We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki to your Saves list
Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed one night at the hotel with two friends. We stayed in a triple room which was real spacious and comfortable for us. The room was clean, the beds comfortable and plenty of storage. It is evident that the hotel is not "brand new" but it was not run down or shabby in any way. The staff was friendly and the location excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanneleLa, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear ferdagarpur,

Thank you for choosing Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki for your hotel to stay in Helsinki.

I am glad to read about your opinions on our hotel and our staff. The friendliness of the staff is one of the main issues we are investing and it is delightful to hear that we have succeeded in that.

I wish you most welcome to stay at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki also next time when visiting Helsinki.

Best regards,
Hannele Laurila
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    136
    73
    12
    5
See reviews for
43
66
42
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredrikstad, Norway
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Overall I had a pleasant stay at Sokos hotel Helsinki. I stayed for 5 nights attending a business follow up course at the Helsinki University (next door -j ust around the corner). The hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast was lovely with a large selection. The room I got (a single) was small and a bit bland, but more than big enough for me. Super comfy bed. The shower room was tiny though. The hotel is so central - you can actually walk to everything worth seeing. Close to the railwaystation. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanneleLa, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear jpjFredrikstad,

Thank you very much for visiting Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki and writing your review of our hotel.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here. Especially your comment on the helpfulness of our staff makes me very happy.

I wish you most welcome to stay at our hotel – in the heart of Helsinki – also next time when visiting Helsinki.

Best regards,
Hannele Laurila
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel was clean and had good basic facilities. There are lots of Sokos hotels in the city so don't rely on taxi drivers knowing which is which.

Hotel is a great location with good tram services to most parts of the city. Two attached restaurants do good food and there is lots to see nearby.

Definitely recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmng, Johtaja at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear MartynLewis,

Thank you very much for your kind review of Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki. I am so glad to read about your opinions.

You are quite right that there are several Sokos Hotels in Helsinki, and that is why we recommend our guests to give the street address to taxi drivers when coming here for the first time.

I wish you most welcome to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki also next time visiting Helsinki.

Best regards,
Hannele Laurila
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, UK
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Very well located - shops and trams on the door step, just a 5 min walk to the cathedral (worth a look) , pleasure cruise terminal and central rail station.

Rooms are ok. Clean but quite bland - bed very comfortable though. Curtains are good which is useful in June when it hardly gets dark. Free and reliable wifi.

Plenty of choice at breakfast buffet although seating could be limited when hotel is busy.

Make sure you get the right Sokos hotel as there's quite a few in Helsinki

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmng, Johtaja at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Baxie,

Thank you so much for taking your time and writing a review of Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki in Tripadvisor. I am happy to know that you have liked our hotel in the heart of Helsinki.

There are several Sokos Hotels in the center of Helsinki so it is advisable to tell taxi driver the street address of the hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel next time when you visit Helsinki.

Best regards,
Hannele Laurila
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal, QC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Overall, the Sokos hotel is a good, reliable, reasonably comfortable hotel if you get a good rate in this very expensive city. The location is excellent, walking distance from interesting sites, among very upscale shops and restaurants, easy walk to waterfront. But by North American standards, the hotel is uneven.
Pros: Clean and tidy, modern bathroom (but with that odd European shower stall that lets the entire floor flood as you shower; a squeegee on long handle is provided to shove the water into the drain) with good lighting and a good hairdryer, good counter space. Bed is comfortable enough, room darkening curtains. I asked for and received a very quiet room (albeit no view). In-room safe and built in desk. Enough hanging space for clothes. Very lavish breakfast included.
Cons: My single room was very small and cramped; the overall style is like a better student dorm, no carpet. Weather was cool so I am not sure if the climate control actually works. TV had one reliably English language station (BBC Int'l) + some random American shows on other stations. Nothing terribly wrong with this hotel but you should know that it does not feel like an American hotel.

Room Tip: Decide if you want to sacrifice view for quiet – 'inner' rooms are very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This hotel is very well located for shopping, night life and culture. The staff was friendly and breakfast varied. The single room was spacious enough and spotlessly clean. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has seen better days. The rooms are a bit down at heal. Breakfast is a bit of a self service nordic bun fight - many people all service service. Nice bread and salmon if you are lucky and if has been replenished. The good thing is that it is very central and in a good location for seeing the sites. I wouldn't stay here again - stayed in the Hilton previously and it was much nicer (but further out).

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Address: Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and cosy Sokos Hotel Helsinki is located in the heart of Helsinki, between Ateneum (the Museum of Finnish Art), and the Senate Square. The hotel is located next to the major shopping streets and it is only 300 meters from Helsinki Central Station. All the hotel rooms are designed with fresh, Scandinavian style and have hardwood floors, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TV. Some rooms have a private sauna. There is a complimentary internet point with three computers in the lobby area. The hotel also houses two great restaurants: Fransmanni and Memphis. Fransmanni offers French-inspired cuisine and the hotel’s rich breakfast buffet is served there every morning. Memphis is a more upbeat restaurant with tasty burgers and cool drinks. The hotel is also a great venue for small-scale meetings, and offers two meeting rooms for a maximum of 30 persons. The sauna department is located at the top floor and can also be rented for private use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helsinki Sokos Hotel
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.