We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arty small hotel in quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Solo Sokos Hotel Torni to your Saves list
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yrjonkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Arty small hotel in quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The Torni is in an historic building which was once the tallest in Helsinki. The rooms are decorated in a variety of historical periods so it is worth asking for what appeals to you most. I had booked a single room online, however it was so tiny I had to upgrade to a double. Breakfast was very nice, but the same every day. I loved the bathroom with a heated red square in the floor. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and I had free wifi to three different devices. The location is very central and convenient to trams, bus and rail and shops. If I returned I might prefer to stay at Glo or Kamp, as they are better for shopping and waterfront. Very cool bar on the rooftop, and cute little affordable restaurant called Kitch nearby.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    254
    59
    10
    3
See reviews for
42
200
64
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend after my fiancé was in Helsinki for work. The Torni is actually one of the tallest building in Helsinki and can be seen from many locations throughout the city and while on Baltic sea excursions (helpful to find your way back if you get lost).

The Hotel has some real early 19th century features, from the stairwell elevator to the domed lobby. Note how the theme of the hotel's shape resonates in the light fixtures and columns in the main restaurant.

Our room 423 was large, with a magnificent bed. While the bathroom was an average size, again it was full or period features, including a claw-legged roll-top bath.

The breakfast buffet was amazing. And as others viewers mention, the rooftop bar is worth a trip to take photos alone.

We didn't pay for the hotel ourselves. However, we opted not to stay a third night as we could find accommodation cheaper elsewhere. Although if returning, I'd probably look into staying at the Torni again due to its excellent location and general comfort.

Room Tip: Rooms in the older building seem larger than the others depicted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Everything at the Hotel was OK. nothing was "great" but then again nothing was "bad".

Room :
- There was no Tea / Coffee facilities in the room, which would've been nice.
- The bed was comfortable, I had no problems sleeping.
- Free wifi was good. Download speeds were quite slow ( for large amounts of data ). If you just want to browse the internet then it's fine.
- The blinds didn't really keep the room dark ( when it's light at 3AM this can be an issue )
- Bathroom was OK, though a little cramped around the sink. There was a socket above the sink, set high enough so you can't splash it, but then this made it difficult to charge a toothbrush.

Food :
There was a good selection at Breakfast : plenty of hot dishes as well as cold. Most of the tables in the restaurant were quite large, so for couples or people travelling alone it often meant sharing.

If I went to Helsinki for a holiday I probably wouldn't choose to stay here, but for a business trip it was ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend. The hotel is just 5 min off the main shopiing area and shopping center (Stockman). The rooms are big, clean and had much light (due to big windows/ high ceilings). Some noise from the street on the Saturday (due to some bars on the other side of the road).
The breakfast buffet is good, and the nextdoor bar has a nice garden.
The hotel also has a fantastic roof-bar (though a bit small so come early) with fantastic views of the city and great drinks (a bit pricey); this place can be visited even though you don't stay at the hotel, and is worth a visit on a sunny day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

The Sokos Torni is a middle range business hotel in the centre of Helsinki. The building is old but decently renovated. The rooms are sufficiently spacious and have no carpet, a feature I like very much for hygiene reasons. TV is good, safe is too small. WiFi is included. The main drawback is the too small bathroom. It is difficult to stand in front of the mirror to shave because there is not enough space next to the toilet.
Staff is nice and professional. Breakfast ok but nothing special. Seem difficult to buy normal eggs in Helsinki to make normal scrambled eggs.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgå
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Spent 1 night there my fiancé and I, celebrating his 30 year birthday. The check-in was smooth and Ulla was very welcoming. Our room, 409 on 4th floor was in the end of the hallway and very quiet from the hotel side but there was some noise coming from the street. Not disturbingly much anyhow. We had a suite including bath tub and balcony. The bath tub did unfortunately not fit 2 persons which we had hoped but the bathroom was classy and nice anyway. Lot's of amenities they had, like body lotion, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, vanity kit, shower cap, toothbrush and razor set etc. There was a blowdryer as well and well enough towels, 2 bathrobes and 2 pairs of slippers. The entrance had sufficient closets and an ironing board and safe. The salon had a flatscreen TV, writing desk, small sofa and table in the salon. We liked the material of the furniture and the colour scheme. Thedouble curtains let in light when needed and kept out the light when needed. The entrance to the balcony was from the salon and was narrow and the balcony itself undistinguished. The only thing decorating it was a small tree. No chairs, table or anything. I was dissapointed. The size of the balcony was maybe 1x3 meters with wobbly floor. There was no other view except for to the street Yrjönkatu. The bedroom we really fancied, huge flatscreen TV in front of a king size double bed. Finally a hotel with sufficient amount of pillows! =)
The bed was supercomfortable and kept us sleeping in just the right temprature. As we had booked the suite we were able to choose breakfast delivered to our room. It was a more narrow selection that one can find in the breakfast buffet. It included natural youghurt, muesli, 1 glass of orange juice per pers., coffee/tea, 2 croissants, white & dark bread with some plate of cheeses, eggies and ham's. I was missing drinking water. Of course one can drink tapwater as well but in Helsinki it tastes to chlorineFor a bigger variety, I suggest you go down to the buffet. The WiFi was free and the minibar expensive. A small piccolo of red wine 10 EUR, can of Cola 4 EUR etc.
We loved the bed and 1 night experience of luxury and didn't really dislike anything. Was just missing something to sit on on the balcony =) Go here for above the average experience and visiting the Panorama bar on the 14th floor is a MUST! =)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 409, 4th floor with view only to the building across the street and the street Yrj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Since I relied heavily on tripadviser reviews for selecting hotels during my recent trip, it's only fair that I return the favor because the reviews were spot on. The location is great, breakfast is great, and the roof top bar is awesome. Our room was large and clean, and the service was great. Everything is within walking distance from this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Klaus K Hotel
#10 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 756 reviews
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Torni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Address: Yrjonkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Torni 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokos Hotel Torni is one of the most important landmarks in Helsinki, a classic with staying power in the heart of the city. Quiet location in Helsinki Design District, right next to the shopping and the entertainment area of Helsinki. We welcome you to experience the unique Torni spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Torni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.