We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect every time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Save Saved
You added Solo Sokos Hotel Torni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yrjonkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Helsinki
1 review
“Perfect every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great location, fantastic service, lovely rooms and architectually intresting building with pleasant athmosphere, good breakfast, what more one could ask from a hotel in the very heart of Helsinki? :)









  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    158
    38
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
110
46
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tallinn
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had stayed there earlier as well, but the rim was even higher now. Fancy breakfast, absolutely best bed, quiet as promised and best possible location in centre of Helsinki. plus great view from the tower as a bonus for visitors.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were there for five nights in September 2013, and had a great stay. The location is central but quiet; we were able to walk everywhere. Among our choice of rooms was a bright, cheery one in the Jugend (Art Nouveau) style, and we selected that. Markus, who checked us in, was personable and cheerful, and proved to be only the most helpful of a kind and willing staff. He even gave us a wonderful Helsinki guide to use during our stay. The breakfast array was varied and plentiful and of very good quality. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom clean and well laid out; overall, we had no complaints! Being in a historic hotel was a treat. The original art on the walls (some of it quite good!) and stained-glass windows in the stairwells made it special. We even enjoyed the old-fashioned elevator, the companion to a more modern one nearby. The rooftop bar, a place popular with the locals, affords great views of the city and is a nice place to relax after a long day. We'd definitely book the Torni again.

Room Tip: You may be offered a choice of rooms but if not, ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torni-Management, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear solarvalley,
Thank you so much for your stay at Solo Sokos Hotel Tornin and your kind review about us. We are just a minute walk from the main street, and still kind of "around the corner" location to be a quiet hotel as you wrote. Thanks for your nice comments about your check-in. I am so happy that you liked your bright Art Nouveau room and our service in Torni. And especially that you mentioned me in person. We all wish you a great Autumn and hope to see you back at Torni soon.

Best regards,
Markus Siitonen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night. A central location was really important as I wanted to visit restaurants and shops nearby.

The superior room I had was fab... great design for quite a small space.

The free wifi for as many devices as I wanted was brilliant and something chains in the UK could learn!

The breakfast buffet was more than enough and of the highest quality.

The fee for the night was expensive but I could tell what I'd paid for!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is my favorite hotel in Helsinki together with Fabian. I have stayed here on several occasions and it always keeps up the standard. Firstly, there are several room options that all have their own unique style. These rooms are made to be enjoyed. Some of the rooms are also located high up with excellent view of Helsinki. When you next time check in, please ask them to show what room alternatives they have. It may make sense to even upgrade to someting cooler if you can.
Secondly, the bars and restaurants are top notch. The hotel has the bar with the highest location in the city with excellent view. On the bottom floor you will find a very chill drink bar with excellent service and cocktail alternatives.
Thirdly, this is basically a landmark in Helsinki with excellent location and a history of its own. Finally, they have lately made some effort in improving the service level with the general Sokos Hotels re-branding, and it is very good.
This is definitely a hotel worth visiting when in Helsinki. I will do that again !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torni-Management, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Kai H,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review about Solo Sokos Hotel Torni. I am so glad to hear that Torni is your favourite hotel in Helsinki. As you mentioned we have a large variety of rooms and interior design to choose from and our new check-in tablet at the front desk is very nice tool to show the rooms in 360 pictures.

Indeed we have three different bars and the a´la carte Restaurant Torni in the hotel so there is no need to go outside for a drink or snack. I am pleased to hear that you recognized and liked our re-branded hotel. We are so delighted to be a unique individual Solo hotel in our Sokos Hotels chain.

Thank you for your recommendations and hope to see you back at Torni soon.

Best regards,
Markus Siitonen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahaus, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel is a 12 story building that was used by the Russian government before. It has now been renovated, but the interior still fits the historical façade. My room was spacious with a high ceiling, but modern equipment. Bathroom including subfloor heating and glass shower. Staff was very friendly and speaks English very well. The breakfast was served in the restaurant on the ground floor and the selection was huge.
The hotel is right in the city center and many bars and restaurants are in walking distance, as well as some of the sightseeing spots and the harbor.
Do not miss out on a cocktail at the bar on the top floor! Stunning view and great drinks!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torni-Management, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear VaLiGer,

Thank you for your visit to Solo Sokos Hotel Torni and your nice review about our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Jugend style room with a high ceiling. Wonderful to hear your comments about our staff and the Solo breakfast.

We all hope to see you back at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni and our famous Atelje Bar at the top in future, too.

Best regards,
Markus Siitonen
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is an old building that's been renovated. The hallways wander around a lot. But the rooms are nice and there's a lot of ambience. The location is great, downtown, lots of restaurants, and very close to the harbor. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. The only drawback is that the locals spend a lot of time in the area bars, so the evenings tend to be very noisy, especially weekends. We know this because it was very warm when we were there and we had to leave our windows open all night. But we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel...it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Torni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Address: Yrjonkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Torni 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokos Hotel Torni is one of the most important landmarks in Helsinki, a classic with staying power in the heart of the city. Quiet location in Helsinki Design District, right next to the shopping and the entertainment area of Helsinki. We welcome you to experience the unique Torni spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Torni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.