We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna to your Saves list
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Asema-Aukio 2, Helsinki 60100, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Pori, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed in a superior room which was spacious, clean and cosy. In the evening as we were getting ready to have some rest after a hard day we heard very!! loud music from the room next door…as we called to reception and they discovered the amount of the noise they arranged us a new room straight away and it was suite. They also offered us free drinks from the mini bar. Further more we were allowed to stay in a suite till 2pm next day instead of noon (the usual check out time) with no extra charge. Both the rooms were in excellent shape and the views from the windows breathtaking. The breakfast was great, the reception hall outstanding and the staff, as described, did their best to make us feel comfortable and welcome.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    171
    82
    20
    4
See reviews for
68
90
55
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

i stayed at the sokos vaakuna early january 2012 (for one night between connecting flights). my short stay was peaceful and enjoyable, the room was well appointed albeit small, the bed was very comfortable, many rooms on the 9th floor have balconies with a very nice view of the CBD, the old building is beautiful and quirky (inside out) and close to everything in the centre of town including the train station and the airport shuttle bus stop, the staff is very helpful and polite, booking in and out is speedy and effective, the television was too small and too slow in changing channels, the sauna could do with extended opening hours, prices are moderate, late booking out is appreciated. i will go back to the sokos vaakuna given another visit to helsinki, and i will recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: choose a room on the 9th floor with a balcony for a very nice outdoor view of the CBD
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

As I mentioned in my hilton review I decided to stay her the last few nights of my trip and this for me ended it on a high note.

I got a simple standard room which came with the usual super comfy bed like the one I had in Tampere.

The staff were all very friendly and eager to help and while I didn't eat at the restaraunt nor did I make it to breakfast once (which I blame on helsinki nightlife) the bar at the hotel was fun and made for a good launching off point each evening.

If I stayed again I'd probably get a superior room but this was very good and you certainly don't feel ripped off.

I will say that the elevator is comically small and not just from an american perspective everyone that got into it had a chuckle at it's size.

But again another great experience at a sokos.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011 via mobile

I loved this hotel for several reasons: architecture and decoration is really cool, original 50's style. I was lucky to be upgraded to a top floor two room-suite with terrace and nice view over the neon lights of central Helsinki. Floors of oak gives a good feeling of quality. Best of all: Very comfortable bed and different sized pillows. And the room was completely silent! No noisy air con, elevators or slamming doors. I could highly recommend this suite for both business and pleasure!
Breakfast hall is really special and choice of food abundant. There is a sauna with a view which I did not have the opportunity to try. Location is perfect right in the city center.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

The hotel is historlcal and it can be felt. My overall impression of the hotel was positive. The atmosphere was a bit busy, everyone seemed to hurry somewhere.

The main entrance is not accessible for wheelchair. You have to ring a bell to get the receptionist to let you with the staff elevator. It wasn't such an easy thing to pop out outside quickly because the receptionist was needed to let me in and out. The accessible room is large and has a proper toilet (although the towels were kept too high for me). The staff was busy and therefore not able to help immediately.

The room service didn't have any vegetarian main courses. The breakfast room (that also serves as a highly appreciated restaurant) has a great views over central Helsinki.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

The room was quite old, and not that nice view from the window, quite old linen and towels... breakfast was good only for those who wake up early, then you could only an empty plate and a badge that there was smoked salmon!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

First make sure you have the right Sokos hotel, there are 10 of them in Helsinki.
This one is right by the main railway station and thus ideal for us. Booking in was friendly and efficient, the room was spacious, we had a balcony on the 9th floor. Note they have twin beds, though i suspect the next door pulled them together by the sound of it. The tv options Include Internet on screen with wireless keyboard. This has a fee of 8E per 24 hours.
The hotel is floors 6-10 above a department store.
Helsinki is not exactly bursting with attractins and we opted th go on a day trip to Tallinn in Estonia and explore the Old Town. Well recommended. Catch a 5 bus outside the hotel to the Western port Good breakfast on the 10th floor. No negatives at all, happy to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna

Address: Asema-Aukio 2, Helsinki 60100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful functionalist Sokos Hotel Vaakuna is located on the best spot in town, in the centre of everything, with all of central Helsinki within easy reach. The hotel comprises 270 rooms for non-smokers with sound-insulated windows and individual room cooling system. From the balconies of the rooms on floor 9, you see Helsinki in all its glory. The hotel also has 6 comfortable meeting rooms. The present ambiance of the hotel, completed in 1952, is a splendid show of Finnish design traditions. The hotel is protected by the National Board of Antiquities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.