We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Save Saved
You added Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“good, good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Central location, you can easily access all main points in Helsinki. Central station and train stop just a few minutes of walk. friendly staff, nice breakfast, free wi-fi, ironing desk and iron in the room. what else you need for a business trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    128
    67
    11
    5
See reviews for
41
62
40
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just in the centre of Helsinki, five minutes away the Railway Central Station. The room was larger than I expected and very comfortable (free wifi). Friendly and helpful staff. It was a nice surprise because the price was cheaper than other hotels I have been looking. Breakfast was the only point to improve, as the room was too crowded every morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi_Ruti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki and your kind words. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you again on your next trip to Helsinki.

Kind regards,
Heidi Ruti
Hotel Manager, Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed for a week in August and had a lovely time. We especially liked the inhouse sauna, which is of course standard in Finland. The hotel was very clean and staff were friendly and helpful. The food at breakfast was lovely with a large selection.Overall a great experience. Would go again. Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruti_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, I was very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I'm also glad that you got to experience sauna, as it is such a big part of Finnish culture.

Welcome back on your next trip to Helsinki!

Kind regards,

Heidi Ruti
Hotel Manager
Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Booked my hotel with galahotels.com,got an excellent price.Checked my name from hotel 2 weeks before arrival and my name was on the list already,although in my voucher it was written- Please note that while your booking has been confirmed and guaranteed, the rooming list with your name may not be entered to hotel’s reservation system until closer to arrival.
Will use their service again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruti_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki and your helpful tips on Galahotels.com.

Hope to see you again in our hotel soon!

Kind regards,

Heidi Ruti
Hotel Manager
Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times, and have always had a pleasant experience.
The location, by the railway station and close to catch buses to the airport make it very convenient. The breakfast choices are excellent. The reception staff friendly and obliging.
Free wifi was an added bonus.
It's a shame they have removed the drinking fountain from the spacious reception area, but potherwise another good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarvenpaa, Finland
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the end of August with our Canadian family members. If you want to be able to walk anywhere downtown this hotel is a good choice. A good standard business or tourist hotel.
A plentiful buffet breakfast with many choices is included in the room price which is typical of all Sokoks hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel is 80 years old, and it is ashamed that they (the Sokos chain) haven't fixed this nice building's rooms up. The rooms are worn down and in need of a renovation. It seems like they just fix things when they break down... Too bad, because the location is right in the middle of Helsinki, steps away from all the shops, the sights, the happenings, everything. Breakfast was Ok, but the breakfast room is too small for all the people having breakfast at the same time. I stayed here for business since the hotel is across the street from where I needed to be, but if you want to stay in a great place, choose Haven when in Helsinki!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruti_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We value all the reviews as they help us to improve our hotel. The hotel was renovated in 2006-2007 but of course some parts are bit more worn down as others. We do smaller renovations when needed to keep the hotel in good shape. I'm sorry to hear, that you felt the hotel is worn down.

We are located in the heart of the city, just steps away from many of the tourist attractions and businesses. I hope to see you again on your next business trip to Helsinki.

Kind regards,

Heidi Ruti
Hotel Manager, Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Address: Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#25 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and cosy Sokos Hotel Helsinki is located in the heart of Helsinki, between Ateneum (the Museum of Finnish Art), and the Senate Square. The hotel is located next to the major shopping streets and it is only 300 meters from Helsinki Central Station. All the hotel rooms are designed with fresh, Scandinavian style and have hardwood floors, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TV. Some rooms have a private sauna. There is a complimentary internet point with three computers in the lobby area. The hotel also houses two great restaurants: Fransmanni and Memphis. Fransmanni offers French-inspired cuisine and the hotel’s rich breakfast buffet is served there every morning. Memphis is a more upbeat restaurant with tasty burgers and cool drinks. The hotel is also a great venue for small-scale meetings, and offers two meeting rooms for a maximum of 30 persons. The sauna department is located at the top floor and can also be rented for private use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helsinki Sokos Hotel
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.