We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A NICE PLACE TO STAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Save Saved
You added Solo Sokos Hotel Torni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yrjonkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A NICE PLACE TO STAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of Helsinki and is located in a historical building.The front desk service is excellent, the breakfast is bountiful. However, there are 2 peculiarity which might be disturbing - the rooms are tiny and white curtains which do not block the light. I was there in May and I couldn't sleep because it was too light in the room (remember the film "Insomnia" with Al Pacino staring there).All the rest is wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    163
    39
    6
    1
See reviews for
24
122
48
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Over the past 10 years I've stayed here several times. I have also stayed in other 4* Helsinki hotels. This hotel has less of the shininess of the newer places but much more charm. From the old fashioned elevator to the rickety stairs of the American Bar at the top of the hotel.

I've eaten in the restaurant a few times too - excellent varied menu at a reasonable price.

The hotel is not great for anyone with accessibility problems.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great location, and this hotel also has a lot of history. The rooftop bar is excellent - I'd say the best view in Helsinki. Very beautiful especially at night. The rooms are nicely decorated, but they are a bit small though. This hotel might be a little pricey, but every now and then they have great offers. Very good breakfast like in other Sokos Hotels, too. A good choice if you want a little bit of special something.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pieksamaki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Sokos Hotel Torni is well known in Finland for its history. The beautiful building is located in the heart of Helsinki. Service in the hotel is excellent, the indoors on the other hand would definitely need 'a final touch'. (A little paint and someone to hang the artworks again on the wall!) The breakfast was highly recommended to us. I did not see any difference in it when compared to other Sokos Hotels in Finland ( if you do not count M&Ms and peanut butter such as). The bars and restaurant in the hotel were okay. But the websites should give right information (now the opening hours of the kitchen and the menu were different, we were lucky that we got food on Friday night).

Room Tip: The rooms are quite small so if you plan to stay longer than a weekend choose a bigger room. The old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great location in Helsinki, right in the middle of the action. The decor of the hotel is art deco, the place is full of history (I believe Lee Harvey Oswald stayed there on occasion). You have a choice of 3 bars but don't miss the bar on the top floor with the terrace. From there you can enjoy a drink with a great view of the city (that great view also extend to the lavatories - which I believe are the highest in Helsinki :) )
The main downside is that the rooms are not huge and they are not in the budget category however if you are after a chic location downtown I high recommend the Torni.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

we have travelled quite many hotels around the world.I recommed this hotel to everyone. Hotel is not brand new and I think that's the reason why I like it. The hotel has it's own history and it's absolutely shown in the art and surrounding in hotel. Hotel has been renovated nicely and warmly. Breakfast was excellent and athmosphere friendly. Location to center is excellent and to central railway station is about 5 min walk. Also there is O'maleys bar in the hotel and also Torni restaurant and up in the tower beautiful view to Helsinki. Staff was nice and professional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I & my wife stayed here with our 3.5 years old girl in March 2013 for 3 nights. The hotel exceeded our expectations in many ways, what really differentiate this hotel was the outstanding service provided by staff. We checked in late in the evening and Reception staff helped me with our luggage to settle in the room, Restaurant staff was so friendly and treated my little girl every day at the breakfast. Overall, it shows the hotel staff makes an effort to provide excellent service. The hotel is located right in the heart of Helsinki, 2-5 minute walk in to the malls, cafes, shopping areas. We definitely recommend this hotel to all tripadvisor members.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Torni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Address: Yrjonkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Torni 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokos Hotel Torni is one of the most important landmarks in Helsinki, a classic with staying power in the heart of the city. Quiet location in Helsinki Design District, right next to the shopping and the entertainment area of Helsinki. We welcome you to experience the unique Torni spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Torni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.