We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“full of history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Save Saved
You added Solo Sokos Hotel Torni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yrjonkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“full of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Visited Helsinki for the ice hockey world cup gold and bronze games, stayed one night. Did not notice anything special, quality is normal for 3-4 star hotel. The only and main thing I noticed is the old historical building both from outside and inside - full of historical spirit, and mantained in a good condition. My room was on the first floor, with no view, but very big and styled as antiquity.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    158
    38
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
110
46
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The pictures and descriptions of the Torni gave me high expectations which were not met in any way. I get the sense that this famous hotel is resting on its laurels somewhat, which is a shame. Our double room was furnished with one chair. The shower room was pleasant though. Breakfast was plentiful if some of the quality was not great and you needed to be there really early to get the full choice as some items were not replenished. Other reviews for Torni are generally good so perhaps things just weren't up to scratch during our visit. Location is fantastic but there is no shortage of alternative options which I would turn to when returning to Helsinki.

Room Tip: Check you're away from the building's noisy A/C outlets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Torni is only hotel I booked twice during mu life. I just like the style of this building and the site. First time I was here with my daughter (Dec 2008). We were given huge and lovely art deco style room (despite we booked with 50% discount). It was very cold and dark winter time. But I still remember warm feeling and overview to Helsinki, sipping a glass of extremely expensive wine at Torni tower bar. One of the best public views you can have at Helsinki...
Second time I was here with my husband (June 2011). We got tiny room with white furniture somewhere close to the top floor. It was cool summer day - I remember chilly feeling while looking at magnificent view to Helsinki from tower bar again. Only drawback was a lot of drunken Finnish people around (But no wonder during Midsummer Day...).
Anyway, Torni's morning buffet is good and the location is perfect to look around in order to enjoy the art deco style buildings around.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The view of the Helsinki bay from the top floor bar is amazing, the best mojitos I have tried, jeje, in Finland!!! and a historical place in the heart of this unique city.Good to know that this building was headquarter for the nazis in the WW II because of its location. Do not forget to visit the white Cathedral a must....

Room Tip: Try to get the highest floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The hotel is located in the heart of Helsinki, you can´t get lost because it is the tallest building around.
Our room was modern and cosy and the building is quite interesting with a mix of old and modern decoration. The elevator in front of the reception is worth a visit. But the best of this hotel awaits in the upper floor: after climbing some spiral stairs you can find a pub where you can have a "mojito" with the best views of the city!
The only defect I found was that the reception was always busy many people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikkeli, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Torni with my 4yo daughter and first impressions were that the reception area was nowhere as grand as the photos on the website make it look, a facelift is needed. I chose this hotel for its location and also having visited the roof top bar before, which is excellent and a real experience, I expected a lot from this hotel. The room was very stylish and had enough room for a king sized bed and a double sofa bed but the bathroom was tiny, extra points for a proper hair dryer though. Unfortunately the room was baking hot and the air conditioning did nothing so opened the window and found the previous guests' dirty nappy on the windowsill. It was promptly removed when mentioned to the staff.

The restaurant downstairs deserves a mention - it is posh and grown up with a very simple menu but the food is delicious and service was excellent. They offer the best in season and although they do not have a children's menu, my daughter had "the best fish ever" (her words) which we were not charged for as we were guests. I also liked the fact my daughter was treated like a guest in her own right. I had the steak which itself was only ok but the presentation and the little extras were great.

Breakfast was also very good - the staff were attentive and cleared up quicker than I have seen in any hotel in Finland. The offering was typical fare with the welcome addition of grilled bacon. Breads were very good, cold meats also, still find the cakes and biscuits disturbing at breakfast time but not this hotel's fault. The atmosphere in the breakfast room was calm and friendly, nicer than I have experienced in a lot of Finnish hotels.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at Torni for one night in June 2012 and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is located only steps from the main attractions. Rooms are small, but very clean and quiet. Breakfast was tasty and the staff great. I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Torni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Address: Yrjonkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Torni 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokos Hotel Torni is one of the most important landmarks in Helsinki, a classic with staying power in the heart of the city. Quiet location in Helsinki Design District, right next to the shopping and the entertainment area of Helsinki. We welcome you to experience the unique Torni spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Torni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.