We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Solo Sokos Hotel Torni to your Saves list
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yrjonkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersBronze level
Eastern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, great rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I stayed in the Torni for 3 nights in the Summer of 2010 with my boyfriend. We had a double en-suite room in the third or fourth floor. The room was really nice and clean, bed was really comfy etc. It is probably the best hotel in Helsinki, as far as I'm concerned.

The location is great, just in the middle of central Helsinki.

The breakfast is average, being a bit industrial as many of the hotel breakfasts in Finland. However, you have a lot to choose from!

The bar/café on the roof is something to see - the prices are really expensive but the view is great. It is a really nice place to visit when travelling in Helsinki.

The only warning I need to give are the toilets. Torni has a unique style of having the toilets and the shower box made from glass (or something through which you can see). For couples/good friends it is not a problem, but if you are planning on taking a twin room for example with someone you don't know that well, bare in mind that the other one can see you taking a shower/going to the toilet. It's actually a fun detail!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reeakristiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

This was my first stay at the hotel although I had visited the top floor bar before (highly recommended). It was fully booked and I arrived rather late, so I was given a room at first floor. The style was nice, combining traditions and today. However, the furniture was already a bit run-down.

My room was facing backyard, so there was no noise from outside. However, the walls or ceilings in an old building are not verygood at insulationg noise. All through the night I heard slamming doors or heavy steps.

This hotel has long corridors with steps and heavy doors, so it might not be the best choice if you are disabled or travel with children.

The breakfast was normal, Finnish hotel breakfast with all the basic stuff and some extras.

Location is good, central but not facing any main street.

Room Tip: There must be a great view from the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maril_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Torni is a nice and stylish hotel in the center of Helsinki (near Kamppi bus station).
The room was small, but clean and all the facilities were available. The staff was helpful.
During the weekend the breakfast room was a bit too overcrowded. Otherwise, the food was great and selection rather good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulla_Estonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

I enjoyed my two-night stay at this hotel a lot. I had a nice and quiet room on the 5th floor. The only think about this hotel that struck me as a bit funny is the elevator. There's only one tiny one that goes all through the building + one that went to the 5th floor.
So if you're travelling with children in prams this might not be your hotel as the tiny elevator was full most of the time?
excellent breakfast and I managed to get myself a table by the window both mornings :)!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Torni is a quaint hotel in the center of Helsinki yet just a bit removed from the hustle and bustle of the city center. This is probably my 5th time staying at this hotel. It is historical and has old world charm. Everything is within walking distance from great shopping to nightlife to bus, rail and cruise ships. The staff is very courteous and helpful.

My favorites are Ateljee Bar Terrace on top of the building and O'Malley's at street level. I just wish that O'Malley's or the American Bar would be open on Sunday's.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willyt962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

I stayed in the Torni for 3 nights in September 2011. My overall impressions are quite positive and I would return here again without hesitation. As usual - The Good, The OK, and The Ugly

The Good
1. Location. In the heart of the city.
2. Clean. The room including the bathroom, sheets, towels, etc. were nice and clean. Well done.
3. Room. The room (#218) was on the smaller side had a double bed, working desk and small lounge chair. There was a safe in the room and an open closet with 8 or so hangers. Overall worked well for me, but may be a tad on the tight side for two depending upon how much luggage.
4. Breakfast. Quite a variety with breads, fruit, cereal, some warm food, cheeses, etc. Should have a bit of something for most.
5. Irish pub inside the hotel. Dropped in one evening when there was live traditional Irish music. It was excellent and added to the nice environment.
6. Lounge/bar on top of hotel. This offering was fantastic in terms of views all across the city. Really nice for sure. Not a huge space, but worth the adventure up the stairs to check it out.

The OK
1. My TV did not work. At all. Would not turn on. Not a major deal and actually didn't realize until 3rd night. Called front desk and they sent over housekeeping that failed to get it working. The helpful attendant said she would have engineering look the next day.
2. Continuing about the TV, when I informed the front desk upon checkout the clerk did not say anything in terms of "sorry" or "apologies" in any sense. Her response was "really?" She did note down the room number, and while I was not looking for a long apology - I did expect a bit more...

The Ugly.
Nothing

Again - solid place with clean small rooms (or at least mine). With breakfast and location the rate was right and I would look into staying here the next time I return.

Enjoy Helsinki.

Jeremy

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Sokos hotel was in a great location in the heart of Helsinki. The rooms was very nice and very clean.
Our room was Art Deco style decorated in a very clever way.The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of foods ,juice and coffees.
The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klaus d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Scandic Paasi
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Torni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Address: Yrjonkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Torni 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokos Hotel Torni is one of the most important landmarks in Helsinki, a classic with staying power in the heart of the city. Quiet location in Helsinki Design District, right next to the shopping and the entertainment area of Helsinki. We welcome you to experience the unique Torni spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Torni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing