We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, chic and super bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Save Saved
You added Solo Sokos Hotel Torni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yrjonkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, chic and super bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great location in Helsinki, right in the middle of the action. The decor of the hotel is art deco, the place is full of history (I believe Lee Harvey Oswald stayed there on occasion). You have a choice of 3 bars but don't miss the bar on the top floor with the terrace. From there you can enjoy a drink with a great view of the city (that great view also extend to the lavatories - which I believe are the highest in Helsinki :) )
The main downside is that the rooms are not huge and they are not in the budget category however if you are after a chic location downtown I high recommend the Torni.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    160
    38
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
112
46
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

we have travelled quite many hotels around the world.I recommed this hotel to everyone. Hotel is not brand new and I think that's the reason why I like it. The hotel has it's own history and it's absolutely shown in the art and surrounding in hotel. Hotel has been renovated nicely and warmly. Breakfast was excellent and athmosphere friendly. Location to center is excellent and to central railway station is about 5 min walk. Also there is O'maleys bar in the hotel and also Torni restaurant and up in the tower beautiful view to Helsinki. Staff was nice and professional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I & my wife stayed here with our 3.5 years old girl in March 2013 for 3 nights. The hotel exceeded our expectations in many ways, what really differentiate this hotel was the outstanding service provided by staff. We checked in late in the evening and Reception staff helped me with our luggage to settle in the room, Restaurant staff was so friendly and treated my little girl every day at the breakfast. Overall, it shows the hotel staff makes an effort to provide excellent service. The hotel is located right in the heart of Helsinki, 2-5 minute walk in to the malls, cafes, shopping areas. We definitely recommend this hotel to all tripadvisor members.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I like this place for many reasons. The location is perfect. It is in the center of Helsinki yet it is on a quiet street. Right next door you can you the Forum parking. The parking is cheaper when you pay at the hotel. It is so convient. When we go to Helsinki we like to stroll around. When we want a break the hotel is never far. The view from the top is beautiful. The rooms, service, and breakfasts are really great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Torni is a great hotel in an interesting city.

During check in we were offered the option of a modern styled room or a more old fashioned room. We opted for old fashioned. Then we were offered a choice of floor coverings. Wow!

The room itself was fantastic. Large, open and airy. The bed was excellent and bathroom functional.

Breakfast was a feast with a lot of options for non meat eaters, as well as other dietary requirements. The American cocktail bar, although pricey, pumped out some interesting concoctions in an intimate environment. The bar staff were very welcoming.

The hotel's location is very central. There is a large shopping centre 20 meters away, as well as the 3B/3T tourist tram route. Helsinki is an easy city to walk around but watch your step in the snow.

Make sure you take a ride in the 'old-school' lift.

Happily recommend Torni to fellow tripadvisors.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights last week for my husbands 50th. Right in city centre, a lovely hotel with absolutely charming staff and quaint old fashioned lift. (there is also a modern one!) We were given a beautiful room, lovely shower. The breakfasts are excellent. We also ate in the Torni restaurant in the hotel and the food and service second to none. Restaurant prices in Finland are more expensive, but it was worth every penny and the staff were most accommodating to my mushroom allergy, and were aware we were there for a special occasion.
There is a bar at the top of the tower with superb views over the city and ladies, you MUST visit the loo! Plain glass windows give a panoramic view while you, er do what we do! You can see out, but you are so high up, nobody can see in! As the hotel is located in city centre, we walked everywhere but did take Tram 3 for about 5 euros, for a circular city ride lasting about an hour. We had a wonderful time and would definitely return to this charming hotel. Thank you to all staff for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: There are different types of rooms, we had room 330 which is only one of two of that kind I understa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is full of historic charm. Rooms are decorated in 3 styles - Art Nouveau, Art Deco and functional style. The old elevator in front of the reception is worth a visit.
Torni has good central location, near to the main shopping street, the railway station and various museums. You can walk almost everywhere.
Stayed for two nights in a single Art Nouveau room, which was small but clean and beautiful. The bed was very comfortable and the room well equipped. The bathroom was large and amazing. Breakfast was plentiful. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Torni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Address: Yrjonkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Torni 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokos Hotel Torni is one of the most important landmarks in Helsinki, a classic with staying power in the heart of the city. Quiet location in Helsinki Design District, right next to the shopping and the entertainment area of Helsinki. We welcome you to experience the unique Torni spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Torni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.