We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but not for winter.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki to your Saves list
Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but not for winter.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very good location - close to the train station and to the shopping street. Our room was a corner room on the second floor, quite a spacious one, nicely furnished. The windows faced the street and the bright neon signs of the shopping mall across the road, but the heavy curtains helped to block the light for the most part. So I think it would've been better to book a room facing the inner yard. However, I stayed in December, and it was very cold in the room.
Very good breakfast, wifi was working perfectly. Helpful front desk. I will stay there again, but not in winter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    184
    92
    17
    6
See reviews for
59
81
50
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

a 3* hotel. Pretty old and with shopping mall windows right 10 meters away from your room window - thus no privacy.
It was chilly in the room with no option to heat it up.
Hard to find a free table during the breakfast.
As positive - location it excellent though there are a lot of hotels around this area.
As for me Scandic nearby the railway station is the best choice for this budget.

Wifi is free of charge with login/pw available at the reception.

Room Tip: pick one with rooms windows to the backyard...if there is an option
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

In the heart of Helsinki - perfect location! There are two or three reataurants as well.
I recommend to book a superior room with better amenities and you get yourself to the 7th floor. The single rooms are not that nice - they are small and missing the coffee maker / tea boiler etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were booked into this hotel by our agency for a short stay while traveling back from Lapland to the UK. It looked good on the website and so it proved. We had an 8th Floor room with a view across the rooftops to the Lutheran Cathedral. Couldn't be more central between the railway station and parliament Sq and just off the main shopping street. Spacious King Suite with the common European two beds together style and separate duvets. Comfortably warm despite deep snow outside, but bathroom although a wet room did not have heated floor. Wide choice of breakfasts and a relaxed atmosphere. Would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Highest floor has view across to Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Second stay in as many months. this time was on the 5th floor and room away from the lift which was nice but much smaller room then last time.

Was ok but no bath and I really wanted a bath on night. Also couldn't get my room to warm up. it was the first couple of days that Finland had snow in winter so was snowing and very cold.

This time went to the restaurant in the hotel was ok for pub type food. next time I will try the Italian down the road.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siilinjarvi, Finland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

One of the many Sokos chain hotels. Sometimes they've been badly cleaned (poor cleaners asked to do their job in too little time) but this time my (allergy) room was spotless and the bathroom, too.

Wide variety of breakfast choices. Two (or 3?) restaurants in the house, and dozens in the vicinity as it's in the middle of the city center, close to the market palce, the university, the shops, mny museums and other points of interest.

Metro stop and tram stop close, railway station at walking distance.

Friendly staff.

The room was a bit cold.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
197 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I just spent 3 nights at Sokos Hotel Helsinki. I got room 410 facing inner courtyard, so there was not any view - just the opposite building about 10 meters away. But while the room lacked any view, it was very very very quiet on the other hand. So I got to sleep very well. My room was a double, but very small. There was a desk, and the bed - no armchair or anything. It was okay, as I was traveling alone. Bathroom was big enough with a shower. But there was no shelf to put your shampoo on while showering.
Breakfast (served at downstair restaurant Fransmanni) was standard Finnish, with good variety. Bacon was not served, however.
Check-in and out was fast, friendly and polite. Free wi-fi was working well and fast.
Best about this hotel is the location in the middle of the city, about 5 mins from main railways station. There is a Mcdonalds just opposite to the hotel.
I am glad to return, should I need a central place with good night sleep!

Room Tip: Ask for inner rooms for good sleep quality: no view but very quiet! Rooms 07, 09, 10 on each floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Address: Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and cosy Sokos Hotel Helsinki is located in the heart of Helsinki, between Ateneum (the Museum of Finnish Art), and the Senate Square. The hotel is located next to the major shopping streets and it is only 300 meters from Helsinki Central Station. All the hotel rooms are designed with fresh, Scandinavian style and have hardwood floors, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TV. Some rooms have a private sauna. There is a complimentary internet point with three computers in the lobby area. The hotel also houses two great restaurants: Fransmanni and Memphis. Fransmanni offers French-inspired cuisine and the hotel’s rich breakfast buffet is served there every morning. Memphis is a more upbeat restaurant with tasty burgers and cool drinks. The hotel is also a great venue for small-scale meetings, and offers two meeting rooms for a maximum of 30 persons. The sauna department is located at the top floor and can also be rented for private use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helsinki Sokos Hotel
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.