We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna

Save Saved
You added Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Asema-Aukio 2, Helsinki 60100, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Port Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

So close to the railway station, and to the Finnair bus to the airport. The Sokos department store is above, handy to stock up on some of the essentials needed while travelling. The rooms are clean and very comfortable, and double glazing cuts out any street noise. We stayed on two different occasions in May 2013 and both times the check in and out was cheerful, friendly and efficient. The breakfast room, on the 10th floor, has amazing views and plenty of variety of both cold and hot dishes. Plenty of good eating choices are nearby for other meals.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Jan S,

A warm thank you for your review. I am so glad, that you had an overall great experience in our
hotel. In future, if you travel back to Helsinki, you are of course warmly welcome to visit us again.

Best regards,

Nicolai Muhsal
Service Manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    137
    69
    15
    3
See reviews for
59
77
44
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Due to its location near Helsinki's main railway station the Vaakuna is our main destination to arrive at and depart from any trips to Finland. Okay, this is not a five star venue but its convenience and pleasant demeanour has often made up for this. However, although our stays have been favourable, we were shocked by the €10 per hour extra requested for any stay over check out. There seemed to be a new approach to customers on our visit: a smaller room and somewhat less than enthusiastic welcome (maybe that's cultural but I have lived on and off in in Finland for many years) so maybe Sokos is trying to increase income? If so, not from me and I will stay elsewhere in the future (Holiday Inn has an even more convenient premises) Goodbye.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Jeremy314,

Thank you very much for your review. I appreciate it very much.
I am deeply sorry, that you had an overall bad experience in our hotel during your last stay.
We have a guidance from the Sokos Hotel chain to charge for later check outs. To get the guest satisfied, we make of course acceptions and give the late check outs also for free. It is very unfortunate, that we were not flexible in your case with this matter.
I also apologize for the less enthusiastic welcome. The first contact with the guest is the "business card" of the hotel and it is usually the welcoming at the check in. So it is very important to be enthusiastic and give the impression, that the guest is warmly welcomed in our hotel.
I am definitily going to mention this feedback in our next staff meeting and talk this through with the staff.

If you travel the next time to Helsinki, I hope that you will give us another chance to show, that we can do better. And if so, please book your room directly to me, so i can compensate the last stay from my part.

Again, my humble apologies.

Best regards,

Nicolai Muhsal
Service Manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki
nicolai.muhsal@sok.fi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The solos vaakuna could best be described as a 3 star minimalist hotel in a slightly seedy part of Helsinki, but, paradoxically, a great location if one desires to take any day trips (Porvoo, Saarinen 's lake house etc). We booked the hotel using BA Avios points and, if my memory Serves me correctly it was described as a 4 star hotel, which I would strongly disagree with. At best, 3 stars. It was built for the 1952 Olympics and it is showing its age. However, it might be interesting to someone who has a keen eye for design, given some of the stylistic details see throughout.
But there are a number of things that I felt reflected negatively on the vaakuna:
No safe in our room which meant we had to bundle up iPads and all other valuables each morning to lock in the lobby hotel safe
No bathrobes
Shampoo and soap are one, in a large dispenser in the shower
Front desk usually appears understaffed, especially when a large tour group arrives
Many of the front desk staff were not overly helpful, one man, in fact, told us the wrong location of the linda line hydrofoil! Tank goodness we double checked it and were appraised of the correct location or we would have missed our ferry!
Very small room with almost no storage space
No drawers to put clothes in
Buffet breakfast very complete but nothing special

The good things: the hotel owns the department store in the same location and you get a 10% discount on all non sale purchases (something we were not told and only discovered when I asked about the store)
Christina and Jatta in the front desk staff were the most cheerful and most helpful
Again, the location cannot be beat if you are going to do day trips outside Helsinki
In summary, if you are Ina budget, as Helsinki is VERY expensive, and/or going out of town, this hotel would suffice. But there are much better looking hotels in nicer locations' closer to the waterfront

Room Tip: Higher floor as there is always a lot of noise around the train station. The double paned windows h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear peripateticprincess,

thank you very much for your review. Every feedback is very important to us.
It is very unfortunate, that our hotel was not to your satisfaction in all points.
Our standard rooms unfortunately do not have bath ropes and safety deposit boxes, but we have them in our Superior rooms. My apologies, if we did not give you the choice of a superior room.

My deeply apologies also, that the reception gave you wrong direction to the Linda Line terminal.
Obviously him happened a humanly mistake and luckily you double checked it.

If my humble apologies are enough and you travel some times again to Helsinki, I would much appreciate it, if you could give us another chance to show, that we can do better.

Best regards,

Nicolai Muhsal
Service Manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I love it here, I've stayed in this hotel twice and it's perfectly situated next to the train station, right in the heart of the city centre, so if you're coming from the airport via train or bus you only have to cross the road with your luggage. The rooms are spacious, clean and the beds incredibly comfortable. I've always had a balcony room with a lovely view. It's nothing fancy but has everything you could need for a few days in Helsinki. The bar downstairs is fun and lively and open to anyone. Breakfast is included in the price and served in the restaurant on the top floor - you have a lovely morning view from the large windows. They provide a very good buffet with hot drinks, juices, selections of cereals, fruit and yoghurts, traditional cooked breakfasts of scrambled eggs, sausages etc, and even salads and cheese to choose from. The Staff are friendly and helpful and the wet room in the bathroom with heated floors is so much better than the standard shower over a bath!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear lumienkeli,

A very warm thank you for your review. I am very glad, that you had an overall great experience in our hotel.
Of course you are warmly welcome to visit us in the future again.

Have a nice summer and best regards,

Nicolai Muhsal
Service Manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishinomiya, Japan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed for 2days in stopover.The hotel is oldfasion style but comfortable staying .The room
may be little old but widely and cozy.Especially the view from the room was splendid. In addition
the front staff was very kind with a smiling and decided the action plan promptly when I am staying. Breakfast at 10F was very good.Finally I recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear abuba1005,

A very warm thank you for your review. I am very glad, that you had an overall great experience in our hotel.
We actually have acknowledged the oldness in the rooms and we are just waiting for the green light to start our planned renovation.

Of course you are warmly welcome to visit us in the future again.

Have a nice summer and best regards,

Nicolai Muhsal
Service Manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

First of all, the location: outstanding! I've travelled on business to Helsinki for years, and always envied the location of this hotel...literally seconds from the train station and the Finnair bus. The staff were friendly, efficient, and helpful...but unfortunately, they're constrained.

My superior room had two single beds, and the number of superior rooms with a double bed turns out to be very small. The solutions offered to me were a EUR50 upgrade to a suite, or a downgrade to a standard room (I could keep using the slippers and the bathrobe), but without a refund. Obviously, the correct customer-friendly solution would've been the upgrade, at no cost.

The breakfast was good, if straightforward.

Room Tip: Beware the superior rooms...there aren't many with a double/queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Bruce W,

thank you very much for your review.

It is true, that our hotel has unfortunately just a couple of superior rooms with double beds.
Because of this it is not in the selection of room types, when you book over the internet (Booking.com, Sokos Hotels.fi etc).
My apologies for the constrained staff. It is of course very important, that the staff should be enthusiastic, especially at the check in, to give the guest the right impression.
We will discuss this matter at the next staff meeting.

Again, much appreciation for your feedback.

Have a nice summer and best regards,

Nicolai Muhsal
Service Manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed in standart room.
Overall good place to stay.
+Great location.
+Excellent breakfast.
+Nice rooftop terasse with view.

-Average nothing special rooms. But still deacent and clean.
-At check-in hotel staff could smile a bit more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear jorbeTampere_Finland,

Thank you very much for your review. I highly appreciate this. Thank you also very much for the review about the room. This is actually acknowledged and we are waiting for green light to get our renovation, which is hopefully starting next year.

About the, that the staff could smile a litlle more, I deeply apologize. I agree with you and this matter is discussed with them.

Again, thank you for your review and if you travel back to Helsinki in the future, you are of course warmly welcome to vist us again.

Best regards,

Nicolai Muhsal
Service Manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna

Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Address: Asema-Aukio 2, Helsinki 60100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful functionalist Sokos Hotel Vaakuna is located on the best spot in town, in the centre of everything, with all of central Helsinki within easy reach. The hotel comprises 270 rooms for non-smokers with sound-insulated windows and individual room cooling system. From the balconies of the rooms on floor 9, you see Helsinki in all its glory. The hotel also has 6 comfortable meeting rooms. The present ambiance of the hotel, completed in 1952, is a splendid show of Finnish design traditions. The hotel is protected by the National Board of Antiquities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.