We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely retro style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna to your Saves list
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Asema-Aukio 2, Helsinki 60100, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely retro style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011 via mobile

I loved this hotel for several reasons: architecture and decoration is really cool, original 50's style. I was lucky to be upgraded to a top floor two room-suite with terrace and nice view over the neon lights of central Helsinki. Floors of oak gives a good feeling of quality. Best of all: Very comfortable bed and different sized pillows. And the room was completely silent! No noisy air con, elevators or slamming doors. I could highly recommend this suite for both business and pleasure!
Breakfast hall is really special and choice of food abundant. There is a sauna with a view which I did not have the opportunity to try. Location is perfect right in the city center.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    171
    82
    20
    4
See reviews for
68
90
55
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

The hotel is historlcal and it can be felt. My overall impression of the hotel was positive. The atmosphere was a bit busy, everyone seemed to hurry somewhere.

The main entrance is not accessible for wheelchair. You have to ring a bell to get the receptionist to let you with the staff elevator. It wasn't such an easy thing to pop out outside quickly because the receptionist was needed to let me in and out. The accessible room is large and has a proper toilet (although the towels were kept too high for me). The staff was busy and therefore not able to help immediately.

The room service didn't have any vegetarian main courses. The breakfast room (that also serves as a highly appreciated restaurant) has a great views over central Helsinki.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

The room was quite old, and not that nice view from the window, quite old linen and towels... breakfast was good only for those who wake up early, then you could only an empty plate and a badge that there was smoked salmon!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

First make sure you have the right Sokos hotel, there are 10 of them in Helsinki.
This one is right by the main railway station and thus ideal for us. Booking in was friendly and efficient, the room was spacious, we had a balcony on the 9th floor. Note they have twin beds, though i suspect the next door pulled them together by the sound of it. The tv options Include Internet on screen with wireless keyboard. This has a fee of 8E per 24 hours.
The hotel is floors 6-10 above a department store.
Helsinki is not exactly bursting with attractins and we opted th go on a day trip to Tallinn in Estonia and explore the Old Town. Well recommended. Catch a 5 bus outside the hotel to the Western port Good breakfast on the 10th floor. No negatives at all, happy to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Located steps across the street from the Helsinki train station, the Sokos Hotel Vaakuna is clean, reasonably priced and the staff are excellent.

The room my husband and I had from October 24 to 25th, was modern, clean and had a newly renovated bathroom. It also had a fabulous view of the train station and the Tempelio Kirkko.

The cost of the room was 168 euros per night which included a lovely breakfast buffet at their 10th floor restaurant - which is about the top floor of all buildings in Helsinki.

There is a terrace on the 10th floor as well which gives a beautiful view of the city. It was United Nations Day when we were there and all of Helsinki were flying silky white and blue flags.

The hotel is designed in a wonderfully hip "Mad Men" 60's decor. The only problem is that the decor needs some loving care and the lobby furniture some
re-upholstering. Otherwise, everything 60's in the Vaakuna is new again.

Highly recommend the Helsinki Sokos Hotel Vaakuna.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed here again in september,and have been here 6-7 times during the years, and it is nice to be back. The location is very central and in walking distance to many of the sights. Room was average size and bathroom was odd, a small thin rectangular room with the toilet in the middle, and actually no room for your legs when sitting there.
Nice view to the street and central station, and restaurant on the topfloor is very nice.
But the hotel seems a bit worn and needs refreshments in some areas, like the carpets etc.
All in all a safe choise with very good location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Mom and I wanted to spend a day in Helsinki before flying back home to Canada.
A family member booked a room for us at Sokos Hotel Vaakuna for one night.
It was just great!

The lobby had plenty of chairs and three computers where you can surf the internet for free. There was even a spring water stand. We were really impressed with the location. We stayed at another hotel very close to this one years before, but this was the best.
It gave a fantastic view of the city centre.

The next morning, we really enjoyed the breakfast buffet. My mother is a native Finn and she enjoyed the Finnish "piirakka" that was wonderfully displayed in a basket. They were fresh and hot and we both found them very delicious!

The staff at the hotel were just wonderful to deal with. They answered any questions we had and informed us of a 10% discount on purchases you buy at the Sokos department store. The easy access to the Sokos department store made our shopping trip worthwhile. There was no need to walk outside the hotel to get into the store.

This is definitely the place to stay in if you ever visit Helsinki. We were not disappointed.

A.K.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna

Address: Asema-Aukio 2, Helsinki 60100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful functionalist Sokos Hotel Vaakuna is located on the best spot in town, in the centre of everything, with all of central Helsinki within easy reach. The hotel comprises 270 rooms for non-smokers with sound-insulated windows and individual room cooling system. From the balconies of the rooms on floor 9, you see Helsinki in all its glory. The hotel also has 6 comfortable meeting rooms. The present ambiance of the hotel, completed in 1952, is a splendid show of Finnish design traditions. The hotel is protected by the National Board of Antiquities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.