We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and Helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna

Save Saved
You added Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Asema-Aukio 2, Helsinki 60100, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Nishinomiya, Japan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good location and Helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed for 2days in stopover.The hotel is oldfasion style but comfortable staying .The room
may be little old but widely and cozy.Especially the view from the room was splendid. In addition
the front staff was very kind with a smiling and decided the action plan promptly when I am staying. Breakfast at 10F was very good.Finally I recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear abuba1005,

A very warm thank you for your review. I am very glad, that you had an overall great experience in our hotel.
We actually have acknowledged the oldness in the rooms and we are just waiting for the green light to start our planned renovation.

Of course you are warmly welcome to visit us in the future again.

Have a nice summer and best regards,

Nicolai Muhsal
Service Manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    152
    71
    19
    3
See reviews for
65
85
47
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

First of all, the location: outstanding! I've travelled on business to Helsinki for years, and always envied the location of this hotel...literally seconds from the train station and the Finnair bus. The staff were friendly, efficient, and helpful...but unfortunately, they're constrained.

My superior room had two single beds, and the number of superior rooms with a double bed turns out to be very small. The solutions offered to me were a EUR50 upgrade to a suite, or a downgrade to a standard room (I could keep using the slippers and the bathrobe), but without a refund. Obviously, the correct customer-friendly solution would've been the upgrade, at no cost.

The breakfast was good, if straightforward.

Room Tip: Beware the superior rooms...there aren't many with a double/queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Bruce W,

thank you very much for your review.

It is true, that our hotel has unfortunately just a couple of superior rooms with double beds.
Because of this it is not in the selection of room types, when you book over the internet (Booking.com, Sokos Hotels.fi etc).
My apologies for the constrained staff. It is of course very important, that the staff should be enthusiastic, especially at the check in, to give the guest the right impression.
We will discuss this matter at the next staff meeting.

Again, much appreciation for your feedback.

Have a nice summer and best regards,

Nicolai Muhsal
Service Manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed in standart room.
Overall good place to stay.
+Great location.
+Excellent breakfast.
+Nice rooftop terasse with view.

-Average nothing special rooms. But still deacent and clean.
-At check-in hotel staff could smile a bit more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear jorbeTampere_Finland,

Thank you very much for your review. I highly appreciate this. Thank you also very much for the review about the room. This is actually acknowledged and we are waiting for green light to get our renovation, which is hopefully starting next year.

About the, that the staff could smile a litlle more, I deeply apologize. I agree with you and this matter is discussed with them.

Again, thank you for your review and if you travel back to Helsinki in the future, you are of course warmly welcome to vist us again.

Best regards,

Nicolai Muhsal
Service Manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Very adequate hotel. We stayed twice for a total of 6 nights in April 2013 and would go back there any time. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were good value, the staff were very helpful and the location fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear guest,

thank You very much for Your review! I appreciate it very much and I am glad that You had a
great experience in our hotel. When ever You are plannign to come back to Finland I warmly welcome You again!

Best regards,
Hilkka Järvelä
Hotel manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

3 of us in a good-sized room. Location of the hotel is just great and helps to get around easily. Breakfast was good, offering a good variety of food. Overall we were pleased with the service - Staff could smile more though.
We stayed in the hotel few hours a day mainly for sleeping, so having a centrally located hotel was handy to get back and have rest whenever we wanted. A good variety of food and retail around the hotel. The hotel met our expectations as we had a very short stay in Helsinki. Will possibly go back as I cannot see any major issues with the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank You for Your feedback! It is always nice to hear about guests enjoing their stay with us!

Our hotel is really located on the best spot in town, in the centre of everything, with all of central Helsinki within easy reach. I am pleased about Your comments regarding the service of our staff, however I will remind us all about the importance of a friendly smile.

Thank You for staying with us and we hope You will stay with us again when visiting Finland next time!

Best regards,
Hilkka Järvelä
Hotel manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I reviewed this earleir during a business trip. This time we were on a weekend getaway trip. Has to say that this time experience was a kind of poor. At least from value point of view. The room was much worse and worn out. Checkin and out were overloaded (more staff or better processes please). But breakfast - awful for the value. We didn't even go there late... Luggage room is not guarded anyhow (keycard lock of course), perhaps a camera? Sokos warehouse in the same building gave 15% discount. As a conclusion, the location is only reason I would go back there again, at least on my own money.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank You for Your feedback!

It is very important for us to hear about our customer experiences. I am sorry to hear that this time Your visit wasn't as succesful as at the first visit.

I will review the points You pointed out with our staff members and make sure that we always follow our procedures for example about breakfast. Luggage room of the hotel is accessible only with a key card given from the reception either for guests checking out or checking in so it is safe. With 270 rooms in the hotel there unfortunately are times when many people are checking in and out simultaneously.

Thank you again for Your feedback, we highly appreciate all suggestions. Wishing You a nice summer time and I hope to see You again so we will be able to serve You better and give You a great experience again!

Best regards,
Hilkka Järvelä
Hotel manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel has a wonderful breakfast buffet, helpful staff and rooms that are clean, comfy and very nice. I stayed a week in a superior single room with a discount for seniors. It was a great experience. The hotel is central and an easy walk to the main shopping streets, restaurants, museums, etc. It is even attached to a department store and gives a discount for purchases made at that store. Loved every minute!

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms since they offer robes, safe, and better locations. Make sure to use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank You very much for Your review and rating, I was delighted to read it!

Wishing you a nice summer time and when You are visiting Helsinki again I warmly welcome You to stay at our hotel again.

Best regards,
Hilkka Järvelä
Hotel manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna

Address: Asema-Aukio 2, Helsinki 60100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful functionalist Sokos Hotel Vaakuna is located on the best spot in town, in the centre of everything, with all of central Helsinki within easy reach. The hotel comprises 270 rooms for non-smokers with sound-insulated windows and individual room cooling system. From the balconies of the rooms on floor 9, you see Helsinki in all its glory. The hotel also has 6 comfortable meeting rooms. The present ambiance of the hotel, completed in 1952, is a splendid show of Finnish design traditions. The hotel is protected by the National Board of Antiquities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.