We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad start with a bit happier ending” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Pasila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Original Sokos Hotel Pasila to your Saves list
Original Sokos Hotel Pasila
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Maistraatinportti 3, Helsinki 00240, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very bad start with a bit happier ending”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We, two adults and two chidren aged 6 and 7 arrived at 9 pm. We booked on booking.com. An already upset receptionist who must have had a very bad day gave us the room key with polite words but her body language was saying the opposite. In the room there were two single beds and the sofa as we expected but bed linen only for two. So I went down to complain but there was a lady before me who did not speak English but nevertheless it was possible to understand she has the same problem: three beds, three people but only two beds made. The receptionist did not understand her so I helped but instead of thanking, the receptionist got even more upset, now not even hiding it. I told her the story and she told me to show her my comfirmation which I did. She insisted that the room was reserved for two so I showed her that my confirmation says: Family room for 2 adults plus two children. She insisted still that the children were supposed to sleep in the bed of the parents (which is by the way impossible with two children of such age) or I should pay extra for the suplementary bed. Howeverer, the reservation clearly stated that no supplemetary bed was possible and it was made for four and the second double bed (sofa) was there so I could not understand what the misunderstanding could be. Nevertheless, after a final climax of arguing I stated that I have nothing against problems, all can be solved but the tone of the lady behind the desk was really unacceptable. She did apologise and after the dinner in the restaurant the bed was made and even some nice small presents were prepared for the children so we could finally go to bed at around 11. This happy ending could nevertheless not really wake our good mood anymore even though the room was fine and breakfast as well was good. After our fantastic stay in Finland this last night was more like a nightmare. Otherwise hotel facilities are fine, hotel looks old from the outside and inside as well but it is still in good shape.
I would honestly recommend the lady at the reception desk to change profession and urge the management of the hotel to make it clear in Booking.com reservations what exactly is included in the price. We were informed that this was not the first time when the reservation clearly states that the room is for more people but the onfirmation going to the hotel shows only 2...
I don't think we would ever return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraRissanen, Guest Relations Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Pasila, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you for your time to write this review. We are more than sorry to hear that beginning of your stay was not the way you expected. We will discuss with the staff and housekeeping about these problems. If guest is not sure what kind of room will be he has reserved, we are more than happy to response all your questions also in advance. I will send feedback to our revenue management who takes care of booking.com site about this matter. Hopefully your trip to Helsinki was otherwise a nice experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    55
    32
    8
    2
See reviews for
17
14
12
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here with family after visiting Korkeasaari. The price for our stay was moderate and overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The best thing was the playroom on the second floor where our kids (5 & 2 years old) really had a good time. The hotelroom was ok, but a bit worn and dirty with potato chips on the floor and dirty glasses in the minibar. The children enjoyed the fact that the room had a bathtub. The restaurant Sevilla located at the ground floor wasn´t to our satisfaction as service was very slow. We had just main courses and it took in total 1 hour 45 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraRissanen, Guest Relations Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Pasila, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for your feedback. All the feedback is important to us to improve our services. It would be very important to let us know during your stay if there is something in your room that does not satisfy you, so that we could make our best to fix it. I apologise a slow service in the restaurant. I will take your feedback to our restaurant manager and we will discuss about this matter.
We hope to see you as our guest again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have stayed at Sokos Hotel Pasila (named more recently Original Sokos Hotel Pasila) at least 20 times during the past two and half years. All stays have been business / work related. The rooms are generally quite ascetic but some of them have a bath tube. Breakfast is quite typical Finnish hotel breakfast: bacon, scrambled eggs, sausages, vegeatables etc. - nothing special. I have never tried the sauna compartment. Once last spring there was one major drawback when I had a room booked to this hotel: the room was given away to another person even though it was guaranteed by a credit card. The hotel staff arranged me another room at the city center. However, no compensation of any kind was ever presented to me. To summarize: there are certainly better places to stay in Helsinki but for me the location of this hotel is perfect. However, the room rates are often rather high for some reason.

Room Tip: Consider getting the "S card" if you stay a lot in Sokos hotels. It pays itself back reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraRissanen, Guest Relations Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Pasila, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your room has been given away last spring even though the booking was guaranteed by credit card. I apologise that and I hope you will still consider our hotel as an option to stay in Helsinki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Originally from London, UK - now living in Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Well located near to the Hartwall Arena and not too far a walk away from the Linnanmäki amusement park, which we visited during our stay. We took the Linnanmäki hotel package which included 2 'free' adult wristbands for the park.

Reception staff were really pleasant and informative. The room was well furnished and comfortable. Cannot quibble about anything in the room really. They gave us a family room though our 5 year old son usually prefers to jump in with us during hotel trips and just as well the bed was nice and large for us three to fit. Very comfortable night's sleep too.

Breakfast was OK though we didn't realise till we went through the mayhem of queuing, trying to find somewhere to sit and eat, with our bodies pumped full of adrenalin, that the hotel have notices in a few areas of their restaurant that the last hour of breakfast (so 09:00-10:00am) is their busiest period. So can't complain about this aspect really apart from to say "holy mo" to the chaos!! They served the usual breakfast fayre, typical for Finland, and perfectly adequate. Gluten free and lactose free options, too. They have a kids room just along from the breakfast dining area, which my son did not fail to spot on our way out, so we spent a good hour here before going back to our room to pack our things. It was a nice facility to use and for those supervising their kids could the free hotel wifi whilst the kids amuse themselves.

We did not like the Sevilla restaurant, located on the hotel's ground floor but I have given a separate review for this and does not reflect on my opinion of the hotel itself.

Would choose this hotel again if we needed to stay in the Pasila area. Recommend to others, too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraRissanen, Guest Relations Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Pasila, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding our hotel. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. During the summer season we have this opportunity to offer a nice playground for the children.

We hope to see you as our guest in a near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Located next to Hartwall Arena. Good transport connections to Helsinki city.
Quite same prices than the hotels at the city, should be less expencive! Breakfast ok, not great but there is a good range of foods available - gluten free bread also.

Ok hotel, quite average.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraRissanen, Guest Relations Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Pasila, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and taking your time to write this review.
We hope to see you as our guest in a near future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

It's probably the best choice if you're going to attend any events at Hartwaal Areena which locates just about 7-10 mins away (walking). Very quiet place at evenings and Sundays. For those who have no problems using public transport - there's tram stop about 5 meters away from the hotel, which is bad, on other hand, if you stay on 3rd or 4th floor, 'cause sounds of trams stopping and running are pretty audible.

A little bit far away from the center of Helsinki - 8-10 tram stops, or 35-40 mins by walking. Nice huge park near the hotel. Parking doesn't belong to the hotel, so you gotta pay it aside of the hotel bill. Had no any problems with room service, breakfasts are okay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side opposite to tram line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraRissanen, Guest Relations Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Pasila, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to write this review.
Next time please do not hesitate to ask for a room another side of the hotel, not facing to tram line. Luckily trams are not running thru whole night.

We hope to see you as our guest in a near future again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Generally an average and clean hotel with good connections to the city center. It is located in a quiet area just 200 meter walks from Pasila railway station, which is near Helsinki exhibition & convention centre and Hartwall arena, and about 4 km from the center of Helsinki. You can reach everywhere easily with bus, train or tram. Tram 7B to the city centre stop in front of hotel.
Cosy rooms, good service and a very rich and good breakfast. Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraRissanen, Guest Relations Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Pasila, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to write this review. We hope to see you as our guest in a near future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Pasila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Pasila

Address: Maistraatinportti 3, Helsinki 00240, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Pasila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented Hotel located near Helsinki Fair Center & Central Park (tram stops at entrance). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Pasila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Pasila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.