We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly staff, great breakfast buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki to your Saves list
Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly staff, great breakfast buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed for a week in August and had a lovely time. We especially liked the inhouse sauna, which is of course standard in Finland. The hotel was very clean and staff were friendly and helpful. The food at breakfast was lovely with a large selection.Overall a great experience. Would go again. Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruti_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, I was very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I'm also glad that you got to experience sauna, as it is such a big part of Finnish culture.

Welcome back on your next trip to Helsinki!

Kind regards,

Heidi Ruti
Hotel Manager
Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    139
    74
    12
    5
See reviews for
43
66
42
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Booked my hotel with galahotels.com,got an excellent price.Checked my name from hotel 2 weeks before arrival and my name was on the list already,although in my voucher it was written- Please note that while your booking has been confirmed and guaranteed, the rooming list with your name may not be entered to hotel’s reservation system until closer to arrival.
Will use their service again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruti_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki and your helpful tips on Galahotels.com.

Hope to see you again in our hotel soon!

Kind regards,

Heidi Ruti
Hotel Manager
Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times, and have always had a pleasant experience.
The location, by the railway station and close to catch buses to the airport make it very convenient. The breakfast choices are excellent. The reception staff friendly and obliging.
Free wifi was an added bonus.
It's a shame they have removed the drinking fountain from the spacious reception area, but potherwise another good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarvenpaa, Finland
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the end of August with our Canadian family members. If you want to be able to walk anywhere downtown this hotel is a good choice. A good standard business or tourist hotel.
A plentiful buffet breakfast with many choices is included in the room price which is typical of all Sokoks hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel is 80 years old, and it is ashamed that they (the Sokos chain) haven't fixed this nice building's rooms up. The rooms are worn down and in need of a renovation. It seems like they just fix things when they break down... Too bad, because the location is right in the middle of Helsinki, steps away from all the shops, the sights, the happenings, everything. Breakfast was Ok, but the breakfast room is too small for all the people having breakfast at the same time. I stayed here for business since the hotel is across the street from where I needed to be, but if you want to stay in a great place, choose Haven when in Helsinki!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruti_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We value all the reviews as they help us to improve our hotel. The hotel was renovated in 2006-2007 but of course some parts are bit more worn down as others. We do smaller renovations when needed to keep the hotel in good shape. I'm sorry to hear, that you felt the hotel is worn down.

We are located in the heart of the city, just steps away from many of the tourist attractions and businesses. I hope to see you again on your next business trip to Helsinki.

Kind regards,

Heidi Ruti
Hotel Manager, Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgetown
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. This is an older hotel with smaller rooms than North Americans are used to. However, it was entirely adequate for our needs. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean and relatively spacious. A safe was provided in the room. We arrived in the morning and the hotel kept our luggage safely in a separate room.
We stayed at the Original Sokos hotel as part of a Collette Vacations tour, so it was booked for us. However, Collette did a good job. The location could not have been better. It is a short walk to the Esplanadin Puisto (a beautiful park), the local market, the harbor, historic churches and many other things. There are also lots of good restaurants nearby.
Not only is there Wi-Fi in the rooms but free internet access on computers in the lobby. There is a nice sauna, although we did not have time to use it.
Breakfast was wonderful. There was an excellent choice of breads, meats, eggs, fruits, cereals, juices, yoghurts, cheeses and other foods. The food was plentiful and of excellent quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

With so many Sokos hotels in town it is hard to pick a favorite but the location and convenience to the bus and train terminals as well as high end shopping makes this one a winner! The staff is very accomodating and went to some trouble to find a room similar to one I had enjoyed 7 months ago. I could not remember the details but they searched the computer system and duplicated the room nicely. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms clean and large enough that you don't bump into yourself taking a shower. The sauna on the top floor is especially nice during the colder months. Breakfast is busy because this is a popular hotel for business people but the staff keep items well stocked and tables bussed so it is possible to find your favorite newspaper, take a cup of coffee and start the day. I am a little perplexed about pricing. The night before I stayed at a Sokos in Kuopio at half the price for virtually the same room. The Economists would tell me that is supply and demand or market pricing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Address: Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and cosy Sokos Hotel Helsinki is located in the heart of Helsinki, between Ateneum (the Museum of Finnish Art), and the Senate Square. The hotel is located next to the major shopping streets and it is only 300 meters from Helsinki Central Station. All the hotel rooms are designed with fresh, Scandinavian style and have hardwood floors, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TV. Some rooms have a private sauna. There is a complimentary internet point with three computers in the lobby area. The hotel also houses two great restaurants: Fransmanni and Memphis. Fransmanni offers French-inspired cuisine and the hotel’s rich breakfast buffet is served there every morning. Memphis is a more upbeat restaurant with tasty burgers and cool drinks. The hotel is also a great venue for small-scale meetings, and offers two meeting rooms for a maximum of 30 persons. The sauna department is located at the top floor and can also be rented for private use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helsinki Sokos Hotel
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.