We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with nice rooms and breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Olympia

Save Saved
You added Cumulus Olympia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cumulus Olympia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laentinen Brahenkatu 2, Helsinki 00510, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Finland
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good location with nice rooms and breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel is located in Kallio-area, so there are lot of cheap bars and restaurants nearby. Two trams stop just by the hotel, so getting into city center of Helsinki is easy; tram ride takes 10-15 minutes. Parking places near hotel are quite easy to find.
Rooms are clean and modern and quiet. Staff is friendly and there are plenty of free maps and brochures of Helsinki available in the lobby.
For breakfast you get a lot of choice (from meatballs and sausages to cereals, cake and berries). Breakfast is served until 11 am on Sundays and until 10 am other days.
I will stay here for sure again, when I visit Helsinki.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    22
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
4
10
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
173 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We would stay again. Hotel staff were helpful, spoke English, and the hotel was located across the street from a tram which provided a short ride to city center, the wharf or wherever. Although the room was small, the TV provided access to a wide variety of channels and the breakfast buffet was excellent. The hotel seemed to be frequented by locals primarily. Hotel Cumulus Olympia was so much less expensive than the other hotels in Helsinki like the Radisson.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Middlesex
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is a long walk from the centre of the city, but good value if like me you love walking. I had a twin room to myself, very comfortable, not a great view but very bright. Breakfast was a little limited, but quite good. What really surprised me was the sauna, great for unwinding after a long day. I had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Four days at the Cumulus Olympia, right next to a theatre and a sports complex, good connections to the city through two tram lines, and in walking reach of reasonable eating places. Solid breakfast served by no-nonsense lady who coped well with large crowds everyday. Rather small rooms and even smaller shower, but that was made up by good staff who had ready suggestions for travel, food and other conveniences. Would have loved to have a kettle though. Didn't use the sauna that came with the price. Happy experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Next to what was on offer for value, maybe this was the one, the professional pictures made it look like a nice clean hotel. When I arrived I was disencharnted. I know hotels are for just sleeping in, but at night I felt like they had put me in a coffin room!

I was on the 5th floor and the tram could be heard clearly at night, the bed, somewhat confortable wasn't helped by the tiny pillow on it. It was mostly clean, but it looked tatty at the same time. The little room was a yellow and green, a sickly colour scheme. The bathroom had a poxy shower, which was so small it was very hard to work right. There were incect legs and silver fish! Not amazingly clean by any means.

At one point I came back to the hotel to relax for a bit, on one of the days I was there, the maids hadn't even done their job of making the bed! Pathetic if you ask me, the hotel staff didn't seem interested or helpful.

Breakfast was okay when I got use to it, but still, it seemed poor at the same time, the eggs are not that fresh, they arn't cooked properly and just sit there, I tried a little but they tasted horrible. I was getting up early so I could go exploring, that did seem the best time to have breakfast, any later and it was packed, too many people not enough space.

There is a bar area on the other side of the hotel, don't order a coffee there like I did. Just tastes like hot boild mud! I was glad when it came to checking out!

Room Tip: Don't get a single room, best upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

It was ok but rooms and bathroom very small. I would like to have kettle, tee and coffee in my room but nothing like that in the hotel. You had to go down in the lobby to get coffee and that costs. The breakfast is very good in this hotel. Transport to city center is good but this is rather out of all traffic. We had to go to Finlandia Hall and that is a 20 minutes walk from the hotel. You dont walk thrue the park in the dark so we had to take the tram.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siauliai, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

All in all I can say it was ok, but just that.
+ possitive parts:
+ It is easy to get to the city center;
+ There is a sauna included into the price on the 8 floor
+ quite full breakfast.
- negative parts:
- very, very, very tiny rooms if you have to spend there more that couple of days you can get Claustrophobia;
- not nice neighbourhood there is no place to walk around unless you want to meet many drunk people;
- though it is easy to get to the center because the hotel is surrounded by the trams, you have to be ready to learn about their noice;
- window opens only for 5 or bit more than 5 cm;
- if you need a smoking room (it is a problem), you will be placed to the 5th floor which itself smels as an astray, more worse there are no balconies only the same 5 cm of opened window, no ourside terrace for smoking.
- Internet is free and only cabel in the room, wifi you have to pay every 24 hours, no free wifi in the loby, there is a computer in the loby you can use it for 20 min.

So saving money it is OK, but don't expect too much.

Room Tip: Maybe room facing the back yard are more quitet, 5 floor for smokers, but it stinks even if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cumulus Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Olympia

Address: Laentinen Brahenkatu 2, Helsinki 00510, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumulus Olympia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Cumulus Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Olympia Helsinki
Cumulus Olympia Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumulus Olympia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.