We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alternative for downtown, more economical! Tram outside the door.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Pasila

Save Saved
You added Original Sokos Hotel Pasila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Pasila
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Maistraatinportti 3, Helsinki 00240, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
TX
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Alternative for downtown, more economical! Tram outside the door.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Tram stop is outside the door. Convenient to downtown less than 10 minutes away with trams going by constantly. Be aware trams stop around midnight though.
If you purchase a Helsinki card, all public transportation as well as museums are included.
The hotel itself is clean, functional. We had a triple room that was ample with comfortable beds.
Breakfast was excellent with multilingual, friendly staff.
The hotel even helped us storing our luggage at their downtown location and made all the arrangements for us, making it very convenient to keep the luggage in the hotel right next to the train station and the finnair bus to the airport.
The hotel is next to a huge park that is full of trails.
I would recommend a room not facing the tram as it may be a bit noisy if you have the window open.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the tram if you want to avoid the noise. If you have the window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraRissanen, Guest Relations Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Pasila, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our location is good for those who wants to stay in Helsinki but near the nature. Central Park is a good place for a nice walk or for a run and city centre is easy to reach by tram.

We hope to see you as our guest again in the future again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    38
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
10
12
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

As I was staying for only one night the tiny room was tolerable, my colleague who's room was equally small remarked it was like being in a hostel, I'd say this gives you a good indication of how small the room & shower room. The room does come with a desk with it’s of little use with a very uncomfortable plastic chair and no space to move it between the desk and end of bed.
I took my laptop to work in the restaurant.

Aside from the serious space problem the room was very clean. The breakfast buffet was a little disappointing, with nothing to my taste (I’m not a fussy eater) and the layout made it difficult to self-serve i.e. butter was not available in portions, so on toasting bread had to butter it at the buffet on a tiny space while others waited around to get to the toaster

If you need somewhere for a quick stop over then maybe, but at the price of the rooms I’m sure there is something better to be found.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraRissanen, Guest Relations Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Pasila, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you so much for taking your time to write this review. All feedback is welcome to us.
We hope to see you again next time you visit Helsinki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

the hotel is well based if you go in Helsinki for business and if you need an accommodation near the fair centre.
the rooms are clean & comfortable. The spanish restaurant it so good and also the sauna is not bad.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietarsaari, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I have worked for a decade at a company in Helsinki with the head office in Pasila. The locations is pure gold when working in the northern parts of Helsinki. The closeness to the Pasila railway station also means that you are never more than a local train ride away from virtually anywhere.The restarurant (Sevilla) offers quality food at affordable prices (Mediterranean cuisine) and the breakfast buffet is OK as well. Having stayed more than 100 nights at Hotel Pasila I can safely say that the biggest resource there is the personnel. You are always met by a friendly face and a "Hello, how are you?" and no query is to small for them assist with. The rooms at Pasila are tidy and roomy and offer peace and quiet even with the tram-line running next to the hotel building. (this also a big bonus when going down-town, numer 7A/B). I always call SHP my home away from home, and can recommend it as a logistically smart, easily accessible hotel, just north of the heart of Helsinki.

Room Tip: avoid lower floors on the west side (right above the tram line)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraRissanen, Guest Relations Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Pasila, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Sir,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoy to stay with us over and over again. Thank you for your kind feedback.

We will probably see you again in a near future!

Kind regards,
Petra Rissanen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed at the hotel 2 nights when we participated in a fair att the congress center near by. Lingonberry was the first thing I thaught about when I came in! The same colour and even the bathroom amenities had lingonberry fragrance! We got a superior room on the top floor. Nice view although it was full snowstorm outdoors. They had an extra radiator in the wardrobe in case. There was other things in the wardrobe too: ironing board, iron, safebox...
Decoration style was cozy and functional.
Breakfast was very tasty. I just love porrige in the mornings...! Fresh bread and pirogs and cakes.
Just 1,3 km to walk to the congress center or 5 in taxi and tramway stop just 100 m from the entrance. Don't know how the public communications are in general if you want to go to Helsinki center put Pasila's metro station is just 1 km away.
Staff nice and correct.

Room Tip: Superior was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraRissanen, Guest Relations Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Pasila, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding the Sokos Hotel Pasila.
We hope to see you as our guest again in the near future.

Best regards,
Petra Rissanen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaa, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I use this hotel few times per year. Good basic hotel, very clean, good staff and vero good breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimmoSipilainen, Guest Relations Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Pasila, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write this review and thank you very much for your kind feedback. We hope to see you as our guest again in the future again.

Best regards,
Petra Rissanen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Normal Sokos Hotel quality. Nothing special, but everything runs as it is supposed to run.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimmoSipilainen, Guest Relations Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Pasila, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel.
We hope to see you as our guest again in the future again.

Kind regards,
Petra Rissanen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Pasila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Pasila

Address: Maistraatinportti 3, Helsinki 00240, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Pasila 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented Hotel located near Helsinki Fair Center & Central Park (tram stops at entrance). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Pasila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Pasila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.