We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Save Saved
You added Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, great area, quite enjoyable overall. My only complaints were that it was hot (not necessarily the hotels fault since they were quick to open the windows when requested) and the breakfast was crowded and not well laid out for the flow of people. Oh, also the gym is an extra fee so if you're interested in that then that might be good to know.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Heidi_Ruti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Monique D,

Thank you for your review of our hotel! I was happy to hear that overall your stay was enjoyable. The last few weeks have been very hot in Finland, but good to hear that opening the window helped a little.

It is true, that the last hour of the breakfast is often the busiest, especially at summer time. We try to inform our guest about this at the check in, so that it won't be a surprise in the morning.

Easy Fit Helsinki Club fitness center is not operated by us, so I'm afraid we can't offer it free of charge. At the moment it costs 8€/stay for our guests.

Welcome back to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki next time you visit Helsinki!

Kind regards,

Heidi Ruti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    130
    72
    12
    5
See reviews for
42
64
41
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ca
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Gracious Finns....we've fallen in love with this city and stayed in this lovely hotel located in the heart of it. The staff couldn't be nicer and the rooms are clean, spacious. The beds are comfortable. We had no problem obtaining an iron to press a few things. Dinner was very nice as well. We did look across the street at a McDonald's which was a little disconcerting but then, every city has one and I'm glad they are well received. Not our choice for a meal when there's so much great food available but that's another review.

Room Tip: A vacuum cleaner was being used in the room above ours from 11:30 to 2:00 am which was a bit disconc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi_Ruti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Idame,

Thank you for your very kind words! I welcome you back to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki next time you visit Helsinki!

Kind regards,

Heidi Ruti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great location: 3 min. walking to the train station and airport buses; 5-10 min. - to the sightseeing places. Staff at the reception was very hospitable and helpful. The receptionist kindly organized early breakfast for us because we had to leave before the opening hours.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi_Ruti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Vilte L,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff very helpful. I'd like to think that our staff can tell you the best kept secrets of Helsinki!

We like to take good care of those who have to check out early. But early breakfast is not the same as our buffet breakfast, so I hope that next time you have time to enjoy full breakfast! Welcome back to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki!

Best regards,

Heidi Ruti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here for two nights, really enjoyed it. It's in a brilliant area of the city, literally two minutes walk from the national gallery, train station and cathedral. The bedrooms decorated plainly but nice, the room had a bath and free wifi. No coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi_Ruti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Andrew S,

Thank you for your review, great to hear that you find our location to be excellent. All the superior rooms and suites have coffee and tea making facilities even though standard rooms don't have those.

Welcome back to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki next time you visit Helsinki!

Kind regards,

Heidi Ruti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just what you would expect from a well established hotel. However, we needed extra help because my wife suffered a back injury and the reception staff were extremely good at locating just what we needed. An excellent breakfast buffet and the restaurant was value for money. Very central.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi_Ruti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Jim T,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel! Friendly service is very important to us, so I was very happy to hear that our staff made your stay excellent!

I hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Heidi Ruti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed one night at the hotel with two friends. We stayed in a triple room which was real spacious and comfortable for us. The room was clean, the beds comfortable and plenty of storage. It is evident that the hotel is not "brand new" but it was not run down or shabby in any way. The staff was friendly and the location excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanneleLa, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear ferdagarpur,

Thank you for choosing Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki for your hotel to stay in Helsinki.

I am glad to read about your opinions on our hotel and our staff. The friendliness of the staff is one of the main issues we are investing and it is delightful to hear that we have succeeded in that.

I wish you most welcome to stay at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki also next time when visiting Helsinki.

Best regards,
Hannele Laurila
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Overall I had a pleasant stay at Sokos hotel Helsinki. I stayed for 5 nights attending a business follow up course at the Helsinki University (next door -j ust around the corner). The hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast was lovely with a large selection. The room I got (a single) was small and a bit bland, but more than big enough for me. Super comfy bed. The shower room was tiny though. The hotel is so central - you can actually walk to everything worth seeing. Close to the railwaystation. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanneleLa, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear jpjFredrikstad,

Thank you very much for visiting Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki and writing your review of our hotel.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here. Especially your comment on the helpfulness of our staff makes me very happy.

I wish you most welcome to stay at our hotel – in the heart of Helsinki – also next time when visiting Helsinki.

Best regards,
Hannele Laurila
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Address: Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and cosy Sokos Hotel Helsinki is located in the heart of Helsinki, between Ateneum (the Museum of Finnish Art), and the Senate Square. The hotel is located next to the major shopping streets and it is only 300 meters from Helsinki Central Station. All the hotel rooms are designed with fresh, Scandinavian style and have hardwood floors, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TV. Some rooms have a private sauna. There is a complimentary internet point with three computers in the lobby area. The hotel also houses two great restaurants: Fransmanni and Memphis. Fransmanni offers French-inspired cuisine and the hotel’s rich breakfast buffet is served there every morning. Memphis is a more upbeat restaurant with tasty burgers and cool drinks. The hotel is also a great venue for small-scale meetings, and offers two meeting rooms for a maximum of 30 persons. The sauna department is located at the top floor and can also be rented for private use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helsinki Sokos Hotel
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.