback is invaluable in order for us to achieve this.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Helsinki Strand and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back at another time!

Best regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We stayed for two nights in this hotel. Other than breakfast we did not take any meals at the hotel as there are many restaurants only a short distance away over the bridge. We stayed in an executive room on the executive floor with access to the executive lounge and our room overlooked the river and the bridge. The rooms have excellent noise insulation. The room was very well designed and decorated. All staff were very charming and efficient including reception. There is a vast open area on the ground floor with glass external lifts which makes the interior fascinating to observe when having drinks. As far as dining is concerned the hotel dining room is in this large ground floor area and we were not tempted to dine there. Other people didn't seem to be very interested in doing so either and it may be that the Hilton needs to look at a slightly different design. For example, the Hilton at Helsinki Airport has a wonderful dining area. For those really interested in classic dining with stylish traditional surroundings we would recommend the Restaurant KalaRivoli. All in all we had a very pleasant stay and would recommend this Hilton without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Manager at Hilton Helsinki Strand, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Greetings from Hilton Helsinki Strand!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with us!

I am glad you found the room to be well equipped to ensure a relaxing stay and that the members of our staff have further contributed to a successful visit. It is also always pleasing to hear that our guests have enjoyed the unique architecture of the hotel!

As we are constantly undergoing changes to ensure comfortable and enjoyable stays for our guests, your comments are highly appreciated and reviewed by the involved departments.

Thank you for your stay and hopefully you will find the time to visit us again!

Best regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

The staff at this hotel went the extra mile for us every time we needed their help. We arrived in the early morning without any sleep and they where able to get us into a room right away and also let us have breakfast that morning even though our check in was not suppose to be until the afternoon.

Our room was very nice and clean and was much larger then the room that we had at another hotel in Helsinki.

The breakfast was simple but very good in the morning.

The hotel has a nice view with a water front and is only a short approx 10 min walk to the train station.

We would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Hello all, I have stayed at this hotel 5 or 6 times for business, and have spent more than two months of my life in this place. It is truly a great location and a great hotel. The location is just a few minutes walk north of the busy central city and rail station area, about 10-15 minute walk to the seafood market and esplanade where the more touristy area is. It is far enough from the main central town area to feel the more quiet lifestyle with an open air market and good food and retail markets as near as a block away, and most important the hotel is on a very quiet street overlooking the inner Baltic inlet and taxis are promptly available within 5 minutes time. The hotel has a fabulous feel being open concept from ground to the top floor. It has an above average to adequate restaurant and nice bar area for quiet internet surfing for the night time relaxation. The breakfast is buffet style and is full of plenty of great options. The rooms are better than average square meters and they are clean, comfortable and traditional Scandic in decor. If you cannot afford 10 euros for internet than don't stay here, it is a 4 star hotel. The personal spa and fitness area are quite nice, the pool is adequate for business leisure. I have had wonderful service here every time I have visited, in fact the staff remembers my name upon check in even though I visit only 1-2 times per year on average. I am a Hilton Honors member and feel this hotel meets all of my expectations for a global Hilton property! Kittos

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Helsinki Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Helsinki Strand

Address: John Stenbergin Ranta 4, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Helsinki Strand 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Helsinki Strand,a comfortable downtown hotel,is located by the sea, within walking distance of the city centre and the historic sights of Helsinki. The location is ideal for both business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Helsinki Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Helsinki Strand Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Helsinki Strand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.