We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Save Saved
You added Solo Sokos Hotel Torni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yrjonkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Jyvaskyla, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Very nice hotel, superior room was spacious and clean. Own balcony was a nice surprise. Hotel has a perfect location at center of Helsinki, but still the rooms are quiet and you can't here any traffic noises to the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    160
    39
    6
    1
See reviews for
24
122
48
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This is a hotel with long history. it is perfectly located and really stylish. We had a family room which was big enough but unfortunately provided no view to at all. If you are lucky the rooms up in the tower offer brilliant views. The Atelje Bar on the top is most recommended, splendid view!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I spent two nights at the Torni (= tower) hotel and was fortunate to have corner room on the the 7th floor with a beautiful view in two directions. It was a quite small single room but everything was very nice and completely satisfactory. A trendy glass wall between the room and the bathroom made both seem larger. The whole hotel has preserved the original art deco style of 1931 when Torni first opened, which I found most interesting and fascinating. Torni has a very central location within walking distance of the central railway station where also the airport bus stops. The breakfast was of high standard.

Room Tip: The view rooms are on the 7th - 11th floor (each having only 4 rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyväskylä
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I stayed in the Torni for 3 nights in the Summer of 2010 with my boyfriend. We had a double en-suite room in the third or fourth floor. The room was really nice and clean, bed was really comfy etc. It is probably the best hotel in Helsinki, as far as I'm concerned.

The location is great, just in the middle of central Helsinki.

The breakfast is average, being a bit industrial as many of the hotel breakfasts in Finland. However, you have a lot to choose from!

The bar/café on the roof is something to see - the prices are really expensive but the view is great. It is a really nice place to visit when travelling in Helsinki.

The only warning I need to give are the toilets. Torni has a unique style of having the toilets and the shower box made from glass (or something through which you can see). For couples/good friends it is not a problem, but if you are planning on taking a twin room for example with someone you don't know that well, bare in mind that the other one can see you taking a shower/going to the toilet. It's actually a fun detail!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

This was my first stay at the hotel although I had visited the top floor bar before (highly recommended). It was fully booked and I arrived rather late, so I was given a room at first floor. The style was nice, combining traditions and today. However, the furniture was already a bit run-down.

My room was facing backyard, so there was no noise from outside. However, the walls or ceilings in an old building are not verygood at insulationg noise. All through the night I heard slamming doors or heavy steps.

This hotel has long corridors with steps and heavy doors, so it might not be the best choice if you are disabled or travel with children.

The breakfast was normal, Finnish hotel breakfast with all the basic stuff and some extras.

Location is good, central but not facing any main street.

Room Tip: There must be a great view from the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Torni is a nice and stylish hotel in the center of Helsinki (near Kamppi bus station).
The room was small, but clean and all the facilities were available. The staff was helpful.
During the weekend the breakfast room was a bit too overcrowded. Otherwise, the food was great and selection rather good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

I enjoyed my two-night stay at this hotel a lot. I had a nice and quiet room on the 5th floor. The only think about this hotel that struck me as a bit funny is the elevator. There's only one tiny one that goes all through the building + one that went to the 5th floor.
So if you're travelling with children in prams this might not be your hotel as the tiny elevator was full most of the time?
excellent breakfast and I managed to get myself a table by the window both mornings :)!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Torni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Address: Yrjonkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Torni 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokos Hotel Torni is one of the most important landmarks in Helsinki, a classic with staying power in the heart of the city. Quiet location in Helsinki Design District, right next to the shopping and the entertainment area of Helsinki. We welcome you to experience the unique Torni spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Torni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.