We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and an ok choice for a night or two” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki to your Saves list
Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
County Durham, UK
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
“Well located and an ok choice for a night or two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Very well located - shops and trams on the door step, just a 5 min walk to the cathedral (worth a look) , pleasure cruise terminal and central rail station.

Rooms are ok. Clean but quite bland - bed very comfortable though. Curtains are good which is useful in June when it hardly gets dark. Free and reliable wifi.

Plenty of choice at breakfast buffet although seating could be limited when hotel is busy.

Make sure you get the right Sokos hotel as there's quite a few in Helsinki

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmng, Johtaja at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Baxie,

Thank you so much for taking your time and writing a review of Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki in Tripadvisor. I am happy to know that you have liked our hotel in the heart of Helsinki.

There are several Sokos Hotels in the center of Helsinki so it is advisable to tell taxi driver the street address of the hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel next time when you visit Helsinki.

Best regards,
Hannele Laurila
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    130
    72
    12
    5
See reviews for
42
64
41
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
montreal, QC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Overall, the Sokos hotel is a good, reliable, reasonably comfortable hotel if you get a good rate in this very expensive city. The location is excellent, walking distance from interesting sites, among very upscale shops and restaurants, easy walk to waterfront. But by North American standards, the hotel is uneven.
Pros: Clean and tidy, modern bathroom (but with that odd European shower stall that lets the entire floor flood as you shower; a squeegee on long handle is provided to shove the water into the drain) with good lighting and a good hairdryer, good counter space. Bed is comfortable enough, room darkening curtains. I asked for and received a very quiet room (albeit no view). In-room safe and built in desk. Enough hanging space for clothes. Very lavish breakfast included.
Cons: My single room was very small and cramped; the overall style is like a better student dorm, no carpet. Weather was cool so I am not sure if the climate control actually works. TV had one reliably English language station (BBC Int'l) + some random American shows on other stations. Nothing terribly wrong with this hotel but you should know that it does not feel like an American hotel.

Room Tip: Decide if you want to sacrifice view for quiet – 'inner' rooms are very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This hotel is very well located for shopping, night life and culture. The staff was friendly and breakfast varied. The single room was spacious enough and spotlessly clean. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has seen better days. The rooms are a bit down at heal. Breakfast is a bit of a self service nordic bun fight - many people all service service. Nice bread and salmon if you are lucky and if has been replenished. The good thing is that it is very central and in a good location for seeing the sites. I wouldn't stay here again - stayed in the Hilton previously and it was much nicer (but further out).

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

I am staying at this hotel. From 6 to 10 May 14. Check in was quick and easy. Room is large and comfortable. Complete with fs tv, phone, ironing board and steam iron. Refridgerator, safe box and good bathroom with bath and shower, toilet and washbasin. Good mirror.hairdryer.
rooms cleaned daily

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Location is GREAT! The hotel is near everything, but not on the main roads. The main door is on the pedestrian street and you can access the Helsinki railway station (train, buss, tram, underground) by foot in few mins (even with luggage and a 3 yo walking).

We visited the hotel with our small kids and got, free of charge, a (bigger) room for disabled. The room was roomy even with baby cot and extra bed. And they being a potty with baby cot, which is awesome. As the room was located on the backyard, it was quiet on the Mayday eve, too. The room itself was nothing special - just another city hotel room (but bigger).

Also, free of charge, we were allowed to check in earlier than the usual 12 o'clock. That's possible if only they got free rooms... Ask the night before so they know to be ready for you if possible. All the staff we met (reception, cleaning, breakfast) was really friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was pretty standard. The room isn't too big, but it was kind of low season so everyone fitted well. The breakfast had only labels such as low lactose, non-lactose, so you didn't know what meat you had or cheese you took etc. We found that a bit weird. Ok, they would have needed space and it wouldn't have looked as good, but people have allergies and diets... I guess the personnel would have been happy to tell more about foods, but I actually think that no labels causes more garbage... But we loved that they had dark and light roast coffee and take away cups, too.

All in all:
Excellent location
Lovely staff
Room + brekkie ok, but nothing special

Didn't checked out their sauna which is supposed to have great view.

Tip: try Gastro Street Food on Bock's terrace next to Senate Square (opposite of the church, in courtyard)

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I had to choose a hotel in my hometown because my flat were being refurbished. Although my stay was short we spent plenty of time inside. The location cannot be better, the breakfast is gorgeous and the chambermaids are helpfull and very polite. Do not miss it while staying in Helsinki.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Address: Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and cosy Sokos Hotel Helsinki is located in the heart of Helsinki, between Ateneum (the Museum of Finnish Art), and the Senate Square. The hotel is located next to the major shopping streets and it is only 300 meters from Helsinki Central Station. All the hotel rooms are designed with fresh, Scandinavian style and have hardwood floors, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TV. Some rooms have a private sauna. There is a complimentary internet point with three computers in the lobby area. The hotel also houses two great restaurants: Fransmanni and Memphis. Fransmanni offers French-inspired cuisine and the hotel’s rich breakfast buffet is served there every morning. Memphis is a more upbeat restaurant with tasty burgers and cool drinks. The hotel is also a great venue for small-scale meetings, and offers two meeting rooms for a maximum of 30 persons. The sauna department is located at the top floor and can also be rented for private use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helsinki Sokos Hotel
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;