We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good night's sleep but little more” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Olympia

Save Saved
You added Cumulus Olympia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cumulus Olympia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laentinen Brahenkatu 2, Helsinki 00510, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good night's sleep but little more”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is well situated, clean and provides a good breakfast every morning but the we found the reception staff were surly and unfriendly.

When we arrived at the hotel we discovered that there was no ventilation in our room and the windows were bolted shut. When we brought this up with the man on reception it felt as though he had little time for us. Before we had finished explaining he dismissed us and told us to use the small desk fan.

The shower flooded the bathroom whenever we used it. When we brought this to the attention of the staff their solution was to roll a towel and place it on the floor.

This hotel could have easily been a 4 or 5 if only the service we received was to higher standard and we were made to feel welcome.

Room Tip: Don't take the 2nd floor - it is the only floor where the windows don't open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    21
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
4
9
16
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ostrava
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Visited this place during a business tour for four days. My stay was very relaxing and I never felt away from home. Stunning décor of the building was very impressive and the moment I entered the place I was left surprised. I have not expected this much. Food, rooms, services of the staff all were really beyond my expectations. I will definitely recommend this place to my other friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have just returned from this amazing hotel and can't wait to share my views about this wonderful property. From the moment I entered the building, I was treated like a royal guest. The level of luxury, services and sheer perfection they offer is unbelievable. Entire property is very clean and every corner is properly utilized. Rooms are gracefully decorated and well-equipped with things of need. All meals were good, but breakfast was my favorite. I will definitely come here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was my first trip to Helsinki and honestly I booked everything last moment and decided to spend more on entertainment thus choosing a bugdet place. Generally the staff was friendly, the check-in was fast, there were sufficient choice of tourist brochures in the lobby, but their elevator is thrilling. Activation with your room key is really safe but the construction is weird with the number of doors to lock it and to start it. The room was small but I am not complaining. The walls are really-really thin and I understood it when my neighbours put the TV volume at maximum and left the room earlier to have breakfast) The shower is not convenient with water splashed all over the floor when you get out of it. The breakfast offers good and decent selection of foods. Did not use the Irish restaurant inside - I only noticed it after check-out.

All in all it is an okay place. BIG PLUS is convenient tram stops around. However what scared me most is the surrounding. It was NOT ONCE that I saw bums, beggars and some dirty drunkards around the hotel and the stadium nearby!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel is located in Kallio-area, so there are lot of cheap bars and restaurants nearby. Two trams stop just by the hotel, so getting into city center of Helsinki is easy; tram ride takes 10-15 minutes. Parking places near hotel are quite easy to find.
Rooms are clean and modern and quiet. Staff is friendly and there are plenty of free maps and brochures of Helsinki available in the lobby.
For breakfast you get a lot of choice (from meatballs and sausages to cereals, cake and berries). Breakfast is served until 11 am on Sundays and until 10 am other days.
I will stay here for sure again, when I visit Helsinki.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
173 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We would stay again. Hotel staff were helpful, spoke English, and the hotel was located across the street from a tram which provided a short ride to city center, the wharf or wherever. Although the room was small, the TV provided access to a wide variety of channels and the breakfast buffet was excellent. The hotel seemed to be frequented by locals primarily. Hotel Cumulus Olympia was so much less expensive than the other hotels in Helsinki like the Radisson.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Middlesex
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is a long walk from the centre of the city, but good value if like me you love walking. I had a twin room to myself, very comfortable, not a great view but very bright. Breakfast was a little limited, but quite good. What really surprised me was the sauna, great for unwinding after a long day. I had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cumulus Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Olympia

Address: Laentinen Brahenkatu 2, Helsinki 00510, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumulus Olympia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Cumulus Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Olympia Helsinki
Cumulus Olympia Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumulus Olympia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.