We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple and nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Olympia

Save Saved
You added Cumulus Olympia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cumulus Olympia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laentinen Brahenkatu 2, Helsinki 00510, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“simple and nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

The hotel is very simple but nice, room was ok, but bathroom is really very small. Breakfast was very good, i like the cottage and different kind of bred,cheese, eggs etc, never been hungry. Dinner at the restaurant downstairs was nice but expencive. Staff is friendly . I like the location, its not so far from center of the city if to take tram-it take 5 min, and about 20-25 min by walking if the weather is fine)) Hotel area is a bit quiet, but we found some nice bars not far from hotel. And its not far from Aquarium, we went there about 15 min, walking in the park. I can say that staying at Cumulus was good for the money we paid for it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    26
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
4
9
16
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brussels
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Stayed here three days for work. Paying €130 a night, so not so budget. Dont know if this is the best rate, maybe for Helsinki its typical. My previous two visits were also in medium quality hotels.

The rooms are aka the Travel lodge chain in the UK. Small bathroom, with a quite a plastic shower. Clean, but toilet basin had a sort of brown, no bleach colour.

Good is the provison of free internet- so i can write this review from my room!! ;-) Only cable internet, no free wifi. Why ????

Break fast is poor, the range is ok, but it is crowded, the tables are not cleared quickly after previous customers, the table cloths are left on so that the stains and crubs from the previous person remain. if they don't want to replace the cloths each time, why not at least paper covers or place mats that can be replaced or hard surface that can be kept clean ???? Its a false economy. Maybe not sufficient staff in the breakfast lounge

In my view this is the key factor that makes me not recommend this hotel

+ clean room, near my work location, quiet, ok rooms. free internet

- 20 min walk from down town, braekfast sevice and cleanliness of tables poor, expensive for quality,

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg WV
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, the trick is to say hello and smile and *then* ask your question. I don't know if that's the custom of the area but I noticed that patrons who did that got better service than those who just marched up to an employee and demanded something.

The hotel is clean, the rooms are TINY! We almost didn't have room for the two of us and all of our luggage for an international trip. We had to put the decorative end table under the desk and then shove the desk chair in behind it so that I could place my suitcase on the floor and open it. In the bathroom you can almost shower, brush your teeth, and use the toilet at the same time! The lack of space was a little trying, even for a budget-quality hotel.

The food wasn't bad, we had breakfast and dinner included with our stay. Because the place is so small and because our group was so large we had a designated seating time for meals which worked out well. The wait staff was very good and even opened early for us on our departure day so we could have a light breakfast before leaving.

Overall not a bad stay, the tram stops right outside which grants you access to the city. You can get day passes at the local market. The hotel offers free internet for laptops in each room and a computer in the lobby, or you can buy wifi access for a reasonable amount.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Hotel facade and furnishing looks very much 70s or 80s. Room was rather clean when we checked in, but daily cleanup consisted only of making beds - no hoovering no dusting, no bathroom cleaning. No toilet brush available even not upon request. Curtains, once white, appeared dark grey.
Breakfast was simple and almost ok, but the so-called coffee was undrinkable. Probably this is not even coffee but a malt substitute. One day we could not find a clean table and had to put the dishes of our predecessors aside on our own.

Tram in front of the hotel is a pro and a con at the same time. Pro: You are at the center within no time. Con: You can't sleep with an open window as the very loud Tram noise is very disturbing in this otherwise calm area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Cumulus Olympia as a building looks like an average grey Finnish building from the 1950´s, but its interior is modern. The hotel was clean, the beds comfortable and the views from the 8th floor to the tower of the Olympic stadium nice. There was a free internet at the lobby, which naturally is a plus. A huge minus goes to the fact that the restaurant, where the breakfast buffet was at, was too small for the clientele of the hotel - we for an example had to eat our breakfast at the hotel lobby. The hotel is not too far from the center of Helsinki and its location for the Olympic stadium is excellent + there´s a tram stop right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

The hotel website, esp.the photos, suggested a modern, bright, vibrant place and so, my expectations were high. But on arrival, I thought the exterior looked dull. The reception area was squashed into a corner and the feeling throughout the hotel is that ... it needs some modernisation. The single room was tiny. I suggest you ask for a double ... it must surely be bigger. And yes,the lifts are a bt scary.

However, it was clean and staff were polite. Internet is free and the restaurant serves good food. They also have a bar which I didn't have a chance to try out.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

Great Hotel
Room very comfortable and cosy and clean. Enjoyed the varied choice of fare at Breakfast. Staff polite and helpful. I am so pleased I ended up at Cumulus Olympia. It has its own restaurant and bar attached for those who choose to stay put and a free internet service for browsing emails/surfing the net etc. Didn’t have time to sample the Sauna which is on the 8th floor. I was delighted and would highly recommend this Hotel.

The trams 3T and 3B stop right outside and go all over the city to get you to most places you will wish to see if you are sight-seeing. Buy a Helsinki card and you get unlimited tram/train/bus rides within the city.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cumulus Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Olympia

Address: Laentinen Brahenkatu 2, Helsinki 00510, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumulus Olympia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Cumulus Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Olympia Helsinki
Cumulus Olympia Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumulus Olympia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.