We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to check out out the bar!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Solo Sokos Hotel Torni to your Saves list
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yrjonkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You have to check out out the bar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great location, and this hotel also has a lot of history. The rooftop bar is excellent - I'd say the best view in Helsinki. Very beautiful especially at night. The rooms are nicely decorated, but they are a bit small though. This hotel might be a little pricey, but every now and then they have great offers. Very good breakfast like in other Sokos Hotels, too. A good choice if you want a little bit of special something.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    239
    53
    9
    3
See reviews for
36
185
63
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pieksamaki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Sokos Hotel Torni is well known in Finland for its history. The beautiful building is located in the heart of Helsinki. Service in the hotel is excellent, the indoors on the other hand would definitely need 'a final touch'. (A little paint and someone to hang the artworks again on the wall!) The breakfast was highly recommended to us. I did not see any difference in it when compared to other Sokos Hotels in Finland ( if you do not count M&Ms and peanut butter such as). The bars and restaurant in the hotel were okay. But the websites should give right information (now the opening hours of the kitchen and the menu were different, we were lucky that we got food on Friday night).

Room Tip: The rooms are quite small so if you plan to stay longer than a weekend choose a bigger room. The old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great location in Helsinki, right in the middle of the action. The decor of the hotel is art deco, the place is full of history (I believe Lee Harvey Oswald stayed there on occasion). You have a choice of 3 bars but don't miss the bar on the top floor with the terrace. From there you can enjoy a drink with a great view of the city (that great view also extend to the lavatories - which I believe are the highest in Helsinki :) )
The main downside is that the rooms are not huge and they are not in the budget category however if you are after a chic location downtown I high recommend the Torni.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

we have travelled quite many hotels around the world.I recommed this hotel to everyone. Hotel is not brand new and I think that's the reason why I like it. The hotel has it's own history and it's absolutely shown in the art and surrounding in hotel. Hotel has been renovated nicely and warmly. Breakfast was excellent and athmosphere friendly. Location to center is excellent and to central railway station is about 5 min walk. Also there is O'maleys bar in the hotel and also Torni restaurant and up in the tower beautiful view to Helsinki. Staff was nice and professional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I & my wife stayed here with our 3.5 years old girl in March 2013 for 3 nights. The hotel exceeded our expectations in many ways, what really differentiate this hotel was the outstanding service provided by staff. We checked in late in the evening and Reception staff helped me with our luggage to settle in the room, Restaurant staff was so friendly and treated my little girl every day at the breakfast. Overall, it shows the hotel staff makes an effort to provide excellent service. The hotel is located right in the heart of Helsinki, 2-5 minute walk in to the malls, cafes, shopping areas. We definitely recommend this hotel to all tripadvisor members.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I like this place for many reasons. The location is perfect. It is in the center of Helsinki yet it is on a quiet street. Right next door you can you the Forum parking. The parking is cheaper when you pay at the hotel. It is so convient. When we go to Helsinki we like to stroll around. When we want a break the hotel is never far. The view from the top is beautiful. The rooms, service, and breakfasts are really great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Torni is a great hotel in an interesting city.

During check in we were offered the option of a modern styled room or a more old fashioned room. We opted for old fashioned. Then we were offered a choice of floor coverings. Wow!

The room itself was fantastic. Large, open and airy. The bed was excellent and bathroom functional.

Breakfast was a feast with a lot of options for non meat eaters, as well as other dietary requirements. The American cocktail bar, although pricey, pumped out some interesting concoctions in an intimate environment. The bar staff were very welcoming.

The hotel's location is very central. There is a large shopping centre 20 meters away, as well as the 3B/3T tourist tram route. Helsinki is an easy city to walk around but watch your step in the snow.

Make sure you take a ride in the 'old-school' lift.

Happily recommend Torni to fellow tripadvisors.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Torni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Address: Yrjonkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Torni 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokos Hotel Torni is one of the most important landmarks in Helsinki, a classic with staying power in the heart of the city. Quiet location in Helsinki Design District, right next to the shopping and the entertainment area of Helsinki. We welcome you to experience the unique Torni spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Torni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.